Stereo receivers with Ethernet Connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-04-2013, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IcedTea9974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha, that I bought about 3 years ago, like it very much. I have been browsing the new stereo receivers and noticed that a good portion of them have an ethernet connection. I haven't dug deep yet but what are the benefits of them? My entire house has a hardwired network as I have a 5 port hub at the entertainment center to connect my TV, Sat Tv, BluRay, HTPC.

So when I buy a new one I can plug the receiver into the network.

Any comments, questions or whatever would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Carl
IcedTea9974 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-04-2013, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
JD in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The benefits I find from having ethernet to my A/V Receiver:

1) Firmware upgrades are easily accomplished
2) Streaming Internet radio/Pandora/Rhapsody
3) Streaming my local audio library via DLNA
4) Remote control/configuration of the receiver via tablet/smartphone/computer

JD in NJ is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-04-2013, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IcedTea9974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I wondered about is music that is on the HTPC or other computers in the network. Some are in the MP3 format and other are ripped from CDs I have in the WMA format. I have a 1TB HDD that I though about ripping more CDs to but not sure on the format that would be best.
IcedTea9974 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-04-2013, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
IcedTea9974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone recommend any receivers? My house is also fully wired for sound so I could sound all the rooms. Speaker wire from main location to volume control then to speakers.
IcedTea9974 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off