Explain how to hook up an Arc receiver to a non Arc Hdtv using splitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbdog18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please tell me how to hook up a non arc hdtv to an arc receiver using an hdmi switcher or splitter? Will doing so allow me to play the tv in surround sound 5.1/7.1/7.2?
jbdog18 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
JD in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I'm not sure I understand.

Typically, unless something in the signal path does not work, you'd do source (blu-ray player) --HDMI--> Receiver --HDMI--> Television

ARC would only be needed to get sound from the TV (say, if your cable box is plugged into the TV, or you use an OTA antenna) to the receiver.

JD in NJ is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbdog18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would be using the sony kdl40ex640 and the sony strdn1030.
jbdog18 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbdog18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to be able to play the cable tv audio through the receiver.
jbdog18 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
GaryWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not at all. The only reason for ARC is to get sound from the TV, but it doesn't mean that if one device is incompatible that everything else won't work.
GaryWA is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 123
If your receiver has HDMI inputs that process audio, there's no need for ARC. Like JD posted above, use HDMI connections and go cable box to AVR and AVR to TV.
BIslander is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-26-2013, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
JD in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdog18 View Post

I want to be able to play the cable tv audio through the receiver.

If using HDMI from your cable box to the receiver and then to the TV works, then you'll get cable TV audio through the receiver.

If, as is sometimes the case, HDMI fails to operate reliably, then you might need to fall back on plugging it directly into the TV and routing audio differently. This could be from the television either via ARC or optical or coaxial SPDIF. It could also possibly be from an SPDIF or other audio output on the cable box plugged separately into the AVR. It's a matter of finding what works best with your particular setup.

Be aware that the kind of lossless mutlichannel audio streams supported by Blu-Ray will not 'fit' into SPDIF, but Dolby Digital will, which is as much as you probably get via cable.

JD in NJ is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off