Sub not working for music - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
gelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm currently using the CD input for streaming music from a Squeezbox and i noticed my sub is not working with it (just regular front L/R). The sub does work when watch regular TV as well as Apple TV and DVD's. I have the Squeezbox hooked up using a optical cable. Do i have something hooked up wrong or set wrong? Thx
gelly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Yes, something is wrong. What receiver do you have? You didn't mention it at all.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Richard Cohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you have your speakers set to large a two channel signal from a CD. Will not use the subwoofer. If the surround program for the input is set to "pure direct" or a similar setting it will bypass the subwoofer since bass management is not activated with a two channel input even if the speakers are set to small.

Home Theater is GREAT
Richard Cohen is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
gelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks Richard. Yes they are set to small. Is there any way to incorporate the sub? If not(I'm using Audesey) is the a way to turn up the bass on my fronts?
gelly is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 145
If your receiver hasa mode like "direct" engaged, it bypasses all processing and that would eliminate the crossover to the sub. you could also try raising the crossovers.
JHAz is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
gelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks. Not sure if it has a "direct" option. It's a marantz sr7005.
gelly is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off