Denon AVR-2807 volume clips (mutes) for no reason - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-20-2013, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
navidband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have a Denon AVR-2807 and, often times, while watching video from my TiVo Premiere connected with HDMI, the volume on this source clips, but video remains. Sometimes a power cycle fixes it, sometimes it doesn't.
Have ruled out the TiVo and the second zone is off when this happens.
Any clue what might be the source of this problem?
Really annoying. Please help!
navidband is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-21-2013, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15362 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
If it's connected via HDMI, could be another HDMI handshake issue which is generally resolved by connecting the HDMI directly to the TV with optical from the TiVo to the AVR. Or with no video problems, you could simply add an optical cable from the TiVo to the AVR and change the INPUT MODE to DIGITAL (ensuring both inputs are assigned to the same source name).
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-21-2013, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cocati, CA
Posts: 11,277
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by navidband View Post

Have a Denon AVR-2807 and, often times, while watching video from my TiVo Premiere connected with HDMI, the volume on this source clips, but video remains. Sometimes a power cycle fixes it, sometimes it doesn't.
Have ruled out the TiVo and the second zone is off when this happens.
Any clue what might be the source of this problem?
Really annoying. Please help!

Before throwing things overboard...
Make sure each component has the latest firmware updates installed.
Also you might try the following order of powering up the system components..
1. The HD video display
2. The AVR
3. The source components


Just my $0..02... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 03-23-2013, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
navidband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To make matters worse, now there is not even any volume control; so when I turn the volume dial, the display doesn't even register the command and nothing happens! Looks like a goner.
navidband is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-23-2013, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15362 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
See if either unplugging the AVR for a few minutes or a microprocessor reset (p. 42 OM) will resolve the issue.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2807 A V Surround Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off