sub woofer with fronts only? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slreno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a 7.1 setup with a onkyo tx-nr616 i am trying to get when i play music to be able to play my front tower klipsch speakers and svs sub woofer only.. is this possible? if so i cant find it and a little help would be great. klipsch fronts just dont have enough woofer and wanting to add the sub with them.
thanks
steve
slreno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
tsaville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: DFW
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 230
If you're using Pure/Direct mode, the sub isn't used. If you use Stereo mode, the sub will be active.
tsaville is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slreno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok figured it out.. it plays that way in plain stereo.. BUTTT i have to go to the woofer and manually turn it up at the woofer.. you can barely hear it. cranked at the receiver and at the woofer! but if i go back to all channel stereo it is loud as heck! (the woofer i mean)
slreno is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 01:16 PM
Member
 
nodnerb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
On my yamaha, I have to have my front speakers set to small for my sub to be active under all stereo circumstances. Maybe it's the same?
nodnerb is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Louquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
You really don't want to use the gain knob on your sub as a volume knob. That can damage your sub. If you want a little more output from your sub then you need to adjust the gain setting in your receiver's options, not on the sub itself. Many people have blown their subs by using the gain knob as a volume knob.

Louquid is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slreno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i dont have have small or large.. i have hz settings..
slreno is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-11-2013, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Onkyos don't use Small/Large terminology. Rather, the act of setting the crossover level engages bass management. So, if you haven't set a crossover, the receiver isn't going to send anything to the sub except what's in the .1 LFE channel, which doesn't exist with stereo sources.
BIslander is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-16-2013, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slreno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is the woofer supposed to be louder in the all channel stereo mode then plain stereo mode? because its like the woofer volume is cut to a 1/4 if i select stereo.. is this because i ran audysy with the surrounds? how to fix this so woofer is nice and loud when in stereo only? yes i have crossover set to 120 hz in receiver
slreno is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Louquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by slreno View Post

is the woofer supposed to be louder in the all channel stereo mode then plain stereo mode? because its like the woofer volume is cut to a 1/4 if i select stereo.. is this because i ran audysy with the surrounds? how to fix this so woofer is nice and loud when in stereo only? yes i have crossover set to 120 hz in receiver

Perhaps your receiver has "Stereo" setup as only the fronts with no sub. Basically 2.0 stereo. My Denon doesn't have this set by default, but I can set it up this way.

Louquid is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-16-2013, 11:52 AM
Member
 
tristan82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto, ontario
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have your crossover set to 120hz may I ask what speakers you are using cuz I have kef q700 in the front and q300 as surrounds and I have my crossover at 80 but I don't own a sub yet or a center channel
tristan82 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off