why don't some expensive integrated amps have tone controls on them? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 02:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
keyboardcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What if someone wants to have more bass, or more treble by turning the knob.
This amp for example http://www.crutchfield.com/p_778M3IB/Musical-Fidelity-M3i-Black.html
also this amp http://www.audioadvisor.com/prodinfo.asp?number=KRS300I
Krelll - S-300i - 150 Watt - Integrated Amplifier
keyboardcat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
CriticalListener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Valatie, NY
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There are members of the audiophile community that believe, even if set neutrally, that tone controls interfere with the sound quality. That's why we sell Yamaha Integrated amps, they have the controls, but add "Pure Direct", a button that actually bypasses those controls.


Critical Listener
"Beyond the Equipment"
HAA Certified
CriticalListener is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
keyboardcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
oh I see. I saw a nad c326bee video on youtube where the guy from nad bragged about nad using tone controls unlike other brands who no longer use them. I do like having them, but I am losing quality by having them? when you tested amps with tone controls did you find that they didn't sound as good critical?
keyboardcat is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-18-2013, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
keyboardcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
do the majority of you all feel like tone controls can mess up the sound? I never thought about it before.
keyboardcat is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-18-2013, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Tone controls add distortion....

Just my $0.02... wink.gif
M Code is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-18-2013, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
keyboardcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
do they add a lot of distortion m code?
keyboardcat is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-11-2013, 12:38 PM
Member
 
MitchFlorida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Real Audiophiles do NOT use tone controls. That is like photo shopping the Mona Lisa or other artwork.
MitchFlorida is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-11-2013, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beaveav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Well, since many (most?) "real audiophiles" are morons, I think you just made a good case for the use of tone controls. Bravo!!

For every new thing I learn, I forget two things I used to know.
beaveav is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-11-2013, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beaveav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by CriticalListener View Post

There are members of the audiophile community that believe, even if set neutrally, that tone controls interfere with the sound quality. That's why we sell Yamaha Integrated amps, they have the controls, but add "Pure Direct", a button that actually bypasses those controls.


Lots of, if not most, integrated amps have a tone control bypass feature. It's nothing new or differentiating.

For every new thing I learn, I forget two things I used to know.
beaveav is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-11-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beaveav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Tone controls add distortion....

Just my $0.02... wink.gif

What kind of distortion are you referring to?

For every new thing I learn, I forget two things I used to know.
beaveav is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off