Connecting laptop and FM reception non-existent - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-19-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
CobraMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear AVS Supporters,
I have a Pioneer AVSX-52 receiver and was wanting to know how to connect a laptop to the receiver.
Do I use the front HDMI 3 or USB input or do I have to connect it to the back?

Also, I get no FM reception, do I need an antennae ?

Thank You in advance for any information you can provide.

CobraMaster
CobraMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-19-2013, 12:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,903
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Any HDMI input (front or back) should work and yes to the FM antenna if the unit isn't picking up any stations without one.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-19-2013, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
CobraMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jdsmoothie,
Thank you, appreciate the information.
Only have USB and ethernet on laptop so should probably pick up a cable that has USB on one end and HDMI if there is such a thing.
Not really that tech oriented.
I did a Google search and there are tech support online before I found this site. They wanted $28 plus deposit. Then I found this site. Sure is nice to have forums that will answer pretty simple questions no charge.
Have a great one and again appreciate it.

CobraMaster
DFW, TX
CobraMaster is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-19-2013, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraMaster View Post

jdsmoothie,
Thank you, appreciate the information.
Only have USB and ethernet on laptop so should probably pick up a cable that has USB on one end and HDMI if there is such a thing.
Not really that tech oriented.
I did a Google search and there are tech support online before I found this site. They wanted $28 plus deposit. Then I found this site. Sure is nice to have forums that will answer pretty simple questions no charge.
Have a great one and again appreciate it.

CobraMaster
DFW, TX
A USB to HDMI cable would not have sufficient bandwidth to be useful.
Theresa is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-19-2013, 04:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,903
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 755 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraMaster View Post

jdsmoothie,
Thank you, appreciate the information.
Only have USB and ethernet on laptop so should probably pick up a cable that has USB on one end and HDMI if there is such a thing.
Not really that tech oriented.
I did a Google search and there are tech support online before I found this site. They wanted $28 plus deposit. Then I found this site. Sure is nice to have forums that will answer pretty simple questions no charge.
Have a great one and again appreciate it.

CobraMaster
DFW, TX

Yes, an adapter should work just fine. Are you wanting to pass video and audio as the audio may be limited to stereo only?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off