Marantz SR5007 with Martin Logan setup troubles - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

First off my apologies if I am not posting in the right place and if so mods please feel free to move as needed.

I am a complete newbie and just started to put together a HT system, here's my hardware:

Martin Logan Motion 12's as front speakers
Martin Logan MLT-1 (sub, center, and rear speakers)
Marantz SR5007 AVR

When I initially purchased the system I bought a Yamaha RX-V473 AVR, however at higher volumes the circuit protection would pop and the receiver would shut off. I was told I needed a more powerful receiver, so I returned the Yamaha and bought the above Marantz, however I am still experiencing the circuit protection shut down, further my rear speakers sometimes drop to about half the normal volume. I am using 14 AWG speaker wires with banana plugs on both ends. I purchased a multi meter and checked each wire and speaker for shorts, but all looked good (0.02 ohms for my cables and around 4-5 ohms for my speakers.) I ran each speaker by itself to see if I can recreate the issue again today but during my testing the receiver did not go into protect mode. At this point I am at a loss as to what could be the problem. I was watching Avatar 3D the other day and had to turn up the receiver to around 65 on the volume scale (goes up to 90) and the receiver shut down on me 3 times. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-26-2013, 03:33 AM
585-645-1006

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 769 Post(s)
Liked: 1431
Most AVRs are only designed to power 6-8 ohm (and higher) speakers with the capability to power 4-ohm speakers at only moderate "TV" listening levels. For the louder volume levels you prefer, you'll want to add an external amp (eg. Emotiva XPA-3 or XPA-5).

---------------------------------