Audio and video drops - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-25-2013, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
isagreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am sure this has been disscussed before.
My Denon AVR-2113Ci drops audio and video signal from my cable box for a second.
HDMI control is on.

Any ideas?
Thanks
isagreg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-25-2013, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
isagreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
bump
isagreg is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-25-2013, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
isagreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will be more specific:

I hooked up Denon AVR-2113Ci to Panasonic G25.
The HDMI Control is On on AVR to activate Standby Pass Through.
Once in a while the sound and picture drops out for a second then comes back again, very annoing.

I found this, I don't know if it is relevant though:
http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/439/kw/drop%20out/session/L3RpbWUvMTM2NDIzNjMyOS9zaWQvdWFoYnAzbWw%3D

It suggests to disable the TV's CEC option. Where do I find that?
There are VIERA Link settings...

Thanks in advance
isagreg is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-25-2013, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,555
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 587
I don't have any experience with pass-through functionality, as my receiver doesn't have it, but according to this infopage by Batpig, VieraLink is Panasonic's name for CEC, so that's probably what you want to disable.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-25-2013, 06:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1990 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_L11

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-25-2013, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
isagreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks,

So you think it is a handshake problem?
I had the issue only when the AVR is off, that is when it passes the signal through.

I disabled VieraLink, we'll see how it goes.

If it doesn't help what options do I have?
One is connecting the box directly to the TV with HDMI for picture and optical to AVR for sound.
What else?
isagreg is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-26-2013, 04:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1990 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Component video/optical from the box to the AVR.

Also note there is a thread dedicated to Denon AVR-XX13 Owner's linked in my sig. Review posts #3-6 for additional helpful information.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-26-2013, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
isagreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What will I loose if I connect the box directly to the TV?
Doesn't component have worse picture quality than HDMI?
I remember optical did not support some DD and DTS modes.

Thanks
isagreg is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-26-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 727 Post(s)
Liked: 497
JDS tends to be overly concise, since most of the details are spelled out in the postings that he links to.

Cable boxes tend not to interact well with the HDMI repeaters used in receivers. When they have problems, the best workaround is to connect to the TV using HDMI (if the TV supports it) and to the receiver using S/PDIF digital audio (either optical or digital). No audio capability is lost because it isn't there to begin with. TV and cable channels use either stereo PCM or lossy Dolby Digital audio. They do not use DTS or the lossless Dolby encodings.

The major problem might be lip-sync of the audio. You might have to make adjustments in the TV or the receiver to match the audio or video delays.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off