I'm new to this, i think: YAMAHA RX-V473 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 01-26-2013, 03:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the scoop, I use my computer for everything, no TV (I hate television but i like movies) no dvd player box, no satellite, just my desktop computer. I recently bought a laptop because I'm getting into school and I figured I would need it. I hope to build a newer desktop system since the one i have is getting pretty dated (2000).

I'm living in a travel trailer, I might get into an apartment but i don't see myself in a house any time soon. So as far as i can tell i am after a 5.1 surround system. I have used 2 speakers for my computer for years, but a while ago i went to someones house and watched a movie with surround sound and i was blown away. So i decided i wanted one for myself.

After doing some research, basically a shot in the dark because i know almost nothing about the subject, i found that the opinions on brands seem to be all over the place, but Sony doesn't sound that great in general. Onkyo and Yamaha seem to be more of a brand loyalty than any useful advantages of either one. others just seem to be pricey, not sure if i reviewed them all though.

I listen to music every day and watch movies occasionally, Im after a decent set of speakers in a budget and I guess i have to have a receiver for surround..? my computer has optical output for audio so i figured i would use it. (sounds best?) I like Pandora radio so I chose the RX-V473 based on that. From what i saw i liked the Yamaha over Onkyo. I have no experience though.