HDMI HELP! RXV-2700 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-23-2013, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
johnsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I am hoping someone can give me some assistance. I have recently purchased a Yamaha RXV 2700. I have a Toshiba DVD player and I'm trying to pass the HDMI cable through the receiver to the plasma tv. The screen will work for a bit, but after about 15 seconds the screen cuts out completely, alternative between blue and black screen (almost as if it is scanning or looking for the source?) - similarly the sound cuts in and out. I tried connecting my computer using an HDMI cable -> receiver -> TV and it worked fine!

* Is there a setting on the DVD player or Receiver that i need to change?
* Is it not compatible with that particular DVD player?

Any help would be greatly appreciated - I purchased this receiver specifically for the HDMI pass-through abilities to 'de-clutter' the cables and get lossless sound etc. I'm pulling my hair out.

If this thread has been discussed before, could you please direct me on how to get to that thread. Again, first time here and I need some assistance.

Thanks in advance for a reply
Brian
johnsonb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-23-2013, 09:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I would not have expected that to happen with DVD. More often that used to happen with cable boxes. So I am worried it's a bad HDMI chip.

Did you try a different HDMI cable?

Are the vents on the 2700 unblocked? That thing is like a furnace and you need good ventilation for it, or it can overheat and experience HDMI issues (seen that myself.)

If it was a bad HDMI chip, I think that may effect ALL the inputs, as it may only have a single chip. I am not 100% sure of this, so try other inputs.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-23-2013, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
johnsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi and thanks for the reply. I've tried different cables in different outlets - also the receiver was just serviced and all vents are unblocked. How would I go about finding out if it is a bad HDMI chip and can those be replaced? Man what a waste of money if it can't be replaced. It just seemed really strange that I could get the image and sound for ten seconds or so and then it would cut in and that it worked with my computer plugged into the HDMI.
johnsonb is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-27-2013, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
johnsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I have tried the other HDMI inputs. Tried a different cable and it worked for about 20 minutes then cut out. When I plug the HDMI from the DVD player to the receiver I can play a DVD and hear the audio - the signal doesn't cut out. It seems as though the problem is between the Receiver and the TV. I've tried a different TV, but the same result. Any ideas?????
johnsonb is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off