Zone 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-01-2013, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
QMAO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read manuals and looked on this forum but I have failed to find how to turn on zone 2 or 3.

Could someone please explain in detain how to assign zone 2 output to an external amp.

This is for the 3312ca. thanks in advance
QMAO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-01-2013, 06:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
Welcome to AVSForum! smile.gif

Plug in the stereo analog cables into the Zone 2 pre-outs on the 3312CI and into the external amp. Then set Zone 2 to ON and select the non-HDMI source audio to play to Zone 2.





http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread#user_M


Also note there is a dedicated thread for Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's linked in my sig. Review posts #3-6 in that thread for additional helpful information.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-07-2013, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
QMAO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so just an update on trying to get my zone 2 to work.

I have a 3312 with the zone 2 turned on, I am using the USB as the source.

I have the RCA connected to the zone 2 pre outs to an external amp. I have the speakers connected to the external amp with new wire. and still I am not able to get any sound to speakers, but here is the kicker.....I am getting sound out of the surround rears, as I normally use the system as a 7.1 in my main listening area.

Why will my zone 2 not work properly?

I appreciate the help I have received from the knowledgeable people here.
QMAO is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-07-2013, 11:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
So then with AMP ASSIGN set to Zone 2 the USB audio is heard from the Surr Back/Amp Assign speakers, yes? Visually confirm the RCA cables are plugged in to the Zone 2 (and not Zone 3) pre-outs as noted below. Also make sure the external amp is powerd ON as well. If all previous is confirmed, then swap the Zone 2 speakers with the Surr Back speakers to ensure they (as well as the Zone 2 pre-outs) work properly.


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 04:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
QMAO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

So then with AMP ASSIGN set to Zone 2 the USB audio is heard from the Surr Back/Amp Assign speakers, yes? Visually confirm the RCA cables are plugged in to the Zone 2 (and not Zone 3) pre-outs as noted below. Also make sure the external amp is powerd ON as well. If all previous is confirmed, then swap the Zone 2 speakers with the Surr Back speakers to ensure they (as well as the Zone 2 pre-outs) work properly.





Thanks JDSmoothie, Yes I have confirmed that the RCA cables are indeed connected to the Zone 2 preouts. the amp is defiantly powered on. and yes I have made sure Zone 2 speakers are connected and working. I actually did connect to surround backs.

For shits and giggles I swapped RCA to Zone 3 and turned on zone 3 and it was the same. only sound to the surround backs...

I did not think this was going to be this complicated Thanks
QMAO is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 03:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
If the source selected for Zone 2 is playing to the Surr Back speakers with Amp Assign set to Zone 2, then there's no reason the same audio shouldn't also be playing to the Zone 2 pre-outs. Try unplugging the AVR for a few minutes and if still no joy then a microprocessor reset would be your next step, noting you'll want to SAVE the config file to a PC using the Web Control feature (pp. 80-81)first to more easily return to your original confiuration. Also note the following ...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_E10

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off