cant get tv audio with new denon 1312 receiver and LG Smart TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-08-2013, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tyso143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently I have a new denon reciever connected via high speed hdmi and fibre optic cable to a new denon 1312 receiver and I cant get sound for the life of me. I have selected "External Speakers" on the TV input and the denon is factory default at the moment. Can anybody help?
tyso143 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-08-2013, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
flyingvfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
why the Optical, remove it all you should need is the HDMI, if you want to use optical, then you need to switch the input that Optical is assigned too
flyingvfreak is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-08-2013, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tyso143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok - I have removed optical but this still does not give me the tv audio through the receiver
tyso143 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-08-2013, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Factory defaults probably aren't the right settings. Do your TV and receiver both support Audio Return Channel? If so, are you using an ARC capable port on the TV? Have you enabled HDMI CEC on both devices, which is necessary for ARC to work. Optical is generally easier to configure than ARC. What content are you trying to hear and what device is acquiring that content?
BIslander is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 01:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tyso143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help.

TV definitely supports ARC, im not sure about the Denon 1312 receiver. I am using the ARC port on the TV and I am using the Monitor out port on the receiver. I am trying to hear regular TV station audio through my surround sound. Any other device plugged into the receiver works perfectly on the surround sound (eg Apple TV). It seems like a setting issue on the Denon but my issue is I just cant find it.
tyso143 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 02:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tyso143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so I just realised the Denon 1312 doesnt support ARC. So looks like I am back to the Optical cable from receiver to tv...
tyso143 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 02:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,987
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
Correct. The 1312 is a very basic model with no Setup Wizard, no ARC, no HDMI standby pass through, no HDMI Control, and no Audyssey. It also features a 3.5mm input on the front panel vice USB. If you review post #2 in the Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig, you'll note the 1612 is the lowest model we recommend which does have all of the features listed above.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 123
How do you get your TV signal - by that I mean, is it through the TV tuner or from a set top box?
BIslander is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tyso143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's from the TV tuner
tyso143 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 123
So, run optical from the TV to the AVR, enable the TV's optical output (if needed), and select the correct input on the AVR. You should be good to go.
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tyso143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally found the correct input on the receiver!!! Thanks for the help Bislander!!
tyso143 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-09-2013, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Sure thing. Glad you got it working.
BIslander is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1312 Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off