An AVR with Class A/B or Class D Amps? Which one is one better? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 02-25-2013, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What really is the big difference between the Class A/B or D amps? I have been looking at some of the new Pioneer Elite A/V receivers and have been wondering about those Class D Amps they are using in them. Are they any good? One of the first things I noticed is that when they give the power specs on them they are only rated at the 1kz level. What's up with that, are those Class D Amps a little weak, are they trying to hide something there? I heard read that the class A/B Amps run the signal straight through but they do get hot. And also that the Class D Amps usually have more THD. I am setting up a HT in the bedroom.
So what the heck, I am pretty new to this technology but I definitely know when something sounds good. Trying to make an informed decision is not so easy now a days. It seems like the more I learn, the less I know... rolleyes.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2013, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Compared to class AB ampfliers, class D amplifiers use less power and run cooler, but apparently cost more to make. That is assuming the goal is to make a class D equivilent in quality to a decent class AB amp. Cheap class D amplifiers are used in certain low end equipment where size and low power usage is important, but sound quality is not.
Old 02-26-2013, 11:59 AM

Liked: 11
I just did an A/B comparison of my Onkyo TX-NR 809 receiver and a newly aquired Pioneer SC-1222-K. Well........the Onkyo (that I just bought 3 months ago) is going to eBay or Craigslist today. The power, clean sound and clarity is unmatched in "class A/B" amps to my ears. I've always loved "class D", and finally Pioneer comes along and does it right.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)