Can i connect my cable set top box to Yamaha HTR-7065 via component cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mayoor Singal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I just bought a new Yamaha HTR-7065. I have an apple TV, PS3, a PC and a Cisco Cable Set Top box in my setup. All else works great except the cable.

I read the manual and set my AV2 option such that audio for it comes from AV6 (component audio). In other words, the R,G,B of the component cable from set top box goes into AV2 and Red and White of component cable from set top box goes into AV6. I matched the On Screen settings for AV2 to reflect the same.

The above isnt giving any audio or video although i am certain the cable set top box is switched on.

Any help that any one can provide on this will be highly appreciated

-Mayoor
Mayoor Singal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Try using the optical audio out from the cable box.

Why not use the HDMI from the cable box though?

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 417
you probably have to assign the component video to a certain input and you also need to have the HDMI conversion on if it isn't.

i'm guessing you have a HDMI cable connected to your tv?

Does you cable box not have HDMI?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mayoor Singal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cable box does have the HDMI capability and it will work, but being new to this, I am trying to wrap my head around, why it won't work with Component cable.

my component video is connected to AV2. Not sure what or how to do HDMI conversion.

Thanks for your reply
Mayoor Singal is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mayoor Singal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

you probably have to assign the component video to a certain input and you also need to have the HDMI conversion on if it isn't.

i'm guessing you have a HDMI cable connected to your tv?

Does you cable box not have HDMI?

The cable box does have the HDMI capability and it will work, but being new to this, I am trying to wrap my head around, why it won't work with Component cable.

my component video is connected to AV2. Not sure what or how to do HDMI conversion.

Thanks for your reply
Mayoor
Mayoor Singal is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mayoor Singal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kini62 View Post

Try using the optical audio out from the cable box.

Why not use the HDMI from the cable box though?

The cable box does have the HDMI capability and it will work, but being new to this, I am trying to wrap my head around, why it won't work with Component cable.

Even with optical cable from cable box, won't the video issue still persist?

Thanks for your reply
Mayoor
Mayoor Singal is offline  
Old 08-24-2014, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had a similar problem just figured it out

I was trying to set up a Wii to the HTR 7065 which has only one of the HDMI outs used for a projector. I followed the manual instructions like you did (pages 29-30) but it wasn't until I did a document search for "conver" (conversion, converted, etc) and found, on page 123, the video conversion table which shows that the receiver will convert 480i to HDMI but NOT 480p. I had to take the Wii to another TV to change that in the Wii setup menu, then plug it back into the Yamaha receiver and voila! It works.

Hope that helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yamaha video conversion table.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	178.9 KB
ID:	227833  
gowens is offline  
 

Tags
Yamaha Htr 7065
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off