Denon Amp 1312 + Wii - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
markboro19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I recently bout a Denon Amp which works fine with all HDMIs connected through it. However, I also have a Wii which uses component (red, white and yellow). I can hear the sound but cannot get a picture when I plug the component cables into the back of the amp. My tv is a Samsung LED series 5.

Can anyone give me advice on how to get it work (in simplified terms) please!

Thanks in advance
markboro19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 12:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,458
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1486 Post(s)
Liked: 1617
Welcome to AVSForum! smile.gif

The 1312 does not feature analog --> HDMI video conversion (lowest model with this feature is the 1912) so you must either also connect a "composite" video (yellow) cable from the 1312 to the TV or purchase a Wii2HDMI.

Also note there is a dedicated thread for Denon AVR-XX12 Owners linked in my sig. For more information, refer to posts #3-6 in that thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 12:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
markboro19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. That's what I thought. However, I have connected an additional yellow cable from Monitor out (correct?!) to the tv and still nothing! Any ideas?
markboro19 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 12:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,458
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1486 Post(s)
Liked: 1617
If you are also using the HDMI jack with the same source name as used for the Wii (ie. DVD or SAT/CBL), then it is likely conflicting with the Wii video so unplug that HDMI cable and use another HDMI jack if available, otherwise purchase the Wii2HDMI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
markboro19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply lads. It was plugged in through the v-aux. Think it could be a problem with the tv as when I plug the video component into the tv, it doesn't seem to be recognising it. Think the wii2hdmi is the only option.

Thanks again
markboro19 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-08-2013, 01:38 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,458
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1486 Post(s)
Liked: 1617
Right. If it doesn't work when the Wii is connected directly to the TV, then it's likely a setting on the Wii that is at issue. Get it to work connected to the TV and then it should work connected to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off