5.1 Receiver with wifi capability , Internet radio , AirPlay and reliable for around $300 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 01-07-2013, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a receiver like the title says. I wouldn't be able to run a cable to it so wifi is needed. I'm really considering the onkyo tx-nr414 because the wifi dongle is cheap and I would just add Apple TV but I've read about reliability issues. The new Sony is one receiver with everything but its a little out of my price range.

I'm new to home theater receivers and was wondering what advice you guys would recommend. Any other receivers you recommend , any other ideas? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-07-2013, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Why do you need Wifi if you're getting an Apple TV? Are they not going to be in the same room (receiver and Apple TV)? Also you can step up to the 515 or 616 for $298 or $344 respectively on Amazon.

"Guns for show, knives for a pro..."
post #3 of 7 Old 01-07-2013, 07:07 PM

Liked: 32
The one reason I went with the Denon 1612, is because our Sony Blu-Ray player already has everything that you mentioned. As for Airplay, there is a app in the appstore that takes Airplay's place, and works just as good, for streaming across the network to dlna capable devices.
post #4 of 7 Old 01-08-2013, 03:33 AM
585-645-1006

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Although a wired connection from the AVR to the modem/router is always recommended to ensure stronger signal integrity, there are other options when a wired connection is not feasible to include: (1) using a wireless router in "bridge" mode wired to the AVR and connecting wirelessly to the home's wireless router, (2) powerline adapters which plug in to nearby outlets, and (3) Ethernet over coax MoCA adapters to use the home's TV cable wiring.

---------------------------------