"OFFICIAL" Pioneer SC-1222-K Owners Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 1433 Old 05-20-2013, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by svadas View Post

Can you explain the difference between room correction and eq? I thought the eq calibration was for room correction. Which aspects of the MCACC account for each? Thanks.

Eq changes the color of the sound to get it as flat as possible or however you set it (in the case it front align). The room calibration sets the distance and standing wave to adjust any resonant frequency is my understanding.
scoobdude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 1433 Old 05-22-2013, 07:04 PM
Member
 
svadas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cross posted from the MCACC thread, not sure which get's more traffic:

Have a few questions.

1. What's the difference between the "channel level" adjustment and the "trim" adjustment that's done in the EQ. They both refer to dB, but I have different numbers for each.

2. What exactly is the reverb measurement doing? Is this the same as standing wave?

When I look at the data on my pc I see the following listed as standing wave:

* Standing Wave Control

[M1]
Main Center Sub Woofer Trim +1.5dB
No. Filter 1 Filter 2 Filter 3 No. Filter 1 Filter 2 Filter 3 No. Filter 1 Filter 2 Filter 3
Freq 74Hz 239Hz 101Hz Freq 74Hz 239Hz 101Hz Freq 74Hz 239Hz 101Hz
Q 2.6 9.8 9.8 Q 2.6 9.8 9.8 Q 2.6 9.8 9.8
ATT 3.5dB 1.0dB 3.5dB ATT 3.5dB 1.0dB 3.5dB ATT 3.5dB 1.0dB 3.5dB

Can someone explain what this means and what it is doing? I thought standing waves were more of a subwoofer thing, but the listed frequencies and the speakers it's looking at appear that maybe it's something completely different.

Is it possible to delete this control? I see you can set the EQ values to zero, but I'm not sure about standing wave control. Ie., can I just have receiver handle the crossover, speaker distances and individual volume levels and leave the rest "flat/zero"? From what I've read it would be the equivalent of "direct mode", but I'd still want to be able to enable the surround processing (DD, DTS, Prologic movie and music modes)

Still going through this stuff so any help would be great.
svadas is offline  
post #903 of 1433 Old 05-24-2013, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
reposting in here:


Can DSD Files be played on this receiver over the front USB per this press release?
I've tried some dff files in a usb stick but the receiver always says it's empty.

Under Connectivity Option it states:
"High Resolution Music Playback – The SC-1222 offers DSD (SACD DFF Files) music file playback via the front USB connection"

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Press-Room/Home-Entertainment/Pioneer+AV+Receivers+Amplified+by+Class+D3+Technology

Thanks
Bachiano
Bachiano is offline  
post #904 of 1433 Old 05-24-2013, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey everyone, first post here. I've been reading these forums for quite a while and just wanted to drop in and say thanks for all the info contributed by the members here. I picked up a 1222 last week from newegg for $499. I gotta say, I'm pretty impressed with it. It's replacing a Kenwood VR-6070. I'm kinda bummed I went with two CS2 Polks (front and rear for my old 6.1) instead of another pair of Monitor 40s for the rear when they were available though. To the post above, how did you format your drive? Did you use FAT?
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #905 of 1433 Old 05-24-2013, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. FAT 32

I love my SC-1222.
It is an incredible receiver.
I know you will love it.
Except maybe for this stupid DSD issue.

I haven't posted here for a while cause it has been working for me flawlessly.
At some point I should give a review but I've been really busy.

The DSD issue is really puzzling.
The press release clearly states that it can do DSD over the front USB.

BUT. I contacted Pioneer.
Originally they said that it would do it..
Then I went to their Technical Support and they said "no way".
They even said the SC-1522 would not do it either.

WTF. Excuse my language.
Bachiano is offline  
post #906 of 1433 Old 05-24-2013, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 211
There isn't any mention of support of DSD files in manual. I tried it on my 1522 and found that USB doesn't even support FLAC sample I have which it can stream just fine from the DLNA server. Not to mention the DSD file.It doesn't recognize it on USB but my DNLA server doesn't support it either. So I have no way to test if it can be streamed. There is no mention of this DSD file anywhere other than what you said which I can't find anywhere (your link pointed to a file on your desktop, not Pioneer web site).
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #907 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bachiano is offline  
post #908 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

There isn't any mention of support of DSD files in manual. I tried it on my 1522 and found that USB doesn't even support FLAC sample I have which it can stream just fine from the DLNA server. Not to mention the DSD file.It doesn't recognize it on USB but my DNLA server doesn't support it either. So I have no way to test if it can be streamed. There is no mention of this DSD file anywhere other than what you said which I can't find anywhere (your link pointed to a file on your desktop, not Pioneer web site).

According to the press release the SC-1522 has : "192kHz/32-bit asynchronous USB DAC for ultra-high quality music file playback from a USB3-connected PC or Mac."

As far as Flac is concerned. I don't see why the sc-1522 could not play them.
My sc-1222 plays all Flac files from the front USB up to 24 - 192.
Bachiano is offline  
post #909 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bachiano View Post

According to the press release the SC-1522 has : "192kHz/32-bit asynchronous USB DAC for ultra-high quality music file playback from a USB3-connected PC or Mac."

As far as Flac is concerned. I don't see why the sc-1522 could not play them.
My sc-1222 plays all Flac files from the front USB up to 24 - 192.

My test flac files don't show up at all. I know it listed as supported format (but DSD file is not listed) in the manual. But that's not something I'm concerned with.

Where did you see all these press releases? The quote above doesn't make any sense to me. I have to connect my PC to the USB port of the receiver to playback something as oppose to USB sticks or through the network?
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #910 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Press release is from June 6, 2012.
Right before the receivers were released.
From pioneerelectronics.com
Look at the link I posted above.

Under:
"Connectivity Options

It States:

Apple’s AirPlay1, DLNA 1.5 and Bluetooth® connectivity are built into both models for wireless access and connection, with the ability to play high resolution FLAC and WAV music files of up to 192kHz/24-Bits. Both receivers offer endless music entertainment with vTuner®, PANDORA® Internet radio and access to subscription-based SiriusXM® Radio. Pioneer’s Air Jam App2, available at no charge from the Apple App Store on iPhone®, iPad®, and iPod touch® or the iTunes® store, at www.apple.com/iTunes/, allows connection to personal sources with its ability to pair up to four devices simultaneously via Bluetooth and create group playlists (optional AS-BT200 Bluetooth adapter required).

High Resolution Music Playback – The SC-1222 offers DSD (SACD DFF Files) music file playback via the front USB connection
and the SC-1522 offers the 192kHz/32-bit asynchronous USB DAC for ultra-high quality music file playback from a USB3-connected PC or Mac.

MHL-Compatibility Device Connectivity – The SC-1522 features a front Mobile High Definition Link (MHL) connection for compatible smartphones as additional sources for audio and video entertainment. The front-panel HDMI/MHL terminal delivers content with up to 1080p video and 7.1-channel HD audio resolution."


It would seem then that for the SC-1522 you have to connect a PC but for the SC-1222 you can just plug in a USB stick.
Bachiano is offline  
post #911 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I have time later I'll try to take a pic of my receiver playing the Flac files from the USB with a stick.
Bachiano is offline  
post #912 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
avdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Went to BB and they matched NewEgg price without coupon. Said it was $300 under their cost but they did it anyway. However, won't be in until 6/04. mad.gif
avdoc is offline  
post #913 of 1433 Old 05-25-2013, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avdoc View Post

Went to BB and they matched NewEgg price without coupon. Said it was $300 under their cost but they did it anyway. However, won't be in until 6/04. mad.gif

Awesome !!!
Cheers

Let us know how you like it.
I love mine as I previously stated.
Bachiano is offline  
post #914 of 1433 Old 05-27-2013, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A little disappointed I can't get the icontrol software to load on my Ipod touch. It says I need a newer version of software, but it's up to date. Must now work on the 4th generation unit I guess. Other than that, this thing is really nice.
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #915 of 1433 Old 05-27-2013, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap Branigan View Post

A little disappointed I can't get the icontrol software to load on my Ipod touch. It says I need a newer version of software, but it's up to date. Must now work on the 4th generation unit I guess. Other than that, this thing is really nice.

You need iControlAV2012 app.

Works great !!!

Cheers
Bachiano is offline  
post #916 of 1433 Old 05-27-2013, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bachiano View Post

You need iControlAV2012 app.

Works great !!!

Cheers

That's the app I got, but it won't load. Maybe I should try a restore on my Ipod.
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #917 of 1433 Old 05-27-2013, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats Strange.
Does the app let you get into Demo Mode?
Bachiano is offline  
post #918 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 12:12 AM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The app won't load at all. It says I need version 4.3 to run in the requirements, but Itunes says I have the current version and it is 4.2. I did the restore and no go. Have to go through loading all my music again now too. Apple software really is frustrating.
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #919 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 03:56 AM
Member
 
htwild1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have iControlAV2012 app installed on my iPhone and iPad.
Both devices recognize the assigned/fixed IP on the receiver but show port 8012. On the receiver I tried to set Port 1 to this number but it would not allow me.
Either Port #23 or anything higher than 49900.

Is there a way to reset this port? Thanks.
htwild1 is offline  
post #920 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 04:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What version of the app are you guys using ?
Bachiano is offline  
post #921 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap Branigan View Post

The app won't load at all. It says I need version 4.3 to run in the requirements, but Itunes says I have the current version and it is 4.2. I did the restore and no go. Have to go through loading all my music again now too. Apple software really is frustrating.


What Ipod touch version are you using?

For The first generation iPod Touch, iOS 4.0 and later are not supported because they require newer hardware

The second generation iPod Touch cannot be upgraded beyond iOS version 4.2.1.

You definitely need to get to iOS 4.3 at minimum to use the app.
Bachiano is offline  
post #922 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Ipod is a 4th generation. I don't know why it doesn't want to update to 4.3. Maybe because I never spent any money on the itunes store. smile.gif
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #923 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird.
Try:
Do a full restore to factory.
Then update to the latest IOS before Syncing with ITunes.
Bachiano is offline  
post #924 of 1433 Old 05-28-2013, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried that, no-go. It put 4.2. back on and stilll doesn't update. I know electronics change pretty fast, but a two year old Ipod shouldn't be obsolete.
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #925 of 1433 Old 05-29-2013, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Seems to be a quite common problem. Google it and you will find many stories like yours and possible solutions. Apple sure doesn't make it easy to do it. 4th Gen iPod touch should be able to get the latest iOS6.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #926 of 1433 Old 05-29-2013, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap Branigan View Post

I tried that, no-go. It put 4.2. back on and stilll doesn't update. I know electronics change pretty fast, but a two year old Ipod shouldn't be obsolete.

It is not obsolete by a far stretch.
The problem is somewhere else.

Maybe just take it in to the apple store.
Maybe they will give you a new one if they can't update it either.
Be polite to them and don't show your frustration.

That goes a long way to getting a new one.
Bachiano is offline  
post #927 of 1433 Old 06-01-2013, 09:51 PM
Member
 
THE_DEAN_001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not an owner but a quick question.

I currently have a 5.1 setup of two Polk Monitor 70 series II, Polk CS2, and two Polk Monitor 30 series II speakers.

I'm using a Yamaha rx-v565 receiver rated @ 90watts per channel.

I'm on a budget but the price is real good on this Pioneer I'm worried about passing it up.

Here's the deal...I don't care about the features.

All I care about is more power and a cleaner overall sound for watching movies and listening to music.

The Polk 70's a pretty power hungry.

Will the Pioneer SC-1222-K be a pretty big improvement over the Yamaha in power?

Or will the difference be not worth forking out the 500 bucks while a budget when the Yamaha has been pretty reliable over the last 4 years I've owned it?

Just wondering...gotta pull the trigger by tonight or tomorrow if I'm going to get this price.

Thanks.
THE_DEAN_001 is offline  
post #928 of 1433 Old 06-01-2013, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_DEAN_001 View Post

Not an owner but a quick question.

I currently have a 5.1 setup of two Polk Monitor 70 series II, Polk CS2, and two Polk Monitor 30 series II speakers.

I'm using a Yamaha rx-v565 receiver rated @ 90watts per channel.

I'm on a budget but the price is real good on this Pioneer I'm worried about passing it up.

Here's the deal...I don't care about the features.

All I care about is more power and a cleaner overall sound for watching movies and listening to music.

The Polk 70's a pretty power hungry.

Will the Pioneer SC-1222-K be a pretty big improvement over the Yamaha in power?

Or will the difference be not worth forking out the 500 bucks while a budget when the Yamaha has been pretty reliable over the last 4 years I've owned it?

Just wondering...gotta pull the trigger by tonight or tomorrow if I'm going to get this price.

Thanks.

External amp will be better, but I don't think your current AVR has the amp pre-outs. That's one of the reasons why I bought the 1522 due to the amp pre outs and 12V triggers.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #929 of 1433 Old 06-01-2013, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_DEAN_001 View Post

Not an owner but a quick question.

I currently have a 5.1 setup of two Polk Monitor 70 series II, Polk CS2, and two Polk Monitor 30 series II speakers.

I'm using a Yamaha rx-v565 receiver rated @ 90watts per channel.

I'm on a budget but the price is real good on this Pioneer I'm worried about passing it up.

Here's the deal...I don't care about the features.

All I care about is more power and a cleaner overall sound for watching movies and listening to music.

The Polk 70's a pretty power hungry.

Will the Pioneer SC-1222-K be a pretty big improvement over the Yamaha in power?

Or will the difference be not worth forking out the 500 bucks while a budget when the Yamaha has been pretty reliable over the last 4 years I've owned it?

Just wondering...gotta pull the trigger by tonight or tomorrow if I'm going to get this price.

Thanks.

External amp will be better, but I don't think your current AVR has the amp pre-outs. That's one of the reasons why I bought the 1522 due to the amp pre outs and 12V triggers.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #930 of 1433 Old 06-01-2013, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_DEAN_001 View Post

Not an owner but a quick question.

I currently have a 5.1 setup of two Polk Monitor 70 series II, Polk CS2, and two Polk Monitor 30 series II speakers.

I'm using a Yamaha rx-v565 receiver rated @ 90watts per channel.

I'm on a budget but the price is real good on this Pioneer I'm worried about passing it up.

Here's the deal...I don't care about the features.

All I care about is more power and a cleaner overall sound for watching movies and listening to music.

The Polk 70's a pretty power hungry.

Will the Pioneer SC-1222-K be a pretty big improvement over the Yamaha in power?

Or will the difference be not worth forking out the 500 bucks while a budget when the Yamaha has been pretty reliable over the last 4 years I've owned it?

Just wondering...gotta pull the trigger by tonight or tomorrow if I'm going to get this price.

Thanks.

External amp will be better, but I don't think your current AVR has the amp pre-outs. That's one of the reasons why I bought the 1522 due to the amp pre outs and 12V triggers.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off