Onkyo 809 question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-26-2013, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got in my new Onkyo 809 receiver.. I noticed in the pre outs, there are actually 3 subwoofer pre outs. two together, and one right below the "center" pre out.. Just curious, if you plugged three subs into these 3 spots, would it work? Or is the 3rd one for something seperate, like a different zone or something? Thanks for the help in advance! biggrin.gif
NickThatStands is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 02-26-2013, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 772
the two sub preouts are on the far right of the portion of the rear panel labeled "preouts". the other input labeled "subwoofer" in the portion of the rear panel labeled BD/DVD is for analog 7.1 inputs.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #3 of 18 Old 02-27-2013, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks. one other question, i was digging through the manual and noticed something.. If i plug in my front left/right using the pre-outs (i have a seperate amp for the front left/right), do i have to go into a menu and turn off output to those spots on the receiver? Like since i use the pre-outs for the front left/right, should i turn off output to the front left/right spots? I just noticed it said something like that in the manual, but it doesnt give much detail, so i want to double check that ill have it right.

Thanks again
NickThatStands is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 02-27-2013, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickThatStands View Post

thanks. one other question, i was digging through the manual and noticed something.. If i plug in my front left/right using the pre-outs (i have a seperate amp for the front left/right), do i have to go into a menu and turn off output to those spots on the receiver? Like since i use the pre-outs for the front left/right, should i turn off output to the front left/right spots? I just noticed it said something like that in the manual, but it doesnt give much detail, so i want to double check that ill have it right.

Thanks again

As far as I know both the speaker outs and the preouts are active at the same time. when i added my amp i didn't have to tell the onkyo anything, it just sent the signal out of the preouts to the amp no problem.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #5 of 18 Old 02-27-2013, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
"Connecting a Power Amplifier
If you want to use a more powerful power amplifier, you
can use the AV receiver as a preamp. Connect all speaker
outputs to the power amplifier. See the manuals supplied
with your amplifier for details.
Note
*1 Specify “None” for any channel that you don’t want to output
(➔ page 48).
SB···Surround Back, FH···Front High, FW···Front Wide"

Thats page 15 of the manual.. where it says specify none for any channel that you dont want ouput. i thought that might have had to do with it.
NickThatStands is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 02-27-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickThatStands View Post

"Connecting a Power Amplifier
If you want to use a more powerful power amplifier, you
can use the AV receiver as a preamp. Connect all speaker
outputs to the power amplifier. See the manuals supplied
with your amplifier for details.
Note
*1 Specify “None” for any channel that you don’t want to output
(➔ page 48).
SB···Surround Back, FH···Front High, FW···Front Wide"

Thats page 15 of the manual.. where it says specify none for any channel that you dont want ouput. i thought that might have had to do with it.

ahh...that is only referring to surround back, wides or heights. the onkyo can only process one of these speakers at a time. it does not affect the speakers in a traditional 5.1 set up. I run 5.1 + wides and I do have to tell it that I am not running rears or heights.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #7 of 18 Old 02-27-2013, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
NickThatStands is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 02-27-2013, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
67Jason,
Can you tell me how far apart your wides are from the front mains and at what angle to the listing area=couch etc ? I tried looking at the Audyssey info,drawings and then became more confused.
My wides are set up but I don't think they are at the correct spots.
Thanks
Ray77085 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 02-28-2013, 03:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray77085 View Post

67Jason,
Can you tell me how far apart your wides are from the front mains and at what angle to the listing area=couch etc ? I tried looking at the Audyssey info,drawings and then became more confused.
My wides are set up but I don't think they are at the correct spots.
Thanks

My wides are just about 2 feet 9 inches from my mains and are at about a 52-55 degree angle from my listening position...audyssey i think recommends a 60 degree angle, and I got as close as i could considering my room constraints. my wides are also slightly forward of my mains in an arc...about 6 inches or so and angled to the main listening position as well.

I have tried heights before and like them using PLIIz but not dsx. wides with dsx are awesome in my opnion. someday i want to try wides and heights at the same time...need a new receiver though to do that.

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #10 of 18 Old 02-28-2013, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post

My wides are just about 2 feet 9 inches from my mains and are at about a 52-55 degree angle from my listening position...audyssey i think recommends a 60 degree angle, and I got as close as i could considering my room constraints. my wides are also slightly forward of my mains in an arc...about 6 inches or so and angled to the main listening position as well.

I have tried heights before and like them using PLIIz but not dsx. wides with dsx are awesome in my opnion. someday i want to try wides and heights at the same time...need a new receiver though to do that.

Ok great !!!
How do you measure for the 52-55 degree angle ? What measuring device do I need ?
To the OP sorry not trying to high jack your thread....
Thanks
Ray77085 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 02-28-2013, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray77085 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post

My wides are just about 2 feet 9 inches from my mains and are at about a 52-55 degree angle from my listening position...audyssey i think recommends a 60 degree angle, and I got as close as i could considering my room constraints. my wides are also slightly forward of my mains in an arc...about 6 inches or so and angled to the main listening position as well.

I have tried heights before and like them using PLIIz but not dsx. wides with dsx are awesome in my opnion. someday i want to try wides and heights at the same time...need a new receiver though to do that.

Ok great !!!
How do you measure for the 52-55 degree angle ? What measuring device do I need ?
To the OP sorry not trying to high jack your thread....
Thanks

a protractor and a piece of string or wire. wink.gif

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #12 of 18 Old 03-01-2013, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No problem, i got what i needed to know. And Im kind of a beginner, so i like to read everyone else's questions and responses anyways. Knowledge is power
NickThatStands is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 03-01-2013, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post

a protractor and a piece of string or wire. wink.gif

Good...
I'll grab a protractor and some string to see how close mine are to the recommended 60- degrees. Right now the front wides are about 36" apart from the mains. The distance is about 12' from the listing spot on the wides and the mains are about 15'. I have the wides angled at the listing sweet spot eyeballed only....biggrin.gif

Thanks for the info......
Ray77085 is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 03-01-2013, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray77085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickThatStands View Post

No problem, i got what i needed to know. And Im kind of a beginner, so i like to read everyone else's questions and responses anyways. Knowledge is power

Yes indeed !!!
The 809 is a beast and I'm still learning what it can do and thus far I'm very pleased with it. biggrin.gif
Thanks for posting questions about your 809. This is how we all learn......
Ray77085 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 03-04-2013, 04:56 PM
Member
 
jlm86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking hard at 809 now, $599 on Amazon...
Can you give me your quick pros/cons on this unit please if you would...

I have a 706 that is failing on HDMI board, so i'm needing something soon.
And, remote control must be wife-friendly.....

best of luck.
jlm86 is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 03-05-2013, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I like it. Im about to return mine, because im pretty sure the pre-outs for the front left/right are messed up on it. other than that, its pretty good. Its massive, but then again, i dont know how big your 706 is. Its got plenty of connections, and the usual onkyo layout. Let me know if there is anything specific you want to know about it. Like i said, Mine has the one isssue, but im hoping amazon will resolve it promptly. I ended up catching it at $530, and i was happy with that.
NickThatStands is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 03-05-2013, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 772
^^ NIck, whats wrong with your pre-outs?

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
LOL!
Why you wouldn't want to join this forum
67jason is online now  
post #18 of 18 Old 03-05-2013, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NickThatStands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I plugged my amp into the front left/right spots and its just a loud hum (not like a little interference, but like it out does the actual sound), and the volume goes in and out and jumps up and down. I hooked up everything and excluded the receiver, and it works fine. I hooked everything up and plugged one of the speakers thats plugged into the amp, into the center channel pre-out, and it played. i tried each part in between, and it all works, except when i plug into the left/right re-outs. Its the only thing i could think of.. I know someone mentioned it could be a ground problem, but i took all there advice and i dont see how. All i did was hook my sysytem i already had in place, into the receiver, and it isnt working properly. When i hook any speaker up to the regular binding posts on the back of the receiver, they work fine, too.
NickThatStands is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off