Pioneer sc1522 at Costco - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 64 Old 03-22-2013, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
french_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I've just seen that receiver which seems a "beast" for $599 at Costco (very heavy = good power supply, tons of options, etc...)
But surprisingly, I do not find to many reviews about it....!!!

Is it a good pick for that price?
french_guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 64 Old 03-22-2013, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 78
That sounds like a great deal. I just paid $1000 for the SC-1522-K at Amazon. You'll find reviews and comment if you look using model numbers of what appear to be equivalent devices (except for cosmetics and perhaps warranty): SC-1527-K (in Canada), SC-65 (Elite model).

Greg Lee
GregLee is online now  
post #3 of 64 Old 03-22-2013, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ferrari fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you sure it's the SC-1522 ? Amazon sells it for $1,125.54 http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-SC-1522-K-Channel-Network-Receiver/dp/B0083C8AWW

If it's the same one that's on Amazon, then I'd say get it. Sounds like a great deal. Which Costco by the way as all stores do not carry everything.


Here is a link to a posting here at AVS that may help also. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1461306/pioneer-sc-1522-k-anybody-own-this-does-it-exist
ferrari fan is offline  
post #4 of 64 Old 03-25-2013, 09:08 PM
Member
 
fishhead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post

Hello

I've just seen that receiver which seems a "beast" for $599 at Costco (very heavy = good power supply, tons of options, etc...)
But surprisingly, I do not find to many reviews about it....!!!

Is it a good pick for that price?

totally sold out in NYC mad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gif

they even sold the floor model for $300 about 10 minutes befor i got there frown.gifmad.gif

story of my life....
fishhead90 is offline  
post #5 of 64 Old 03-25-2013, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrEastSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Costco does this a lot. They get a bulk of receivers from somewhere and sell them for like, half off or more. They were selling the Pioneer Elite SC-35 for $750 a little over a year ago. That was a $1,600 dollar receiver at full MSRP.

Quote:
Of course, I got it modified with the TK-427, which cheeks it up another, maybe, 3 or 4 quads per channel.
MrEastSide is online now  
post #6 of 64 Old 03-26-2013, 09:28 PM
Member
 
BlakRam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St Louis, MO (St Peters)
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, it's the sc1522. You can also have them check and see which buildings carry it...any U.S. location.
BlakRam is offline  
post #7 of 64 Old 03-26-2013, 09:28 PM
Member
 
BlakRam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St Louis, MO (St Peters)
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, it's the sc1522. You can also have them check and see which buildings carry it...any U.S. location.
BlakRam is offline  
post #8 of 64 Old 03-27-2013, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yes seems they carry an item then have to sell out of before they can carry the next item. The once closest to me still has Yamaha Receivers so until they sell out of that they won't carry the Pioneer one but a few other local ones have them in stock. Might be getting one of these to replace my sc-25 mainly to the better audio playback support it has.

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cburbs is offline  
post #9 of 64 Old 03-28-2013, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Well, I went to Costco located in the North side of Fresno CA, and I bought myself a SC-1522-K, which will be replacing my SC-1222-K. I finally finished hooking everything up and completed the TV Stand as well. I had to re-arrange my cables, and had to remake some of my Cat6 cables due to some being too long and others being too short. I am very happy with both the TV Stand and the SC-1522-K. I'm currently going to download and upgrade the firmware on the 1522. I turned it on, and it works with my Dune D1 and all my other devices biggrin.gif

I will be returning the 1222 to newegg.com tomorrow. Here are some pictures...excuse my mess! I'm sorry about the pictures being so granny. I took them with my phone!




The 1222 is on the left, and the 1522 on the right. They are identical.



Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #10 of 64 Old 03-28-2013, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishhead90 View Post

totally sold out in NYC mad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gifeek.gif

they even sold the floor model for $300 about 10 minutes befor i got there frown.gifmad.gif

story of my life....

If you can make it out to Long Island, the Westbury Costco has them in stock.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dharel is offline  
post #11 of 64 Old 03-28-2013, 06:12 AM
Member
 
fishhead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharel View Post

If you can make it out to Long Island, the Westbury Costco has them in stock.

On it!! It's a hell of a trip but totally worth It for this beast!!!
fishhead90 is offline  
post #12 of 64 Old 03-28-2013, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
The CostCo in north Fresno, CA got the about 30 of them 2 weeks ago. Now, they only got 8 left.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #13 of 64 Old 03-29-2013, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
toolbox875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharel View Post

If you can make it out to Long Island, the Westbury Costco has them in stock.

Just bought one at Westbury , NY Costco. They have about 6 on the sales floor
toolbox875 is offline  
post #14 of 64 Old 03-29-2013, 06:38 AM
Member
 
BlakRam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St Louis, MO (St Peters)
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

The CostCo in north Fresno, CA got the about 30 of them 2 weeks ago. Now, they only got 8 left.
I was born and raised in Fresno...Clovis. Anyway, my Costco has some coming in the first part of April. It will be replacing my 1122 that I just purchased last month.
BlakRam is offline  
post #15 of 64 Old 03-29-2013, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakRam View Post

I was born and raised in Fresno...Clovis. Anyway, my Costco has some coming in the first part of April. It will be replacing my 1122 that I just purchased last month.

I used to live in San Jose and moved to Visalia Ca. I don't miss the Bay Area traffic 😋

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #16 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 08:30 AM
Member
 
WCunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Northwest Indiana and our Costco in Merrillville doesn't have them. I looked online and it doesn't show up there either. Could this only be available in certain regions?
WCunha is offline  
post #17 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 09:05 AM
Member
 
masterslacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got one at the Gaithersburg, MD Costco yesterday and they had about 15. The Costco in Beltsville, MD didn't have any. I would try a couple of Costco's in your area if you're looking for one.
masterslacker is offline  
post #18 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 09:08 AM
Member
 
WCunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll probably call tomorrow to a some stores in the Chicago area.
WCunha is offline  
post #19 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was lucky to pick one up at the Norwalk CT store yesterday.

They had 2 left.
bad1550 is online now  
post #20 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 10:22 AM
Member
 
RastaManMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Well, I went to Costco located in the North side of Fresno CA, and I bought myself a SC-1522-K, which will be replacing my SC-1222-K. I finally finished hooking everything up and completed the TV Stand as well. I had to re-arrange my cables, and had to remake some of my Cat6 cables due to some being too long and others being too short. I am very happy with both the TV Stand and the SC-1522-K. I'm currently going to download and upgrade the firmware on the 1522. I turned it on, and it works with my Dune D1 and all my other devices biggrin.gif

I will be returning the 1222 to newegg.com tomorrow. Here are some pictures...excuse my mess! I'm sorry about the pictures being so granny. I took them with my phone!




The 1222 is on the left, and the 1522 on the right. They are identical.



Might I ask why the upgrade? Was there a critical feature missing on the SC-1222K? Can you give some initial impressions on sound quality? Thinking of grabbing the SC-1222K since it seems like it has everything I need and more than enough power for a bit less. Def. don't need dual HDMI out.
RastaManMax is online now  
post #21 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
The on feature I really wanted was 12v trigger for external amp. The 1222 doesn't have any, but the 1522 does. The icing on the cake is dual out HDMI, 9.2 and a little bit more power. To me it sounds better and it had a few more options for calibration, which I have got no idea how to use. I would go with the 1522 if you can afford it. It's well worth it.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #22 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,907
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Someone else also posted the 1222 lacks the OSD which is a deal beaker for him because the AVR is in a closet. 1522 does have OSD.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #23 of 64 Old 03-31-2013, 01:51 PM
Member
 
TheSchlaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is the thread from Slick Deals about the receiver. You may be able to ask if a specific store has stock in your area:

http://slickdeals.net/f/5927446-Pioneer-SC-1522-K-9-2-Channel-Network-Ready-AV-Receiver-599-99-Costco-in-store-only-YMMV

TheSchlaf is offline  
post #24 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 12:17 PM
Member
 
rjih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those in the Atlanta area that would like to purchase this receiver, the Town Center Costco on Barrett Pkwy has 16, let me change that to 15 since I just purchased one, SC-1522-k receivers in stock. Call the store closest to you to check availability. The Cumberland Costco on Cobb Pkwy did not have any in stock.
rjih is offline  
post #25 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
spacecowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in the ATL and I got mine from Mall of GA Costco.

"Excuse me...What does God need with a Starship?" (Captain Kirk - Star Trek V: The Final Frontier)
spacecowboy is offline  
post #26 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 01:43 PM
Member
 
WCunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picking mine up tonight. I have to drive an hour and half to get it but it seems like such a good deal not pick it up now.
WCunha is offline  
post #27 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Does anyone know how to enable the optical out signal from the receiver?

Thanks

RC-64 Center, RF-7 Fronts, RF-82 Sides, RW-12D, QTY=2, RSW-15, RS-52ii Rears, Pioneer SC-1522-K, Panasonic 65VT60, 65"
jugger is offline  
post #28 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 09:57 PM
Member
 
zhelder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This deal was just too tempting for me. I bought a Yamaha RX-V867 and an Aventage RX-A1000 about a year and a half ago on clearance at Best Buy, and those receivers could have easily lasted me another five years. I was hoping to get a RX-A2010 a few months ago for the $600 or so that it was on clearance for in 2011, but the clearance deals were not as good this year. And then this beast, which seems to be very comparable to the Aventage RX-A2000/2010/2020 series, comes along. So, I signed up for a Costco membership for the first time ever and grabbed one. The RX-A1000 is going to go into my basement, and the 867 will likely be sold.

So far I like the unit, but the biggest quirk I'm noticing is the bizarre labeling of the HDMI inputs. I changed some of the input names to restore my sanity a bit, but I'm trying to figure out how to set this up with a Harmony One and/or 900. I have a DVD player hooked up to HDMI 4, which is labeled "VIDEO". But there's no VIDEO selection on the unit's base remote. In the Harmony software, there's not even an option to select VIDEO or HDMI 4. Any ideas here on how to solve this and possibly make things make a little more sense with all of the inputs?

Also, another thing I'm noticing is volume sometimes differs quite a bit from difference sources. (I almost blew out the walls testing out Airplay before. Thank goodness the song was an ABBA song and not one from Slayer.) I know there's a level control setting, but does selecting this cancel out Dolby Surround settings? Is there another way to solve this problem?

Thanks for any help and info.

P.S. Does anyone else have experience with both Pioneer and Yamaha receivers? I'm curious to know what others think about how they compare.
zhelder is offline  
post #29 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrEastSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

The on feature I really wanted was 12v trigger for external amp. The 1222 doesn't have any, but the 1522 does. The icing on the cake is dual out HDMI, 9.2 and a little bit more power. To me it sounds better and it had a few more options for calibration, which I have got no idea how to use. I would go with the 1522 if you can afford it. It's well worth it.

I can assure you, there is no audible difference between the 1222 and 1522. Identical amp and power sections. Any perceived difference is a placebo.

Quote:
Of course, I got it modified with the TK-427, which cheeks it up another, maybe, 3 or 4 quads per channel.
MrEastSide is online now  
post #30 of 64 Old 04-01-2013, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrEastSide View Post

I can assure you, there is no audible difference between the 1222 and 1522. Identical amp and power sections. Any perceived difference is a placebo.

Placebo or not, it sounds better 😋

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1522k 9 2 Channel Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - 1522k by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off