How important is 4K suport in a reveiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 03:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
snowjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

I am thinking of buying the last year version of a Yamaha(RX-A1010) reveiver but it lacks the 4K support.

I know that it was important that HDMI switch(that do exists in the reveiver now) suported 1080p and all kind of sound formats so the question is how important is that there is 4K, is it as important?

I aiming to keep the reveiver ALONG time, the last was keept for about 8 years (HDMI is the main reason to upgrade now)

BestRegards
snowjim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 03:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Do you currently have a 4K display or are you planning on getting one in the near future? If the answer is no then dont worry about it.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
67jason is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 03:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,427
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 871
I dont think its that important unless you plan on getting $5000 tv in the next 7 years. If you plan on doing so then you can get a lesser model thats new like the A820 which does support 4k and it would probably be near the same price unless you are getting some kind of great deal on the 1010.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
snowjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The reveiver I got today was bought for about 7 years ago and the only reson to switch is the HDMI switch, it will make life alot easier. So that makes its vary important that the new unit will be a future proof as possible so I don't need to buy a new in a couple of years again.

So, will the A1010 be able to forward 4K resolution or will I have to use a A1020 for this? I supose that the upscaling will be done in the TV It just dont feeld right to let a reveiver do this part.
snowjim is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 05:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,427
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 871
This is all very easy to find on the Klipsch site. The 1010 will not pass through 4k. The 1020 will not only pass 4k but will upscale to 4k. If you don't have a 4k tv then this is meaningless.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrEastSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Not important, in my opinion. Any difference in 4k is going to be minimal anyway. Unless you have a 100"+ 4k capable TV. And even then, the difference will probably be negligible.

Quote:
Of course, I got it modified with the TK-427, which cheeks it up another, maybe, 3 or 4 quads per channel.
MrEastSide is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrEastSide View Post

Not important, in my opinion. Any difference in 4k is going to be minimal anyway. Unless you have a 100"+ 4k capable TV. And even then, the difference will probably be negligible.

I think those with very large screens would disagree with you. For me and my 50" plasma I do agree the difference would probably be negligible. There are incremental improvements in the 4520 apart from 4k that do add up to make it a better pre-pro/receiver than the 4311 IMHO. The 4311 probably has better amps than the 4520, something has been sacrificed to make it weigh less but this doesn't matter to me as I use it as a pre-pro. Its also less expensive than the Marantz equivalent pre-pro and that is what I think it should be compared with.
Theresa is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
snowjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay, here i Sweden its possible to get the RX-A1010 for about 710.44 EUR while the RX-A1020 goes for 929 EUR what whould be the best to get according to functions and price?
snowjim is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
snowjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My TV is a 60" LG and Im not going down in size of screen, If a 70" would be as cheap as a 60" when I get around and buy a new one I will not hesitate.
snowjim is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-22-2013, 07:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,427
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowjim View Post

Okay, here i Sweden its possible to get the RX-A1010 for about 710.44 EUR while the RX-A1020 goes for 929 EUR what whould be the best to get according to functions and price?
1010.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off