PCM 2.0 vs HD 5.1 and my new Onkyo Receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 03-03-2013, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll bet this is an easy answer for someone out there. I just got a new Onkyo TX NR414 receiver and pared it with my new Visia E601i-A1 LED T.V. I am learning the ropes. We downloaded "Argo" in HD 5.1 from Amazon Sat night. However, my display was telling me the source was "PCM 2.0". Shouldn't a movie downloaded in HD 5.1play in HD 5.1 on my receiver? The receiver picks up HD 5.1 from my Blu-Ray DVD player. And how about HD 5.1 television broadcast OTA? I'm getting that in PCM 2.0 as well even when supposedly the broadcast is HD 5.1. Excuse my ignorance, I am still learning. Can anyone give me an education? Thanks.

Luke
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-03-2013, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
What device are you using watch Argo on and how do you have it connected to your Onkyo receiver. How you have your TV connected to your receiver?
post #3 of 8 Old 03-04-2013, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the response Ross. I downloaded Argo from Amazon directly to the Visio t.v. via Cat5 cable. The t.v. is connected to the Onkyo receiver via a single HDMI cable using the ARC feature. I am wondering if I should connect the t.v. to the receiver with an optical cable for sound instead of the HDMI. Any thoughts?

Luke
post #4 of 8 Old 03-04-2013, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Many Vizio TVs have a setting that controls whether the TV outputs stereo or DD 5.1. I'd start by checking that setting.
post #5 of 8 Old 03-04-2013, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter

BIslander, you win the prize! You are correct. I fumbled through the Visio settings and saw that I had it set up to output PCM 2.0. I changed it to Dolby and all is now good with the world! Thank you!

Luke
post #6 of 8 Old 03-04-2013, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member