"OFFICIAL" Pioneer SC-1222-K Owners Thread - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1424 Old 09-27-2013, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
swiftyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the replies guys. I've read through all 39 pages of this thread

so I was aware of the shortcomings of the 1222 compared to the 1522

and some of the workarounds.

 

From what I could find out, looks like most of the 1522's hit Costco

last March and now the 1222's are showing up. Since I was coming

from a Denon 2808CI that was stolen, I'm sure this will do all I need

for now and more.

 

At the price I got the 1222 ($514.17 with tax here in WA state)

I won't mind upgrading if I need to down the road. 

 

My old speakers consisted of Klipcsh that they stopped making

in 1997. I kept them in immaculate condition and would still use

them except when the idiots broke into my storage unit, the only

speaker they stole was one of my towers. So I have one tower

left that does me no good. Still have the old 2.5's for surround 

and a KV-12 sub that I loved along with a fairly small center,

can't recall the model #.

 

I have the funds to upgrade the speaker system and that's

why I was picking the Axioms. I believe the 1222 should 

work good with them. 

 

Thanks again for all the help and information. For people like

me that have been out of the loop a long time, forums like

this make all the difference.

 

Have a great weekend!

 

Greg

swiftyg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1424 Old 09-29-2013, 05:22 PM
Member
 
rimmi2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I read through the whole 40 page thread. Great info. I recently picked up the 1222K from costco. I have connected Polk CSi5 center with Rti6 Fronts and energy take sides and 8" Energy take sub for a 5.1 setup. I will probably change it to a 7.1, I have the two energy take sats sitting around doing nothing. I have a few questions if someone can please give some insight.

1. When doing the MCACC with THX, my sub still sounds dead. If I bump it from from -2.0 db to +3.0db I finally feel it. I noticed the MCACC is putting my sub distance at 23 ft when it is close to 13 ft (around the same as the fronts). Is this something I should change manually? Also why is it so off? I have to go through the guide for the sub. Have the pdf downloaded. Lets see if that makes a difference in the overall quality.

2. Lastly I also used have a Onkyo SR606 and Denon AVR1613. When getting a stereo signal they had the option to output to all speakers. I have my HTPC and HD cable box connected to the Pioneer. On both when there is a stereo signal, it outputs a 2.1 signal only. I messed around with all options but couldn't figure out how to output stereo sound as 5.1 (basically audio to all speakers). Can someone please advice me on how to do this. Thanks.
rimmi2002 is offline  
post #1173 of 1424 Old 09-29-2013, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
the option is called extended stereo.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1174 of 1424 Old 09-30-2013, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimmi2002 View Post

I noticed the MCACC is putting my sub distance at 23 ft when it is close to 13 ft (around the same as the fronts). Is this something I should change manually? Also why is it so off?

acoustic distance vs physical distance. acoustic distance takes into account lag going thru DSP processing and mostly likely phase. and most will tell you to not change it to physical distance.

this all assumes you had the mic positioned correctly @ the main listening position, on a tripod or at least the seat back, nothing blocking the line of sight to each speakers and aimed at the ceiling (not tilted forward or back). IF your seat is right against the rear wall, this also may have an impact on how it measures things.

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #1175 of 1424 Old 09-30-2013, 08:58 AM
Member
 
rimmi2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

the option is called extended stereo.

Thanks. Anyway to make this default for 2.1 signals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

acoustic distance vs physical distance. acoustic distance takes into account lag going thru DSP processing and mostly likely phase. and most will tell you to not change it to physical distance.

this all assumes you had the mic positioned correctly @ the main listening position, on a tripod or at least the seat back, nothing blocking the line of sight to each speakers and aimed at the ceiling (not tilted forward or back). IF your seat is right against the rear wall, this also may have an impact on how it measures things.

Yeah nothing is really blocking the sub, I have mic on a tripod sitting on top a box and leveled so it pointing straight up. I'll try again after I switch to 7.1 setup.
rimmi2002 is offline  
post #1176 of 1424 Old 09-30-2013, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimmi2002 View Post

Thanks. Anyway to make this default for 2.1 signals?

The processing mode is remembered per input but there is no way to do so per signal types. I typically only use it for certain inputs that are stereo all the times, e.g. FM radio or Media Server/internet radio/Pandora etc. My cable TV inputs are mostly 5.1 (don't watch low res SD channels at all) but it will be really weird if I change channel from a 5.1 HD channel to a 2.0 SD channel and all of sudden the speakers switched to extended stereo mode. That mode is only good for party IMO and put heave load on receiver as well.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1177 of 1424 Old 09-30-2013, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
gpascanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

Can anyone tell me what are the differences between the SC-1222 and SC-1223 except the second HDMI output? I would like also some recommendation regarding a 5.1 speakers (brand, model) should I buy it a a package or just go for individual components.(600-1000 USD)

 

Thanks,

George

gpascanu is offline  
post #1178 of 1424 Old 09-30-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
SC-1222: 2012 model. Can be found in Costco for much less than MSRP
SC-1223: 2013 model. There is no discount so far.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1179 of 1424 Old 09-30-2013, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Zap Branigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 1223 loses a most of the pre-amp terminals compared to the 1222 and looks to be a step down. You'd have to go to the 1323 to get a similar setup.
Zap Branigan is offline  
post #1180 of 1424 Old 10-10-2013, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
MCNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey guys,

 

New to the thread. I did post a "problem" I have with the SC-1222-k and a Samsung TV on the other thread.

 

I am looking for suggestions.

 

Here:

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1441190/pioneer-sc-1222-k-anyone/360#post_23822679

 

Let me know. Thank you in advance

 

Nick

MCNick is offline  
post #1181 of 1424 Old 10-11-2013, 02:43 PM
Member
 
DonnerParty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI CEC is really quirky no matter what vendor. With my LG tv when the 1222 syncs up and powers on and off with it and the direct tv box it switches to the TV input even if the CBl/Sat Was previously selected. I tried using both the ARC and regular input with no change.
I deal with the quirkiness because its the easy way to control receiver volume with DirectTv remote.

LG 60LM7200
Pioneer SC-1222-K
Infinity Primus 363, c351, 252, 163, PS212
PS3
DonnerParty is offline  
post #1182 of 1424 Old 10-11-2013, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonnerParty View Post

HDMI CEC is really quirky no matter what vendor.

so true smile.gif

based on hundreds (maybe thousands) of posts over years about various gear issues when HDMI CEC (HDMI Control) is used, you have a good observation, sir wink.gif even I with Pioneer AVR's and Pioneer Kuro plasma, leave it Off; for me, it's not worth the bother. the only time I have it On is when I want to listen to music with Pioneer's PQLS.

I can't use the ARC (audio return channel) feature with my kuro but even if I could, it also seems even more quirky, if that's possible. again, a feature I personally have no use for. I connect audio from my cable box directly to the receiver, so that negates the need for ARC - an optical connection is simple and it works 100% of the time wink.gif

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #1183 of 1424 Old 10-11-2013, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
MCNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonnerParty View Post

HDMI CEC is really quirky no matter what vendor. With my LG tv when the 1222 syncs up and powers on and off with it and the direct tv box it switches to the TV input even if the CBl/Sat Was previously selected. I tried using both the ARC and regular input with no change.
I deal with the quirkiness because its the easy way to control receiver volume with DirectTv remote.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post


so true smile.gif

based on hundreds (maybe thousands) of posts over years about various gear issues when HDMI CEC (HDMI Control) is used, you have a good observation, sir wink.gif even I with Pioneer AVR's and Pioneer Kuro plasma, leave it Off; for me, it's not worth the bother. the only time I have it On is when I want to listen to music with Pioneer's PQLS.

I can't use the ARC (audio return channel) feature with my kuro but even if I could, it also seems even more quirky, if that's possible. again, a feature I personally have no use for. I connect audio from my cable box directly to the receiver, so that negates the need for ARC - an optical connection is simple and it works 100% of the time wink.gif

 

 

Well, thanks guys for removing my last hopes ;-) .

It would have been cool though...  

When the SC-1222-k goes from STEREO" back to "TV" then back to "STEREO" is what screws it up I think.

I'll still experiment more with it later. 

 

On the other hand ARC has been working well with OTA sources (on the TV side). I still have to see with the network / Internet though.

 

Nick

MCNick is offline  
post #1184 of 1424 Old 10-14-2013, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
swiftyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Successful Firmware Update!

 

Just wanted to post a follow up about the firmware update on the SC-1222-K.

 

From all the instructions I could find, it was obvious that you had to have the

updated firmware files on the ROOT drive of your USB thumb drive.

 

What I couldn't find out and figured out through trial and error, is exactly which

files needed to be on the thumb drive. From a picture I had seen in an earlier

post, you could see the name of the file that the receiver recognized and that

coincided exactly with the FOLDER NAME after unzipping the original file.

 

So I 'assumed' that meant that the FOLDER is what needed to be on the

thumb drive. So I downloaded the ZIP file and extracted it several times on

the thumb drive so that folder was showing.

 

Of course that didn't work. I tried several times, each time reformatting my

thumb drive to FAT32 with the same results. So I figured it was the brand

or some other problem with my thumb drive. So I headed out to Best Buy

and picked up another cheapy thumb drive and the result was the same.

Error message after ACCESSING the file.

 

Finally I decided to download the ZIP file to my desktop, then extract the

7 individual .BIN files ONLY to the thumb drive. Plugged it into the front

of the receiver, hit update and BINGO, it worked! The update ran and

worked perfectly. The receiver shuts off after reaching 100%, turned it

back on and checked the software version and everything was golden.

 

Just a suggestion... maybe add specific instructions on the first post

in this thread to help anyone new that purchases a 1222K. Sifting

through 40 pages of content can be a daunting task and no where,

even on the Pioneer site, did I find anything saying to ONLY load

the .BIN files, nothing else. Maybe it's obvious for some, but I think

for many, it will be confusing without being more specific.

 

Also, the links for the wireless adapters in the first post are both

out of date. Seems many 1222K owners are using this Netgear

unit with good success:

http://www.netgear.com/landing/wnce2001.aspx

 

I'll be picking one of these up today from my local Staples. 

 

And also maybe add the bass tweaks PDF file from user bad1550

from page 21 to the first post as well:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wcvouknssbseg0m/MCACC_SUB_EQ_1_3.pdf 

 

 

Please don't think I am being negative about this thread. I'm only

offering input from my own experience. This thread has been a

world of help to me and I'm sure many other 1222K owners. I'm

only saying that maybe updating the original first post might be

helpful to new 1222K owners in the future.

 

Thanks to everyone who have contributed to this thread, I really

appreciate it!

 

Greg

swiftyg is offline  
post #1185 of 1424 Old 10-16-2013, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 200

From Pioneer's SC-1222 page, the update instructions (SC-1222-K Firmware Update Instructions):

 

Unzip the ZIP file and save all the unzipped files on the USB memory device.

 

I guess that could more specifically say "and save the INDIVIDUAL unzipped files...."

Glad you figured it out.

And glad it worked!

 

I'm personally not a fan of the "bass tweaks" posted. MCACC, as he illustrates, only calibrates to 63Hz. Boosting that and the frequencies above it will only serve to overwhelm any deeper base your subs can produce, adversely affecting the overall sound:

http://www.independentrecording.net/irn/resources/freqchart/main_display.htm

You're better off just adding a few dB to the sub output setting (Fine Channel Level) after MCACC. Search for "house curve" for the rationale for that.

That said, you're MUCH better off using measurement software and doing it right, as per the thread here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1449924/simplified-rew-setup-and-use-usb-mic-hdmi-connection-including-measurement-techniques-and-how-to-interpret-graphs

and especially the guide, here:

Link to REW 101 v3.0.pdf

One of the very nice things about the MCACC system is that it allows modifications after the calibration. But those modifications should be done sparingly, and very carefully.

Michael


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #1186 of 1424 Old 10-16-2013, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
swiftyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

That's great advice Michael and I really appreciate

all the links to the info as well. I will dive in and check

it all out.

 

I know I still have a long way to go to understand the

proper way to set up my system, but I love learning

this stuff!

 

Thanks again!

 

Greg

 

P. S. Here's a pic of the current set up:

 

 

swiftyg is offline  
post #1187 of 1424 Old 10-17-2013, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 200

Very pretty. Subs?

 

Good info here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1112470/official-pioneer-mcacc-thread


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #1188 of 1424 Old 10-19-2013, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
jdpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi - How do I get zone 2 audio for my hdmi outputs? I am able to select it but no audio comes out. The only thing I can get for zone 2audio to play on speakers is Tuner and airplay. I would like to send what I'm watching throughout the house via zone 2.

Thanks.
jdpublic is offline  
post #1189 of 1424 Old 10-19-2013, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdpublic View Post

Hi - How do I get zone 2 audio for my hdmi outputs? I am able to select it but no audio comes out. The only thing I can get for zone 2audio to play on speakers is Tuner and airplay. I would like to send what I'm watching throughout the house via zone 2.

Hi jdpublic, you can't send HDMI source to Zone 2. Only analog signals like the tuner or an attached analog source via the RCA (red & white) connectors.
JChin is online now  
post #1190 of 1424 Old 10-20-2013, 01:42 PM
Member
 
EricPOlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi jdpublic, you can't send HDMI source to Zone 2. Only analog signals like the tuner or an attached analog source via the RCA (red & white) connectors.
The rca zone 2 audio outputs are only driven by other rca/analog inputs (plus the tuner & network sources - although zone 1 can't use a different network source) The zone 2 video output is driven my the rca video inputs. So there are 5 RCA a/v inputs on the 1222k, so for some HMDI sources, you can run the RCA cable as well (the zone 2 selectable sources are the ones with rca inputs) . For example, I run both hmdi and rca from my DVD player to the receiver. HMDI plays in Main, dvd->rca plays audio and video in zone2.
EricPOlson is offline  
post #1191 of 1424 Old 10-20-2013, 07:13 PM
Newbie
 
jdpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricPOlson View Post

The rca zone 2 audio outputs are only driven by other rca/analog inputs (plus the tuner & network sources - although zone 1 can't use a different network source) The zone 2 video output is driven my the rca video inputs. So there are 5 RCA a/v inputs on the 1222k, so for some HMDI sources, you can run the RCA cable as well (the zone 2 selectable sources are the ones with rca inputs) . For example, I run both hmdi and rca from my DVD player to the receiver. HMDI plays in Main, dvd->rca plays audio and video in zone2.

Now it all makes sense. I got it to work as you described. Thaknks for the help.
jdpublic is offline  
post #1192 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 09:16 AM
Member
 
jowens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

the option is called extended stereo.
Is this the problem I have when listening to music and no base is run through my sub and only through my fronts? I notice it when I am listening to any of the audio channels on dish network along with when I have my iphone plugged in and listening to music. Would the extended stereo function cure this?
jowens is offline  
post #1193 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 346
No, the problem is you need to set all your speakers to SMALL, then the subwoofer will handle all of the lower frequencies.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #1194 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 10:33 AM
Member
 
jowens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand but the display on my receiver shows only the fronts when it recognizes something in stereo. It doesn't even show the subwoofer on the display like it does when watching something in 5.1 or 7.1
jowens is offline  
post #1195 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowens View Post

I understand but the display on my receiver shows only the fronts when it recognizes something in stereo. It doesn't even show the subwoofer on the display like it does when watching something in 5.1 or 7.1

Stereo is 2.0. You can use the Extended Stereo option and it will us all speakers.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #1196 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 11:44 AM
Member
 
jowens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Stereo is 2.0. You can use the Extended Stereo option and it will us all speakers.

All speakers including the sub? While we are talking about it... What settings does everyone use just to listen to music? Does it really matter what kind of music it is? I listen to everything from rap and hip hop to classic country. These are some of the things I haven't tinkered with on my receiver yet. Thanks
jowens is offline  
post #1197 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 02:41 PM
Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowens View Post

All speakers including the sub? While we are talking about it... What settings does everyone use just to listen to music? Does it really matter what kind of music it is? I listen to everything from rap and hip hop to classic country. These are some of the things I haven't tinkered with on my receiver yet. Thanks

There are several "sound fields" that are more gimmick than useful compared to previous Pioneer AVR's I have had. But when listening to music I use the Ext. Stereo (Extended Stereo), which unlike my D909S which used all the speakers equally, this doesn't as far as I have seen/heard. As time goes on I become less impressed with this unit and Pioneer. And from what I gathered from Pioneer TS, this unit is EOL (End of Life) and the severely limited support that we were getting, is now gone. So no more FW updates. Not that there were many to cover issues in the first place. /rant

I would suggest just putting on your favorite cut and scrolling through the options to see what they do for you and to the music. It's all subjective.
FarmerBob is offline  
post #1198 of 1424 Old 10-21-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post

I would suggest just putting on your favorite cut and scrolling through the options to see what they do for you and to the music. It's all subjective.

+1

absolutely. there is no right or wrong format. just one that sounds pleasing or what your preference is for one's room, speakers and setup.

that said wink.gif personally, I do think most of the so-called Advanced Surround modes are not useful, actually can degrade the sound quality, because they add artificial reverb in varying amounts to the sound. as I very recently posted in another Pioneer thread, the only company that actually used acoustical modeling of concert halls, jazz clubs, etc for their "presence" reverb modes was Yamaha. all the rest are totally artificial. but they are there if one wants to experiment with them smile.gif

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #1199 of 1424 Old 10-24-2013, 05:48 PM
Member
 
alexisd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,i have the 1223k as replacement of my 1222k, now this is the problem.Yesterday i start a movie on my old fat ps3 and my PCM signal is gone,if i set up the ps3 to linear pcm in the ps3 i have no dialog on the movie but got sound effects and the pcm display on the receiver screen too..Now if i set up the ps3 to bitstream i have dialog and sounds but no pcm display on the 1223k .Maybe i have to recalibrate the receiver?I play back and forward with the settings on the ps3 linear and bitstream but same results.I have a second slim ps3 and i try that one too but same issue maybe i have a wrong setting on the receiver somehow.Hope you understand english no my first language.Thanks.
alexisd is offline  
post #1200 of 1424 Old 10-25-2013, 03:42 PM
Member
 
DonnerParty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sounds like you set up ps3 output via s/pdif or dual instead of hdmi output set it just to hdmi

LG 60LM7200
Pioneer SC-1222-K
Infinity Primus 363, c351, 252, 163, PS212
PS3
DonnerParty is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off