Broken Receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-23-2013, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
truwrxtacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys i have a Onkyo HT R960 receiver I got as part of a Home Theater in a box the Onkyo 7.1 THX system. I have a feeling its going bad but i'm not 100% sure how to trouble shoot it. Currently I have a PS3 and a Apple TV. When i try to play my PS3, it takes the receiver about 2-3 minutes to pick up my PS3, i would have to constantly switch it from DVD to AUX back to DVD (its currently plugged into the DVD HDMI input)

I have the apple TV plugged into the SAT HDMI, but when i use turn on the Apple TV, the receiver picks up the apple TV right away. So is my receiver going bad? i'm pretty sure its not my PS3 as i have 2 ps3 and i tried both of them and have the same results. I even plugged my ps3 directly into my TV and it picks up right away, only takes awhile when its going through my receiver. I have tried different HDMI inputs/outputs and all the same results. Any advice would be great.

thanks
truwrxtacy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-23-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Possibly going bad. Onkyo has a been having problems with HDMI boards dying on several receivers.

Might want to look at replacing your receiver.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-23-2013, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
truwrxtacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aww crap, i was hoping you wouldn't say that. is there a reason why it picks up my Apple TV with no issues but has issues with the PS3? even if i tested them both through the same port?
truwrxtacy is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-23-2013, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rocky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: miami
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can u try changing the hdmi cable of the ps3 ?
rocky1 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-23-2013, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
truwrxtacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes i tried different HDMI cable also. i bascially swapped everything that worked (cable/hdmi port) from the apple tv which works great to the PS3, still takes about 2-3 min to pick it up
truwrxtacy is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off