Anybody listened to Crown Drivecore xls 2000 and 2500 amps for 2 channel main speaker listening,versus a so called high end home amp. - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 192 Old 12-15-2015, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,342
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4171 Post(s)
Liked: 4054
[quote=red71rum;39763674]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Well I don't believe that I can change the preout voltage level of my avr, it is fixed. Now on say a Onkyo M282 that I have connected, it has a sensitivity control on that and it is set to max.
You could use a bump box like an ART Clean Box, some do with low pre-out levels. How big a difference is/was it between the Crown at full gain vs the M282?
red71rum likes this.
lovinthehd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 192 Old 12-15-2015, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
red71rum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 18
[quote=lovinthehd;39765298]
Quote:
Originally Posted by red71rum View Post

You could use a bump box like an ART Clean Box, some do with low pre-out levels. How big a difference is/was it between the Crown at full gain vs the M282?
I wish had known about the ART Clean Box at the time. Well I listen it was pretty big, although I got the M282 long after. I do remember having to crank the volume to something which normally would be uncomfortable with the reguar avr amp, I think -18 for just regular tv viewing. With the M282 I have the master volume at -33. I also added an AudioSource Amp 3 for my 4ohm AR 312HO's and that worked great also. I think the Art Clean box would have resolved the problem, but my wife would have not liked the added expenditure. She does not understand why I upgrade these things and is happy with the lame soundbar downstairs: )

Xbox LIVE gamertag: red71rum
red71rum is offline  
post #183 of 192 Old 12-15-2015, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,342
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4171 Post(s)
Liked: 4054
[quote=red71rum;39765666]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

I wish had known about the ART Clean Box at the time. Well I listen it was pretty big, although I got the M282 long after. I do remember having to crank the volume to something which normally would be uncomfortable with the reguar avr amp, I think -18 for just regular tv viewing. With the M282 I have the master volume at -33. I also added an AudioSource Amp 3 for my 4ohm AR 312HO's and that worked great also. I think the Art Clean box would have resolved the problem, but my wife would have not liked the added expenditure. She does not understand why I upgrade these things and is happy with the lame soundbar downstairs: )
Your master volume control should read the same at the same spls if you calibrate your gear....did you re-run MCACC when you added the external amps?
lovinthehd is online now  
post #184 of 192 Old 12-15-2015, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
red71rum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 18
[quote=lovinthehd;39765954]
Quote:
Originally Posted by red71rum View Post

Your master volume control should read the same at the same spls if you calibrate your gear....did you re-run MCACC when you added the external amps?
Yes, I read that you should always recal when adding a new amp.

Xbox LIVE gamertag: red71rum
red71rum is offline  
post #185 of 192 Old 12-15-2015, 07:07 PM
Member
 
ssmokeyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was wondering two things How is the sq of these amps for klipsch towers and What would u do if u only needed one channel to drive a center channel but want the same power range as the front towers amp?
ssmokeyy is offline  
post #186 of 192 Old 12-16-2015, 02:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmokeyy View Post
I was wondering two things How is the sq of these amps for klipsch towers and
Not sure about SQ as i believe all amps sound the same but what i think you'll be more worried about is the hiss. Depending on how sensitive your Klipsch towers are the hiss might be more pronounced (> 93db). I have 90db sensitive towers running with XLS 1500 and i don't hear the hiss unless i am standing in front of the speakers with my ear to the tweeter.

Quote:
What would u do if u only needed one channel to drive a center channel but want the same power range as the front towers amp?
Unfortunately you'll have to use only one channel from the amp unless you want to bi-wire/bi- amp your center channel (assuming your speakers can be bi-amped or you believe that bi-amping/biwiring makes a difference). Alternatively you can get a 3 channel amp for your LCR and you wouldn't have to worry about the hiss but they are way more expensive than pro amps.

Living Room: Marantz AV7702, (1)Crown XLS1500 & (5)Crown XLS1000. Mains- Rti 12, Center- CSi5, SR- Rti 8, SBR- 75t, Atmos- 620-RT(4), BIC F12, PJ-Benq HT1075, Elite Screen 106",Bluray-LG BP550 & BP440, Fire TV, DSTV HD PVR, Wii U, Darbee DVP-5000s
Bedroom:Marantz SR5009, Mains-Klipsch R-14M Monitor, Sub-Monoprice 8", TV-LG55LB7200, Bluray-iVid BD780, WDTV, Sennheiser RS170, DSTV HD, QNAP TS-269-Pro.
Lounge: TV-VIZIO E500i-B1, Soundbar-LG NB3530, Wii.
shyyour is offline  
post #187 of 192 Old 12-16-2015, 06:20 PM
Member
 
ssmokeyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 15
These towers are very sensitive at 97dB @ 2.83V / 1m and my room size is real small. I sit around 4 feet from the towers maxx laying back I'm about 6 feet. Is there any other amps about this price range that work good and don't have a hiss? The normal onkyo and denon amps seem way over priced for what you're getting..
ssmokeyy is offline  
post #188 of 192 Old 12-16-2015, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I love the idea of the XLS amps and their watts/power/weight/heat ratio, but has anyone used them on very high sensitivity pro speakers (~100-103db) like the JBL 3677/3722/4722 or Klipsch 310/325/904? Hearing reports of hiss on even moderate-high sensitivity speakers makes me a little nervous. Any experiences from this group?
Davecraze is online now  
post #189 of 192 Old 12-17-2015, 08:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 15,342
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4171 Post(s)
Liked: 4054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davecraze View Post
I love the idea of the XLS amps and their watts/power/weight/heat ratio, but has anyone used them on very high sensitivity pro speakers (~100-103db) like the JBL 3677/3722/4722 or Klipsch 310/325/904? Hearing reports of hiss on even moderate-high sensitivity speakers makes me a little nervous. Any experiences from this group?
Did you read this thread?
lovinthehd is online now  
post #190 of 192 Old 12-17-2015, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Dont mean to thread jack, but this sorta fits....

Anyone know if there is an undefeatable HPF on the new XLS models?

XLS2502 to be specific?

...some of us just really love bass...

My DIY Subwoofers: This is going to destroy my house...
My Theatre: uniquepattern's asylum

uniquepattern is offline  
post #191 of 192 Old 01-18-2016, 11:52 AM
Member
 
gentlejax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am awaiting delivery of a ART CLEAN BOX today. Wont be able to hook up till I get some XLR cables.


I have 2 amps so what I need to know if if I can split the XLR out from the box into 4 cables so I dont have to have 2 ART boxes ?
gentlejax is offline  
post #192 of 192 Old 01-18-2016, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 9,029
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1534 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Yes.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Polk Audio Speakers Rti 12



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off