Issue: Streaming Pandora from Vizio TV (HDMI 1 input) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jpapasan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I stream Pandora from my Vizio TV (HDMI 1 input) the sound mutes. I've been doing this successfully for a couple of years but now I have to manually toggle to another input (Say HDMI 3) and back to get the sound to stream. Has anyone else run into this issue? Have you found a solution?
jpapasan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpapasan View Post

When I stream Pandora from my Vizio TV (HDMI 1 input) the sound mutes. I've been doing this successfully for a couple of years but now I have to manually toggle to another input (Say HDMI 3) and back to get the sound to stream. Has anyone else run into this issue? Have you found a solution?

What type of HCMI cable are you using...what speed is the cable rated at?

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV Samsung UN-C8000
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jpapasan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, for the suggestion, Espo77.

The cable is high speed. I changed it out with a shorter cable (premium high speed HDMI) just to be sure. The same problem persists regardless of the cable.

Interestingly, the moment the HDMI was unplugged from the receiver, Pandora started playing. I'm realizing Ieft out important details. I have three Energy speakers (L,R and Center) hooked up to the Pioneer VSX-1019AH receiver.

So when you stream Pandora from the TV (technically provided by DirecTV) it mutes. The apparent work-around are to temporarily switch inputs on the receiver (in my case from HDMI 1 to HDMI 3 and then back to HDMI 1) or as I just discovered, you can also temporarily unplug the HDMI connection.

Obviously neither is satisfactory since it worked in the past just providing as much detail as I can so more technical minds than mine can spot the issue.

Thanks again!
jpapasan is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpapasan View Post

Thanks, for the suggestion, Espo77.

The cable is high speed. I changed it out with a shorter cable (premium high speed HDMI) just to be sure. The same problem persists regardless of the cable.

Interestingly, the moment the HDMI was unplugged from the receiver, Pandora started playing. I'm realizing Ieft out important details. I have three Energy speakers (L,R and Center) hooked up to the Pioneer VSX-1019AH receiver.

So when you stream Pandora from the TV (technically provided by DirecTV) it mutes. The apparent work-around are to temporarily switch inputs on the receiver (in my case from HDMI 1 to HDMI 3 and then back to HDMI 1) or as I just discovered, you can also temporarily unplug the HDMI connection.

Obviously neither is satisfactory since it worked in the past just providing as much detail as I can so more technical minds than mine can spot the issue.

Thanks again!

Is your HDMI cable version 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4a...and honestly, I don't know if this would matter anyway.

If you have a Directv set top box, why not go from the box out to the receiver for audio? Why are you going out of the TV to the receiver...unless your TV has the Pandora App., and you like the TV's app better then the Directv one. I like my Samsung's TV Pandora app better then Directv's...but I use both, not because the sound is any different, but because the on screen menu's are different.

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV Samsung UN-C8000
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jpapasan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know about the cables. The packaging is long gone and I didn't see any visual cues on the cables themselves.

The input is from DirecTV (that's the Pandora I use). The receiver gets input (video and audio from the DirecTV box) and the sound goes through speaker wires to the three speakers and the visuals go to the TV via HDMI.

I may try switching the HDMI from the DirecTV box to the Receiver the short "high quality" cable I mentioned previously. That may help.
jpapasan is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jpapasan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found one of the HDMI cable boxes. The "high quality cable" is 600hz and rated for 3D HD. Didn't see any of the designations you listed. Switching it out between the DirectTv box and receiver doesn't help.

Does it stand to reason that the receiver is the issue since Pandora plays when I unplug the cable between the receiver and the TV. That seems to be at the heart of things.
jpapasan is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpapasan View Post

Found one of the HDMI cable boxes. The "high quality cable" is 600hz and rated for 3D HD. Didn't see any of the designations you listed. Switching it out between the DirectTv box and receiver doesn't help.

Does it stand to reason that the receiver is the issue since Pandora plays when I unplug the cable between the receiver and the TV. That seems to be at the heart of things.

Humm...I gotta think about this dilemma.

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV Samsung UN-C8000
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 01:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,624
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9366 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Espo77 View Post

Is your HDMI cable version 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4a...and honestly, I don't know if this would matter anyway.

For audio from the TV the version won't matter.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-02-2013, 01:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,624
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9366 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpapasan View Post

Found one of the HDMI cable boxes. The "high quality cable" is 600hz and rated for 3D HD. Didn't see any of the designations you listed. Switching it out between the DirectTv box and receiver doesn't help.

Does it stand to reason that the receiver is the issue since Pandora plays when I unplug the cable between the receiver and the TV. That seems to be at the heart of things.

Turn off the HDMI-CEC feature on the Vizio.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-03-2013, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Espo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Delmarva Peninsula, Maryland
Posts: 2,416
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

For audio from the TV the version won't matter.

The OP says that he is getting Pandora from his Directv set top box.

Espo77's living room equipment: RECEIVER Yamaha RX-A3030- SPEAKERS Boston Acoustics M350, M25 center, surrounds, and front heights-
BLU-RAY Oppo BDP103D- SUBWOOFER HSU VTF-15H MK2- dedicated circuits for A/V- TV Samsung UN-C8000
Auralex Acoustics LENRD - Auralex Acoustics Roominator
Espo77 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-03-2013, 08:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,624
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9366 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
RIght .. I was answering your question, not the Ops, but to take it a bit further . .. for audio from either the TV or the cable/DTV box, the HDMI version will not matter.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 02-03-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,057
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpapasan View Post

Does it stand to reason that the receiver is the issue since Pandora plays when I unplug the cable between the receiver and the TV. That seems to be at the heart of things.

Hi jpapasan, sound like a HDMI handshake issue. Maybe a work around is connect a digital optical cable from Directv box to receiver (thats if the box allow both HDMI and optical audio out at the same time).
JChin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off