Denon AVR-1913 Low Volume When Streaming - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 Old 01-11-2013, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RyanTabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oddest thing. When I stream music from Pandora, iTunes, Internet, my phone, etc. the volume is extremely low. I have to turn the volume up to 80-90 to get a decent amount of sound. Blue-ray, Satellite, etc. is NO problem...works great. What could be going on? This MAY have resulted after the last firmware update but I can't be certain. Thanks all!
RyanTabor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 01-11-2013, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Setup
Inputs
Source Level

Adjust the level for this input higher it'll be close to your other inputs.

or perhaps do a processor reset.
rmk811 likes this.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 38 Old 01-19-2013, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RyanTabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks afrogt - That helped a bit but I'm still not getting anywhere near the sound level as my other physical inputs. This appears to be the case on all "streaming" type inputs. I tried the soft reset, microprocessor reset, and network card reset to no avail. I really think it happened as a result of the last firmware update and am surprised if others are not having the same issue. The unit is less than 60 days old.
RyanTabor is offline  
post #4 of 38 Old 01-19-2013, 07:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
My 1613 had a firmware update recently but I don't have the problems you are. I've got an ethernet cable plugged into my 1613 and do Pandora and Internet radio on it often. In fact streaming Pandora as I type.

No volume problems here.


Maybe the problem is specific to your model.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 01-19-2013, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same issue with my 1913.

Just happened tonight!

It's dlna, airplay and Internet radio.

Anything with a physical connection is fine.
Shlammed is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 01-20-2013, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should mention that I have been on the new firmware for about 3 weeks and it just flaredup today
Shlammed is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 01-23-2013, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called Denon support and they can'tdo anything for me .

They want me to take it to a service center.

The closest one to me is 2 hours each way!
Shlammed is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 01-23-2013, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RyanTabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately, I had the exact same experience!
RyanTabor is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 01-23-2013, 06:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Have you tried doing a network reset as indicated in post #5 of the Denon AVR-XX13 Owner's thread?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1409431/the-official-denon-avr-xx13-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#post_21995260

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 38 Old 01-26-2013, 04:30 PM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did both microprocessor and network reset to no end.

It hasn't helped this issue.
Shlammed is offline  
post #11 of 38 Old 01-26-2013, 04:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Try doing the reset at least 4 or 5 more times.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 38 Old 01-27-2013, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just did it 4 more.

Still nothing.

I am going skiing tomorrow and I pass a shop that fixes them.

I will stop in there with the unit.
Shlammed is offline  
post #13 of 38 Old 01-27-2013, 11:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
That would be your next course of action, yes. frown.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #14 of 38 Old 01-29-2013, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took mine in yesterday.

Will see what they have to say.

It's odd that it just happened out of the blue.
Shlammed is offline  
post #15 of 38 Old 02-05-2013, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
nicnic632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the same problem with a 2113. Any news from the service center?
nicnic632 is offline  
post #16 of 38 Old 02-07-2013, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not yet.
Shlammed is offline  
post #17 of 38 Old 02-08-2013, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
nicnic632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Returned mine to the shop today, they replaced it with a new one right away.
I hope this one will last longer than three hours.
nicnic632 is offline  
post #18 of 38 Old 05-29-2013, 01:52 AM
Newbie
 
Nirami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the same problem twice with 2113.

I bought it in november and after three days the volume died on all network sources. I got a new one from the store (they DOA:ed it) but now, 6 months later, the new one developed the same problem. In the middle of a song the volume died. I first thought that something else was the problem until I turned the volume up to 70 and could hear the music faintly. I normally listen to a volume around 40.

This is starting to worry me. I will of course hand it in to the store for repairs, but I'm not sure a want a new 2113 unless they can convince me the problem is solved.
Nirami is offline  
post #19 of 38 Old 07-04-2013, 04:03 PM
Member
 
kerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have updates here? This just happened to me on my 2113 as well. If I send audio to the TV and have it go over HDMI CEC, the levels are fine, but direct to the receiver is super quiet.
kerz is offline  
post #20 of 38 Old 07-20-2013, 08:10 PM
Member
 
jdip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have this same problem with my AVR-2113. I have also tried soft, network and microprocessor resets and none of them have helped. Like the rest of you, it only happens when streaming from network sources and internet radio.

Did any of you get this sorted out/get any support from Denon?
jdip is offline  
post #21 of 38 Old 07-21-2013, 05:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RyanTabor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanTabor View Post

Oddest thing. When I stream music from Pandora, iTunes, Internet, my phone, etc. the volume is extremely low. I have to turn the volume up to 80-90 to get a decent amount of sound. Blue-ray, Satellite, etc. is NO problem...works great. What could be going on? This MAY have resulted after the last firmware update but I can't be certain. Thanks all!

The fix is in! I apologize for not posting earlier. I received an update about 2 months ago and everything is working great since. Make sure you check for the latest firmware update.
RyanTabor is offline  
post #22 of 38 Old 07-21-2013, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
Shlammed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to follow up, they replaced the HDMI board on mine from what they told me.


Been fine since.
Shlammed is offline  
post #23 of 38 Old 07-24-2013, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
Nirami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received mine after sending it in for repairs. According to the notes my shop got from the service center what they did was "Repair network modul (NAND,)", spelling errors and all. The cost of this was around £65 on top of the standard service charge. Since the unit is still under warranty I didn't have to pay anything. They also updated the firmware, but the receiver still says there's a newer version to download. The version they installed is 1490-1119-0000-3230-0867. Both my shop and the service center are located in Sweden.

The receiver now has a new MAC-address, which indicates that they replaced the network module rather than repairing it.

It works correctly now, and I could restore my old settings via the web interface without any trouble.
Nirami is offline  
post #24 of 38 Old 07-24-2013, 02:23 PM
Member
 
jdip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanTabor View Post

The fix is in! I apologize for not posting earlier. I received an update about 2 months ago and everything is working great since. Make sure you check for the latest firmware update.

I'm on the latest firmware and still have this issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nirami View Post

I just received mine after sending it in for repairs. According to the notes my shop got from the service center what they did was "Repair network modul (NAND,)", spelling errors and all. The cost of this was around £65 on top of the standard service charge. Since the unit is still under warranty I didn't have to pay anything. They also updated the firmware, but the receiver still says there's a newer version to download. The version they installed is 1490-1119-0000-3230-0867. Both my shop and the service center are located in Sweden.

The receiver now has a new MAC-address, which indicates that they replaced the network module rather than repairing it.

It works correctly now, and I could restore my old settings via the web interface without any trouble.

Where are you located? Are you local to the service center or did you mail it in?
jdip is offline  
post #25 of 38 Old 07-25-2013, 12:56 AM
Newbie
 
Nirami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdip View Post

Where are you located? Are you local to the service center or did you mail it in?

I'm in Sweden.

I just left the receiver at the shop where I bought it and they sent it to the service center. It took exactly one week until the shop said it was back.

Update: The service center was STT Mediaservice in Gothenburg.
Nirami is offline  
post #26 of 38 Old 01-15-2014, 11:21 AM
Newbie
 
Durden1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Has anyone found a solution for this problem without sending the receiver in for repair? I've had my x2000 for less than a week and the volume just crapped out on all internet based sources. DLNA, Airplay, media server, internet radio all are barely audible even when volume is cranked to max. I've tried factory and network resets but no improvement. Is there a way to flash the firmware? The receiver won't let me do it through the interface because it's detecting the latest version, and Denon's website doesn't seem to offer a firmware update for my model, I assume because the unit is able to update over the internet.

Durden1011 is offline  
post #27 of 38 Old 01-21-2014, 02:12 AM
Newbie
 
Marco Boldrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I own a DENON AVR-X2000 since 2 months and after some weeks the volume of the internet, usb, dlna, airplay and general mp3 sources became very low (+10 db plays just moderate volume) Note that I updated the firmware as soon I bought it. Note that radio fm and HDMI sources work perfectly. I reset processor and network several time and removed all audissey setup but the problem still remains. I can't believe we all have this issue and the only solution be to send the receiver to repair...

Marco Boldrin is offline  
post #28 of 38 Old 01-21-2014, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
Marco Boldrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

ok guys I found a solution (at least it worked for my avr-x2000):

 

you must do a firmware update via usb procedure (not network) also if you have the latest already in (the latest is 8300-0384-9510)

 

goto http://firmware.denon.eu/ download the files and read the instruction manual 

 

before starting the update disconnect all hdmi and network device

 

make a reinitialize unit reset (power on avr pressing both tuner preset ch + and - buttons) whatch out this combo is wrong in the manual

 

start the update

 

enjoy the mp3, network, airplay volume back! :)

Marco Boldrin is offline  
post #29 of 38 Old 01-21-2014, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
Marco Boldrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

ok guys, found a solution (avr-x2000)

 

make a usb firmware update (also if you have the latest in)

Marco Boldrin is offline  
post #30 of 38 Old 01-21-2014, 04:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Boldrin View Post

ok guys I found a solution (at least it worked for my avr-x2000):

you must do a firmware update via usb procedure (not network) also if you have the latest already in (the latest is 8300-0384-9510)

goto http://firmware.denon.eu/ download the files and read the instruction manual 

before starting the update disconnect all hdmi and network device

make a reinitialize unit reset (power on avr pressing both tuner preset ch + and - buttons) whatch out this combo is wrong in the manual

start the update

enjoy the mp3, network, airplay volume back! smile.gif

Note that site is only accessible to European owners and only applies to the European X2000.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1913 Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off