The Official Onkyo TX-NR717 Thread - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The Official Onkyo TX-NR717 Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

okeeffe6's Avatar okeeffe6
05:45 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 66
02-12-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2013
I've heard others mention a need for a 717 thread, so figured I'd start an official one. I'd like to start with a suggestion:

1) WE ALL KNOW THAT THE 717 DOES NOT COME WITH MULTI-EQ OR XT-32, SO LET'S NOT FOCUS ON ONKYO'S "SHORTCOMINGS" IN THIS THREAD. BEATEN TO A PULP, PEOPLE.

Okay. Phew. Anyway, for those that did not pay almost (or actually) double for a 818, let's talk about the features/comments of the 717.

I actually just purchased one for $429 and can't wait to plug mine in tomorrow as it arrives. Another assumption: if I had the extra dough, I, like anybody would go for the 818 or a 5010. smile.gif It seems the reduction in price has the 717 nestled in a nice little mid-range status now.

I'm coming from a Onkyo 705 and can't wait to play with all the new features. How long is it going to take me to figure this thing out?

Talk amongst yourselves....hehe
okeeffe6's Avatar okeeffe6
05:08 PM Liked: 10
post #2 of 66
02-28-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2013
Nobody out there? *bump*
wvu80's Avatar wvu80
09:43 PM Liked: 102
post #3 of 66
03-23-2013 | Posts: 554
Joined: Mar 2013
I have the 717 and love it. There is no active discussion on the 717 because it does not seem to have the HDMI problems its little brothers have, and the 818 is priced waaay above it.

I don't care what the MSRP is for any model, the 717 is a $500 receiver because that is how much it sells for.

I would like to see some discussion on how to use the dang thing, because it has a TON of listing modes which need explaining. FYI the Pure Audio mode is not a gimmick. To my ears, it produces the best sound for music.
+++

I bought mine because it could bi-amp (which I did, which really works). In this mode, you get 5.1 with bi-amp, not 7.1, which is what I was expecting. It also uses banana plugs for the speaker wires. No more cheap spring loaded speaker connections.

I liked the rated power 110w per channel into all 7 channels driven. The technology also seemed leading edge. It has a lot of options for internet radio, which I do not care about. I haven't even plugged it into the net yet, the point being there seems to be something in this beast for everyone, but everyone may not need every feature.
Pickstv's Avatar Pickstv
11:52 AM Liked: 11
post #4 of 66
03-25-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2013
I've had my 717 for about 2 weeks powering a new set of energy take classic 7.1, purchased 2 more speakers. So far I'm very happy with the set-up. Still trying to figure out all of the many, many listing modes. Also going to my 717 is a oppo-103, dish hopper, pc and my samsung f8000. Still a lot of work in-progress, but looking forward to a nice home theater system. Forgot to mention if you want to hook up to
WIFI, don't try using the...UW F-1... very weak. I purchased the Netgear WNA1100 usb adapter and everything works fine.
BigTVSteve's Avatar BigTVSteve
11:46 AM Liked: 11
post #5 of 66
04-12-2013 | Posts: 196
Joined: Sep 2001
I've had my NR717 since last November and it has performed flawlessly. I have not experienced any HDMI handshake problems whatsoever with a 2010 Samsung 65 inch TV nor any problems with my 2009 LG networked DVD player. I agree with the earlier poster that's probably why you don't see the NR717 mentioned in too many posts on this forum. BTW, the NR717 runs much cooler than any 100+ watt rated receiver or amplifier that I have ever used, so that should add to its useful service life.

I use the Internet feature extensively with Pandora and Slacker; the Onkyo performs great with these services. Its front panel display gives enough details to navigate through these services; you don't need to have your HDTV on if you are just listening to music. I would suggest using a wired connection for all of the internet services like Pandora, as there are some bandwidth limitations for many of these services when using wireless setups. Since my internet router and Onkyo are several hundred feet apart, I use a powerline ethernet adapter setup to connect the two units over my home's AC wiring.

Back in November, the pricing for the NR818 and the NR717 were not too much different (about $150, as I recall). I was going to go with the fancier NR818, but it is a much deeper unit and would not fit into my antique stereo cabinet, so I bought the NR717. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase, its many features, and its excellent sound quality.
Pickstv's Avatar Pickstv
12:01 PM Liked: 11
post #6 of 66
04-12-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTVSteve View Post

I've had my NR717 since last November and it has performed flawlessly. I have not experienced any HDMI handshake problems whatsoever with a 2010 Samsung 65 inch TV nor any problems with my 2009 LG networked DVD player. I agree with the earlier poster that's probably why you don't see the NR717 mentioned in too many posts on this forum. BTW, the NR717 runs much cooler than any 100+ watt rated receiver or amplifier that I have ever used, so that should add to its useful service life.

I use the Internet feature extensively with Pandora and Slacker; the Onkyo performs great with these services. Its front panel display gives enough details to navigate through these services; you don't need to have your HDTV on if you are just listening to music. I would suggest using a wired connection for all of the internet services like Pandora, as there are some bandwidth limitations for many of these services when using wireless setups. Since my internet router and Onkyo are several hundred feet apart, I use a powerline ethernet adapter setup to connect the two units over my home's AC wiring.

Back in November, the pricing for the NR818 and the NR717 were not too much different (about $150, as I recall). I was going to go with the fancier NR818, but it is a much deeper unit and would not fit into my antique stereo cabinet, so I bought the NR717. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase, its many features, and its excellent sound quality.

Glade there is at least one more 717 owner. What speakers are you using with your receiver? I just purchased a second sub-woofer to go with my energy take 7.1 set-up. Do you know if it would be better to place them on each side of my tv or on opposite side of the room?
BigTVSteve's Avatar BigTVSteve
01:35 PM Liked: 11
post #7 of 66
04-12-2013 | Posts: 196
Joined: Sep 2001
Pickstv,

My speakers are really nice, but they are out of production and were relatively rare to start with, so most people have never seen or heard them. The front speakers are floor standing units made by Bohlender-Graebener; they have twin 6 inch bass-midrange drivers, but the real secret to their very lifelike sound is the use of a 4 inch high planar-magnetic tweeter that is mounted at the seated-ear level. These tweeters have very fast transient response times (like an electrostatic design), but none of the drawbacks of the more complex electrostatics. Electrostatic tweeters can be pretty hard to mate up with the lower frequency dynamic drivers in a two way or a three way speaker design. I also have a single powered subwoofer, with a 10 inch bass unit in it. I am very happy with the overall sound, but the NR717 made a noticeable difference in my setup. I was moving from some pretty high end separates (amp, pre-amp, and tuner), so I was surprised about the sound quality of the Onkyo. I originally bought it for a bedroom receiver, but after trying it out on my main living room system, I retired my separates...

Whether or not a second subwoofer will help your sound out depends mostly on your room dimensions and layout. I am not an expert, but you want to avoid standing waves, which might be helped or hurt by the presence of a second subwoofer. If you can work a "happy or money-back" deal on the second subwoofer, I'd give that try.
Pickstv's Avatar Pickstv
02:05 PM Liked: 11
post #8 of 66
04-12-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2013
BigTVSteve

Thanks for your input. Good luck with your new 717.
Pickstv's Avatar Pickstv
10:38 AM Liked: 11
post #9 of 66
04-21-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2013
Could someone explain how to enable ARC with the 717. I've set everything by what is in the manual, but with no luck. I'm using a optical cable as of now, coming from tv to receiver, but would like to have one less cable. My tv is a Samsung UN55F8000, with HDMI main out from receiver to HDMI 3 ( ARC ) in to tv. All HDMI cables are 1.4 and I have switched them out.
okeeffe6's Avatar okeeffe6
11:53 PM Liked: 10
post #10 of 66
04-30-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2013
Same problem here....Samsung ARC tv, but can't get it to recognize. Anyone have any luck?
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
10:19 AM Liked: 20
post #11 of 66
06-04-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
I bought a new NR717. It's replacing a TX-SR605 that works fine, but I wanted more HDMI ports, 3D and ARC. Not much info so far on this thread, but there is a lot of good info on Onkyo's support site forum.
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
10:24 AM Liked: 20
post #12 of 66
06-04-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by okeeffe6 View Post

Same problem here....Samsung ARC tv, but can't get it to recognize. Anyone have any luck?
If you indeed have everything connected correctly and all the settings are correct, then I've read that you should try turning everything off, then do a soft reset on the 717 by unplugging it for at least 5 minutes, then power up everything again. If this doesn't work, then try posting your problem on Onkyo's support site forum; the Onkyo techs there do monitor the posts and offer tips and solutions.
scoob5555's Avatar scoob5555
02:08 PM Liked: 10
post #13 of 66
06-07-2013 | Posts: 650
Joined: Sep 2003
Hi all,

I've had this receiver as my dedicated theater control center since the room was finished in March and there is, unfortunately a problem. The pre-out board is not, apparently working. I can't get any actual subwoofer output from the connections (either or both), but my subs do get some sort of signal that the receiver is outputting something because they both wake up. I've tried manipulating the speaker set up, increasing the output to the subs, etc, to no avail. I even, at the suggestion of a tech, tried to output to the subs from the front speaker pre-outs to see if that worked, but still nothing. So to me it seems that the pre-out board is broken.

Does anyone have any advice on anything else to try before I have to send this to get serviced (in Michigan!) for at least a few weeks? Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks, Scott
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
04:17 PM Liked: 20
post #14 of 66
06-08-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoob5555 View Post

Hi all,
I've had this receiver as my dedicated theater control center since the room was finished in March and there is, unfortunately a problem. The pre-out board is not, apparently working. I can't get any actual subwoofer output from the connections (either or both), but my subs do get some sort of signal that the receiver is outputting something because they both wake up. I've tried manipulating the speaker set up, increasing the output to the subs, etc, to no avail. I even, at the suggestion of a tech, tried to output to the subs from the front speaker pre-outs to see if that worked, but still nothing. So to me it seems that the pre-out board is broken.
Does anyone have any advice on anything else to try before I have to send this to get serviced (in Michigan!) for at least a few weeks? Any suggestions are welcome.
Thanks, Scott
Are you using powered or unpowered subwoofers? If unpowered, then you'll need a separate amplifier (I think) for your subwoofers. See pg 14 of the 717's operating manual.
pendetim's Avatar pendetim
08:49 AM Liked: 10
post #15 of 66
06-13-2013 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Hi,
I have ordered a tx-nr717 which is on the way!
A quick question: can the remote for this receiver be programmed to turn on, receiver, TV, & DirecTV box and switch to the correct input with a single button? Same question about a DVD player? Can I also control DirecTV guide, channel etc?

I have a Harmony remote that is getting very long in the tooth because of drops, battery swelling etc and would like an alternative without having to spring for $100+. I really like the simplicity of the Harmony and hope that the remote on the TX-NR717 can do most of the same functionality.
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
12:34 PM Liked: 20
post #16 of 66
06-13-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendetim View Post

Hi,
I have ordered a tx-nr717 which is on the way!
A quick question: can the remote for this receiver be programmed to turn on, receiver, TV, & DirecTV box and switch to the correct input with a single button? Same question about a DVD player? Can I also control DirecTV guide, channel etc?
I have a Harmony remote that is getting very long in the tooth because of drops, battery swelling etc and would like an alternative without having to spring for $100+. I really like the simplicity of the Harmony and hope that the remote on the TX-NR717 can do most of the same functionality.
I'm using a Harmony One remote, so I can't swear that all your components can be controlled with the Onkyo remote. I recommend you download and examine the 717's owners manual from the Onkyo site. The manual includes many pages of remote codes for various a/v brands and components, which gives me the impression that the Onkyo remote is able to control them. I think you'll be impressed with the 717's features and performance. Good luck.
pendetim's Avatar pendetim
04:35 PM Liked: 10
post #17 of 66
06-13-2013 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Thanks for the quick reply! I see where you can program individual components into the remote buttons in the manual. What I also would like to do is be able to press "Sat" button and it would turn on TV, Turn On 717. Select Sat input and turn on DirecTV box, kind of what my Logitec does when I press "watch sat".

I guess the Onkyo remote would need some type of macro capability to do this. Does it have this capability? It looks like I does not but that is only after a first reading of the manual.
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
05:56 PM Liked: 20
post #18 of 66
06-13-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendetim View Post

Thanks for the quick reply! I see where you can program individual components into the remote buttons in the manual. What I also would like to do is be able to press "Sat" button and it would turn on TV, Turn On 717. Select Sat input and turn on DirecTV box, kind of what my Logitec does when I press "watch sat".
I guess the Onkyo remote would need some type of macro capability to do this. Does it have this capability? It looks like I does not but that is only after a first reading of the manual.
I suspect your Onkyo remote is only able to control each component via individual button pushes on the Onkyo remote, unlike your Harmony remote in which you set up Activities in addition to the individual devices that are used in each activity; all very familiar to you I'm sure. My 717 just replaced a 5-yr old Onkyo 605 whose remote looks very similar to the 717's. I would not have wanted to use the 605's remote to control each of my 15 HT devices over the past 5yrs. I bet you can find a good used/refurbished Harmony on the net. That said, is there an HDMI control type function that can be enabled on your Direct TV box? If you have the option of enabling HDMI control on the 717, the TV, and your Sat box, maybe it could bring it all up together with a single power on button push. Good luck.
pendetim's Avatar pendetim
06:57 PM Liked: 10
post #19 of 66
06-13-2013 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Thanks. I suspected as much, but when in doubt ask the experts!

Now my next question: I will be using this in a 5.0 setup ( no subwoofer ) with a pair of Paradigm Studio100 front speakers. I see this amp can Bi-Amp and the Studio 100 seem to be capable of connecting to a bi-amp.
Is it worth doing the bi-amp connection? If so, I ass/u/me the top pair of posts are the tweeter and the lower set are the base/mid. Is this a correct assumption? In that case the Tweeter gets wired to the Front High ( L&R), correct.

Reading the manual makes my head spin! This is replacing an older Onkyo TX-DS838 from a long time ago. That had S-Video !!!! inputs..... So I am sure there will be lots of trials and many errors before I get this tuned.
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
05:10 AM Liked: 20
post #20 of 66
06-14-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendetim View Post

...Now my next question: I will be using this in a 5.0 setup ( no subwoofer ) with a pair of Paradigm Studio100 front speakers. I see this amp can Bi-Amp and the Studio 100 seem to be capable of connecting to a bi-amp. Is it worth doing the bi-amp connection? If so, I ass/u/me the top pair of posts are the tweeter and the lower set are the base/mid. Is this a correct assumption? In that case the Tweeter gets wired to the Front High ( L&R), correct. Reading the manual makes my head spin! This is replacing an older Onkyo TX-DS838 from a long time ago. That had S-Video !!!! inputs..... So I am sure there will be lots of trials and many errors before I get this tuned.
My speaker system is a straightforward 5.1 set up. I've never done bi-amping, so I don't know if there's a real benefit. Looking thru the manual, I believe your planned connections are correct. I highly recommend that you add a powered subwoofer to your system; it makes a huge difference and they're not expensive. For me, the main feature of a typical blu-ray movie is the HD audio, which is amazingly detailed and the sounds will fill your room, especially with a subwoofer and with your speaker system having been nicely calibrated to your room environment using the Onkyo's Audyssey 2EQ feature.
Pickstv's Avatar Pickstv
05:58 AM Liked: 11
post #21 of 66
06-22-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2013
Anyone else having pass through problems after latest update (1130-9104-0100-0000)? I no longer get audio after turning receiver to standby mode, just video. Pass through is set to LAST.

My set-up,

Receiver main out - HDMI - to Samsung 55f8000 in HDMI #3

Oppo-103 out - HDMI - to Receiver in HDMI #1

Dish Hopper out - HDMI - to Receiver in HDMI #3

Gateway PC out - HDMI - to Receiver in HDMI #5

To get audio from Hopper while in standby mode, I have to channel up or down for sound to play.
To get audio from Oppo while in standby mode, I have to turn off both tv and blu ray player. Then back on again.
PC works as it should while in standby mode???
Pickstv's Avatar Pickstv
05:58 AM Liked: 11
post #22 of 66
06-22-2013 | Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2013
Sorry, double post.
Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
07:47 AM Liked: 20
post #23 of 66
06-23-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

Anyone else having pass through problems after latest update (1130-9104-0100-0000)? I no longer get audio after turning receiver to standby mode, just video. Pass through is set to LAST.

My set-up,

Receiver main out - HDMI - to Samsung 55f8000 in HDMI #3

Oppo-103 out - HDMI - to Receiver in HDMI #1

Dish Hopper out - HDMI - to Receiver in HDMI #3

Gateway PC out - HDMI - to Receiver in HDMI #5

To get audio from Hopper while in standby mode, I have to channel up or down for sound to play.
To get audio from Oppo while in standby mode, I have to turn off both tv and blu ray player.
PC works as it should while in standby mode???
I suggest you look around here.
Not sure if it will fix the problem, but it's a good info source.
chrisjs's Avatar chrisjs
05:34 PM Liked: 12
post #24 of 66
07-02-2013 | Posts: 47
Joined: Feb 2006
Have just updated my AV system with the 717 and Vizio 651. Before I had a older Sony TV and was able to get the TV to power on and off the 717 without issues. Now with the Vizio, if I turn on CEC it will turn on the 717 but then turn off the Vizio and the only way I can get a display again is to pull the HDMI cable and reboot the Vizio and turn off CEC. Has any one else experienced this? I am sure it is the Vizio since my old Sony worked fine. With the Sony it would also turn the TV speakers off and use the 717's volume adjust. Loved this feature, hate having to switch sources on my Dish Network remote to set the volume
chrisjs's Avatar chrisjs
11:53 AM Liked: 12
post #25 of 66
07-09-2013 | Posts: 47
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs View Post

Have just updated my AV system with the 717 and Vizio 651. Before I had a older Sony TV and was able to get the TV to power on and off the 717 without issues. Now with the Vizio, if I turn on CEC it will turn on the 717 but then turn off the Vizio and the only way I can get a display again is to pull the HDMI cable and reboot the Vizio and turn off CEC. Has any one else experienced this? I am sure it is the Vizio since my old Sony worked fine. With the Sony it would also turn the TV speakers off and use the 717's volume adjust. Loved this feature, hate having to switch sources on my Dish Network remote to set the volume

Here is a block diagram of my setup to date. Couldn't get ARC or CEC to work with the Vizio.

Sgooter's Avatar Sgooter
09:43 PM Liked: 20
post #26 of 66
07-10-2013 | Posts: 860
Joined: Feb 2006
Your connections look OK, so perhaps the problem is in your settings on the 717...just a guess.
Suggest you first try getting ARC to work: In the 717 owner's manual see page 16 for the basic ARC settings, and page 67 for the RHID/ARC (HDMI Control) settings. Once ARC is working correctly, then the 717 will be automatically switched to its TV/CD function for receiving the TV's audio to the 717, such as when you select the Netflix app on the Vizio TV.
chrisjs's Avatar chrisjs
04:57 PM Liked: 12
post #27 of 66
07-16-2013 | Posts: 47
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs View Post

Here is a block diagram of my setup to date. Couldn't get ARC or CEC to work with the Vizio.

I have been trying to get zone 2 to work with my PC, the problem is that my PC only has digital out. So I tried taking the pre-amp out to PC analog input but the output amplitude is so low I can barely get enough signal to use it even with volume turned all the way up. Would I have to use an external amp just to get this to work? Would the headphone jack on PC have enough signal amplitude?
chrisjs's Avatar chrisjs
03:55 PM Liked: 12
post #28 of 66
07-17-2013 | Posts: 47
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgooter View Post

Your connections look OK, so perhaps the problem is in your settings on the 717...just a guess.
Suggest you first try getting ARC to work: In the 717 owner's manual see page 16 for the basic ARC settings, and page 67 for the RHID/ARC (HDMI Control) settings. Once ARC is working correctly, then the 717 will be automatically switched to its TV/CD function for receiving the TV's audio to the 717, such as when you select the Netflix app on the Vizio TV.
I have tried everything. The only way to use ARC is to turn on CEC. When CEC is on Visio won't boot (seems to be a timing issue) If I set up CEC and ARC on both products. I turn everything off, have even tried unplugging the power. Then I turn on TV it tries to communicate with Onkyo and turns it on, then the TV turns off and can't be turned back on unless HDMI cable is removed. Although if I power TV and as soon as logo goes away I manually turn on Onkyo. CEC works as expected but not ARC.
syoung68's Avatar syoung68
09:55 AM Liked: 10
post #29 of 66
07-22-2013 | Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendetim View Post


Now my next question: I will be using this in a 5.0 setup ( no subwoofer ) with a pair of Paradigm Studio100 front speakers. I see this amp can Bi-Amp and the Studio 100 seem to be capable of connecting to a bi-amp.
Is it worth doing the bi-amp connection? If so, I ass/u/me the top pair of posts are the tweeter and the lower set are the base/mid. Is this a correct assumption? In that case the Tweeter gets wired to the Front High ( L&R), correct.

I have these exact speakers and was looking at the 717 for your basic setup. I do not have a sub either - I have always found that the Studio 100s provide PLENTY low end. How did you finally wire your set up and, more important, how is the sound?
lennyManhattan's Avatar lennyManhattan
03:00 PM Liked: 10
post #30 of 66
09-13-2013 | Posts: 12
Joined: Dec 2006
Hey all,

I'm looking at getting a 717 but I've heard there have been some quality issue with Onkyo. Is this a problem limited to the 616/515/414 models? Does the 717 have issues keeping HDMI connected?

Also I couldn't quite tell. Does this receiver support Picutre-in-Picture like the Denon AVR-X3000 or is it preview only? Also if I hook up both HDMI outs will both screens get the same content or can they have different sources hooked up?

Thanks!
Tags: Onkyo Tx Nr717

Gear in this thread - Nr717 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3