A trick with the elite vsx-53 that is not outlined in the manual. I came across it while being curious.. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-01-2013, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Catch-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There is a way you can further personalize the detail capabilities of your receiver with an I PAD.. Would you like to be able to Cut on your TV, VSX52/53 while at the same time have it change the volume preferences, dish channel with the push of one button? I created icons on my ipad that represent the favorite channels of each of my family members. For example, one icon is named Tone's Zone. When I come home from the gym after work every day, i simply hit this icon on my ipad and my receiver cuts on, tv, cuts on, receiver goes to the direct tv source, the cable box selects the sports center channel, reduces the volume to my set preference, all in two seconds..if your interested, message me..
Catch-87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-01-2013, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Why don't you just post it here for all of us to see?wink.gif
You say "cuts on", do you mean turns on? To me "cut" would imply off. Does it wake the receiver from off(standby)?
Thanks,
John
jdcrox is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-01-2013, 10:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
wlhungdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jonesborough, TN
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
not really interested in your 'hack' ... more interested in why you feel so secretive about it. If valid, it could 'potentially' help some people here. Are you looking for personal gain? That doesn't fly here. Free exchange of information, or ,,, go pound sand.

The white zone is for loading, and unloading, only. If you need to load, or unload, please go to the white zone.... you'll love it, it's a way of life.
wlhungdude is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-03-2013, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Catch-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
At John..Sorry about the word cut, even us very educated of people like to use slang once in a while to ensure we are capturing all audiences and individuals of various education levels. I didn't post it on this open forum because Im researching to see if its something Pioneer intended from a capability perspective but failed to include it within the manual or if its something I merely stumbled upon when spending hours toying around with it on my ipad..And, its a great deal of step by step. If i were to post the steps detail for detail and anyone who tried it didnt have any luck, I could get accused of attempting a hack like the super crispy cookie head douche bag in the other reply implied. I'd have to be a jobless, bored, no life having evil jerk of guy to have the time to sit around and invent a way to hack into Pioneer elite systems. .Besides, whats there to gain? A job with the Russian Spy Association?
jjvsx53 likes this.
Catch-87 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-03-2013, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
wlhungdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jonesborough, TN
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
LOL had to add that to my sig. too funny !!!

The white zone is for loading, and unloading, only. If you need to load, or unload, please go to the white zone.... you'll love it, it's a way of life.
wlhungdude is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-03-2013, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
blackangst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hmm. Wondering how all this is done when the ipad isnt RF. I mean, I can control my receiver with Pioneer's app on my android. But the sat box and TV? Are you using some sort or IP controlled relay box?

Edit: Well, this could also be easily done, no hacking involved, for 65 bucks: Harmony Link.
blackangst is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-03-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
budwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
all you need is some form of "control" thru hdmi... it already exist in one form or another (plus some "app" to talk with your receiver). Some good, some not so good. "interoperability" can be a challenge.
budwich is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off