Looking for the right A/V Receiver - AVS Forum
Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Looking for the right A/V Receiver
upod21's Avatar upod21 07:35 PM 03-23-2013
I'm a novice when it comes to A/V receivers, yet after reading reviews and posts about all the different ones available I've become more lost than when I originally started out. From reading all the threads I'm seeing the most popular manufactures are Danon, Yamaha, and Onkyo for A/V receivers, so naturally that's where the research started. I started leaning towards Danon, however I noticed that some people have had problems with customer service when the receivers started to fail, and how they use 3rd party parts for repairs. With Yamaha and Onkyo I've noticed that some people had failures of the HDMI boards within a year of purchase, and other issues. What should I do?

I'm looking for a receiver that will be used mostly for movies and gaming while staying under $600.

Please understand I'm not trying to insult anyones favorite brand from my findings.

bladerunner6's Avatar bladerunner6 07:39 PM 03-23-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by upod21 View Post

I'm a novice when it comes to A/V receivers, yet after reading reviews and posts about all the different ones available I've become more lost than when I originally started out. From reading all the threads I'm seeing the most popular manufactures are Danon, Yamaha, and Onkyo for A/V receivers, so naturally that's where the research started. I started leaning towards Danon, however I noticed that some people have had problems with customer service when the receivers started to fail, and how they use 3rd party parts for repairs. With Yamaha and Onkyo I've noticed that some people had failures of the HDMI boards within a year of purchase, and other issues. What should I do?

I'm looking for a receiver that will be used mostly for movies and gaming while staying under $600.

Please understand I'm not trying to insult anyones favorite brand from my findings.