Yamaha RX-V 75 Series owners thread - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 224Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
It should be 120 Hz and it is good it is non-adjustable.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 344
^ That's what I've always assumed, but don't know for sure.
PlasmaPZ80U likes this.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #3093 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 02:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,945
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 513
And should the slope be 24dB per octave?
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #3094 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Since there is nobody that thinks it should be tampered with, nor do we think it can be (with most Yamahas at least), why all the interest in something you shouldn't touch?

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".

Last edited by m. zillch; 08-19-2016 at 02:57 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3095 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 02:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,945
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Since there is nobody that thinks it should be tampered with, nor do we thinking it can be (with most Yamahas at least), why all the interest in something you shouldn't touch?
...because when I do sub EQ with REW+UMIK-1+MiniDSP 2x4, having the LFE channel measured response fit the intended target line is important (I want a smooth rolloff at the top end of sub's response for LFE channel that is consistent with the LPF applied via AVR)... and the 375 doesn't do sub EQ, BTW.

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Sony Core Bookshelf (SS-CS5) Side Surrounds, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #3096 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Oh I see, despite the fact that all experts are in universal agreement that it should not be tampered with, under any circumstances, and that the other [non-Yamaha] companies which offer user control over it were dead wrong to have done so, you actually know better. You are on your own kid.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".

Last edited by m. zillch; 08-19-2016 at 02:53 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3097 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,945
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Oh I see, despite the fact that all experts are in universal agreement that it should not be tampered with and that the other [non-Yamaha] companies which offer user control over it were dead wrong to have done so, you actually know better. You are on your own kid.
It seems you have misunderstood what I said entirely... I'm not tampering with it, I'm preserving it.

If I was to use a horizontal, flat line as the target, I would get an uneven and sharp cutoff in the 100Hz to 200Hz region. By having a rolloff in the target line that matches the AVR's LPF for LFE (not an extra or different LPF just a target line for auto generated PEQ filters), I would get a even, smooth rolloff that would be a match to the result I would get with one of Yamaha's better AVRs.

You seem to think my goal is the change the LPFs frequency or slope... if that were true, why would I ask about the LPF the AVR is applying?

...really, give someone the benefit of the doubt before being so harsh.

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Sony Core Bookshelf (SS-CS5) Side Surrounds, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #3098 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Sorry if I was harsh.




I suspect you are mistakenly thinking the LPF of the LFE channel is synonymous with the LPF of your receiver's subwoofer output. As I understand it, these aren't the same thing but boy do they often get confused with each other.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
post #3099 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,945
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Sorry if I was harsh.




I suspect you are mistakenly thinking the LPF of the LFE channel is synonymous with the LPF of your receiver's subwoofer output. As I understand it, these aren't the same thing but boy do they often get confused with each other.
Well, I'm referring to the LPF applied to the LFE channel, not the LPF half of the (bass managed speaker channels') global crossover.

The reason for this is the measurement I take in REW is of the LFE channel and since the AVR is already applying LPF for the LFE channel (albeit fixed and not specified in specs), I want the target line in REW for PEQ filters to match the AVR's LPF for LFE channel corner frequency and slope. While 120Hz is obviously the right frequency, I want to confirm the slope as well as REW offers 12dB per octave and 24dB per octave as choices for the target line. Though when I hover over the setting there is a tool tip that says usually 24dB per octave.

So, I'm thinking 120Hz 24dB per octave are the parameters to input into the REW target line so the end result is an LFE channel response that is ideal. And so the bass managed channels also get improved indirectly as the MiniDSP is applying the filters to the whole signal the sub gets from the AVR.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #3100 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Not sure if this helps, but for nitty gritty detailed specs you might want to sign up for an account here:
http://www.milleraudioresearch.com/avtech/index.html


Here are some screen shots I grabbed for you of another Yamaha receiver they once measured in 2008:
[To make things even more confusing when they say "LFE output" they might actually mean "the subwoofer output", but I'm not sure]


Notice the steep roll off of the LPF. I think this is to ensure you they can push the frequency up pretty high yet we won't accidentally hear male voice from the sub.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 08-19-16 at 03.17 PM.PNG
Views:	43
Size:	12.8 KB
ID:	1612481   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 08-19-16 at 03.20 PM.PNG
Views:	45
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	1612489  

Last edited by m. zillch; 08-19-2016 at 03:38 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3101 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 03:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,945
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Not sure if this helps, but for nitty gritty detailed specs you might want to sign up for an account here:
http://www.milleraudioresearch.com/avtech/index.html


Here are some screen shots I grabbed for you of another Yamaha receiver they once measured in 2008:
[To make things even more confusing when they say "LFE output" they might actually mean "the subwoofer output", but I'm not sure]


Notice the steep roll off of the LPF. I think this is to ensure you they can push your frequency up pretty high yet won't accidentally hear male voice from your sub.
Well, I'll have to read it in more detail but it seems if REW has 2 choices, 24dB per octave is the safer bet.

Regarding that comment about male voices, that is for bass management, right? I don't think they would include any portion of dialogue in the Low Frequency Effects channel... unless maybe it's for an effect like with Batman's voice changer in Batman vs. Superman.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #3102 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Except for bizarre alien or super being scenarios, I can't think of why we'd ever want male voices to come from the sub. Way back before we got calibration mics and computers to figure these things out with better accuracy than we can, a fairly standard test was to crank the sub up until all male voices sounded like Darth Vader, and then slowly turn down the sub level, bit by bit, until only Darth Vader sounded like Darth Vader. That's how you determined sub level!

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
post #3103 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 04:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,945
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Except for bizarre alien or super being scenarios, I can't think of why we'd ever want male voices to come from the sub. Way back before we got calibration mics and computers to figure these things out with better accuracy than we can, a fairly standard test was to crank the sub up until all male voices sounded like Darth Vader, and then slowly turn down the sub level, bit by bit, until only Darth Vader sounded like Darth Vader. That's how you determined sub level!
interesting, I guess voices like the Hulk and the like would qualify as effects instead of dialogue since it is outside the normal vocal range of male voices
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #3104 of 3120 Old 08-19-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Super beings don't count. For all I know they might come at you from all 5.1 speakers simultaneously even though they clearly are visually front and center on screen. . . You know, like God.


You can't use mythical sounds or mythical images to adjust/calibrate audio or video because there is no real-world reference for what is correct and accurate. This is why using cartoon or CGI images to adjust video displays is silly, just like using electronic instruments is for adjusting sound:


"I didn't like Shrek's skin tone at all. It looked off to me, so I adjusted my TV until it was the correct value of green."


is the same as:


"I thought the electric guitar in the Jimi Hendrix song sounded thin and tinny so I tweaked my EQ until it sounded accurate."


What these dumb people don't understand is they are adjusting for an arbitrary level they happen to prefer, not what is necessarily accurate or what the artists intended. Shrek doesn't exist so he doesn't have a true color and that Hendrix guitar has at the very least one if not more rotary tone controls right on the front surface which can give it thousands of different tonalities. Only Jimi knows what setting he used.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
post #3105 of 3120 Old 08-23-2016, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Maybe the Borg in STAR TREK: FIRST CONTACT would qualify for subwoofer voice calibration. All channels, some (lots?) of sub-low register.

But still. Human voices start at what, 3000Hz or so? Maybe lower, like 2000Hz? If you're hearing harmonics of a voice from the sub, look for the name Michael Bay on the disc cover.

So back to the real world ... no one has feedback on the new firmware?
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3106 of 3120 Old 08-23-2016, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Maybe the Borg in STAR TREK: FIRST CONTACT would qualify for subwoofer voice calibration?
Just like there is no such thing as Shrek, so you have no idea what exact shade of green he should be, there's no such thing as Borg, so you don't know what they should sound like. You've never met one in real life.


Sure, you can adjust your system to make these things appear/sound however you personally like, that's indeed what most people errantly do, but you will never be able to prove that your system is more accurate than another because the calibration test tone/image you used is simply a mental construct you've formed in your mind, not a real thing that we've actually experienced in the flesh.


Male voice can range from individual to individual [think Pee-wee Herman vs. James Earl Jones] however this graphic might be of averages:

Of course with processing such as Autotune or even just an equalizer male voices an be adjusted to be even lower, however some (real) male voices can even venture into subwoofer territory, say around 85 Hz or so.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".

Last edited by m. zillch; 08-23-2016 at 08:25 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3107 of 3120 Old 08-23-2016, 03:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15,736
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1922 Post(s)
Liked: 1672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
So back to the real world ... no one has feedback on the new firmware?
My 675 is in the closet. I replaced it with a 740.
ChromeJob likes this.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #3108 of 3120 Old 08-23-2016, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 159
That's where my 663 is....

“What a funny, dirty little mind you have.”
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.

ChromeJob is offline  
post #3109 of 3120 Old 08-29-2016, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
NateDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a tricky question that I wanted to see if anyone could help me out with. I have an RX-V-375 and have recently upgraded my PC with a GeForce 1070 that will be going through HDMI to the receiver then the TV which is a Samsung SUHD JS8500 (4k and HDR). The problem is that when the signal is sent to the AVR first it limits the refresh rate to 30hz in 1440p. In 4k I can get the 60hz but that is just too high for this card to effectively run. I cannot find confirmation that the receiver should support or at least pass through this 1440p signal at 60hz. Does anyone know if I am out of luck with this receiver? My ideal setup would be to have audio and video hit the AVR first through HDMI from the PC to get full quality sound while having the video pass through to the TV at 1440p 60hz.

For now, I have the PC going to the TV directly to get 1440p at 60hz and then audio coming through optical back to the receiver but that leaves me with stereo sound instead of 5.1. I have also tried to use the ARC for audio but couldn't get it to sync. Thanks for any guidance!
NateDM is offline  
post #3110 of 3120 Old 08-29-2016, 06:20 PM
Member
 
rmjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Maybe send video only to the TV and audio only to the AVR?
You could get one of those HDMI splitter boxes that can do this, or you can add a digital audio out to your PC.
This unit might be able to do that:
Behringer UCA202 Audio Interface https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000KW2YEI..._I6nXxb3MEE77Z

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
NateDM likes this.
rmjb is offline  
post #3111 of 3120 Old 08-30-2016, 12:05 PM
Member
 
TonyApuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by NateDM View Post
... My ideal setup would be to have audio and video hit the AVR first through HDMI from the PC to get full quality sound while having the video pass through to the TV at 1440p 60hz...
I was able to get 2560x1600 @ 44hz passing through my rx-v475 from my ancient 8800GTX to my Dell U3011 by creating a custom resolution profile in the nVidia control panel. I would guess you could get 2560x1440 @ 60hz, or close to it with that approach. You will probably need to fiddle with the blanking timing to get an optimized refresh rate.
ChromeJob and NateDM like this.
TonyApuzzo is offline  
post #3112 of 3120 Old 08-31-2016, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
NateDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyApuzzo View Post
I was able to get 2560x1600 @ 44hz passing through my rx-v475 from my ancient 8800GTX to my Dell U3011 by creating a custom resolution profile in the nVidia control panel. I would guess you could get 2560x1440 @ 60hz, or close to it with that approach. You will probably need to fiddle with the blanking timing to get an optimized refresh rate.
Thanks I got it working! Strangely I did try this before posting but it would not display anything when I set the custom resolution to 1440p at 60hz. This time I set it again after having it at 1080p60hz then changed the color mode on the TV to UHD/HDR and changed the output from Nvidia's control panel to CMYK from RGB. Something in that change made the 1440p60hz pass the 'test' in the Nvidia control panel. Seems glitchy but I was able to get it working. Thanks for your help!
NateDM is offline  
post #3113 of 3120 Old 09-08-2016, 02:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by anjenaire View Post
I recently replaced a V467 with a V675. An issue I am having is that on standby through, no audio is coming from the TV speakers (as it did with the V467). Same HDMI cord, same TV different result. In check through the various options, I noticed the display is being shown as DVI:

Attachment 129282

Attachment 129290

Not sure why this is and how I can change this. This is most likely the reason why I have no audio since the receiver perceives a video signal only even though it is connected with an HDMI cable into an HDMI port on the television. Scratching my head. #@$%^& HDCP!
well, I know the post is old and probably no longer relevant for the original poster, but since I faced the same problem today and I found a solution, it is worth to put it here for other people with the same issue. In my case the problem came up after upgrading the my V675 to firmware 1.86. The cause is definitely the fact that the TV (in my case a PS51D8000 by Samsung) is detected as DVI instead of HDMI. I tried all possible settings on both TV and AVR, switched the HDMI cable to all inputs on my TV, did factory resets on both devices, and tried to downgrade the firmware (without success): nothing would fix the issue.
Then I tried to connect another screen to the AVR, and it was correctly detected as HDMI, with passthrough working correctly. I switched back to my Samsung and voila, it is now detected again as HDMI, and audio passthrough is back... even on the HDMI/DVI input on the TV

It looks like the AVR was "stuck" in DVI, and the switch to another screen (actually a PC monitor with HDMi input, go figure) solved the deadlock...

Hope this helps somebody else out there and spares her/him the hours I lost on this silly issue!
klaatu29 is offline  
post #3114 of 3120 Old 09-08-2016, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
music play

Hi,

I have v775 and Android (6.0, non rooted!) phone with Yamaha AV.
I wonder how could I play music saved on my phone via LAN to V775? On android app, there is no icon "music play". Only AirPlay, Spotify, NET Radio, Server.

and next question: How to play music from Deezer App?
I dont have Spotify Premium. Free Spotify do not support streaming unfortunatelly (or?)

thanks
japke is offline  
post #3115 of 3120 Old 09-08-2016, 09:51 AM
Member
 
rmjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by japke View Post
Hi,

I have v775 and Android (6.0, non rooted!) phone with Yamaha AV.
I wonder how could I play music saved on my phone via LAN to V775? On android app, there is no icon "music play". Only AirPlay, Spotify, NET Radio, Server.

and next question: How to play music from Deezer App?
I dont have Spotify Premium. Free Spotify do not support streaming unfortunatelly (or?)

thanks
I have a network capable Yamaha stereo receiver, my Yamaha AVR is not networked, but I'm assuming it is similar.
On the Android app, where you choose your sources you should see an icon at the bottom of the list with the text that represents your phone. Here's how my OnePlus One looks:

This source will let you browse the music on your phone.

I also use Deezer, but Yamaha does not support it natively, so you'll need to connect a Deezer player to one of the inputs. Check http://deezer.com/devices to see what best suits you, I use a Chromecast Audio with great success.

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
rmjb is offline  
post #3116 of 3120 Old 09-08-2016, 11:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I know (from official Yamaha v775 page) that this icon should be there, but on my phone (and also some other samsung phones that i tried) it is not!
I dont know if this is a "country" issue or anything else?

I have my Yamaha v775 reciever connected to Router with LAN cable. I am using AV app for NET radio and everything else. Just the "My Phone" is not there?!?!

thanks...
japke is offline  
post #3117 of 3120 Old 09-09-2016, 03:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15,736
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1922 Post(s)
Liked: 1672
Quote:
Originally Posted by japke View Post
Hi,

I know (from official Yamaha v775 page) that this icon should be there, but on my phone (and also some other samsung phones that i tried) it is not!
I dont know if this is a "country" issue or anything else?

I have my Yamaha v775 reciever connected to Router with LAN cable. I am using AV app for NET radio and everything else. Just the "My Phone" is not there?!?!

thanks...
Call Yamaha.
Bond 007 is online now  
post #3118 of 3120 Old 09-09-2016, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by japke View Post
Hi,

I have v775 and Android (6.0, non rooted!) phone with Yamaha AV.
I wonder how could I play music saved on my phone via LAN to V775? On android app, there is no icon "music play". Only AirPlay, Spotify, NET Radio, Server.

and next question: How to play music from Deezer App?
I dont have Spotify Premium. Free Spotify do not support streaming unfortunatelly (or?)
Go directly to a Chromecast, do not pass GO, do not collect $200. Will work a treat, particularly if using an app that's optimized for Chromecast like Google Play Music.

“What a funny, dirty little mind you have.”
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.

ChromeJob is offline  
post #3119 of 3120 Old 09-21-2016, 07:54 PM
Member
 
rmjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hi guys, was watching Netflix and I noticed my RX-V375 display only said Dolby Digital, no Plus in there.
Is it that it is only receiving a DD signal or that it does not show DD+ at all on the front display?
The source is a slim PS3. From the audio settings it detected that the receiver supports DD5.1, DD+ and True HD.

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
rmjb is offline  
post #3120 of 3120 Old 09-21-2016, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,080
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmjb View Post
Hi guys, was watching Netflix and I noticed my RX-V375 display only said Dolby Digital, no Plus in there.
Is it that it is only receiving a DD signal or that it does not show DD+ at all on the front display?
The source is a slim PS3. From the audio settings it detected that the receiver supports DD5.1, DD+ and True HD.
Hi rmjb, PS3 was fine with DD+ until Netflix recent update to 2.26.
JChin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
a/v receiver , component cables , hdmi , optical audio , Yamaha , Yamaha Rx V375 5 1 Channel Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V575 7 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V675 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V775wa 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off