Yamaha RX-V 75 Series owners thread - Page 107 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 237Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3193 Old 01-05-2017, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Sacc Attack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 28
still sounds like he needs a 2 zone receiver which the 475 is not.

Vizio m55
Yamaha v475
Pioneer Andrew Jones 5.0, BIC F12
PS4, AppleTV, DirecTV
Sacc Attack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3193 Old 01-05-2017, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,272
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1887 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
The red, white, (and yellow) RCA ports labelled "AV Out" on the RXV475 will work just fine to send the [analog sourced] sound to another room either via wire or some outboard wireless relay system. What makes these ports not "Zone 2 Out", as found on higher tier receivers, is that you have no ability to send out a different sound than what the main room is enjoying, nor vary the volume level of these outputs. All volume changes for the secondary zone(s) must be accomplished by other controls on the outboard amps The main room can also leave the volume at zero if you don't want sound there while listening in another room zone.

Last edited by m. zillch; 01-05-2017 at 09:45 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3183 of 3193 Old 01-05-2017, 08:59 PM
Member
 
jaydee77ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I have an RX-V675 and every once in a while it loses its IP address on the network. Has anyone else had this issue? It happens out of the blue. Sometimes it still shows the IP address in the network display in the settings but if I ping the address it doesn't respond and the Yamaha mobile app can't connect to it. Other times the IP address in the settings is blank. I try rebooting the router, unplugging and replugging the network cable, and unplugging and replugging the power to the Yamaha but nothing works. Then a while later it seems to just start working again.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
jaydee77ca is offline  
 
post #3184 of 3193 Old 01-07-2017, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydee77ca View Post
I have an RX-V675 and every once in a while it loses its IP address on the network. Has anyone else had this issue? It happens out of the blue. Sometimes it still shows the IP address in the network display in the settings but if I ping the address it doesn't respond and the Yamaha mobile app can't connect to it. Other times the IP address in the settings is blank. I try rebooting the router, unplugging and replugging the network cable, and unplugging and replugging the power to the Yamaha but nothing works. Then a while later it seems to just start working again.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
With my 775, turning off the Network Standby setting, then powering down, then powering up, resolved streaming and other network issues.

I've had better, longer lasting luck by setting a static IP for the receiver (and set that IP address as reserved on the network router by specifying the 675/775's MAC address). If you don't know how to do this for your router, look it up on dslreports.com, there's a big community there to help. On the 675/775, go into Settings, Network, Ip address, turn DHCP off, program in the static IP you want, the subnet mask, the gateway address (your router's address), and a DNS server for your Internet provider. If you're not so sure about DNS servers, you can use Google's free ones, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.
jaydee77ca likes this.

Hey, folks. A 10-line signature on a post of only 3 lines is a joke. Cut your sigs down to no more than 4 lines, 'kay??
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3185 of 3193 Old 01-12-2017, 09:56 PM
Member
 
jaydee77ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
With my 775, turning off the Network Standby setting, then powering down, then powering up, resolved streaming and other network issues.

I've had better, longer lasting luck by setting a static IP for the receiver (and set that IP address as reserved on the network router by specifying the 675/775's MAC address). If you don't know how to do this for your router, look it up on dslreports.com, there's a big community there to help. On the 675/775, go into Settings, Network, Ip address, turn DHCP off, program in the static IP you want, the subnet mask, the gateway address (your router's address), and a DNS server for your Internet provider. If you're not so sure about DNS servers, you can use Google's free ones, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.
Interesting. I've set mine up like this now. We'll see if it happens again. Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
jaydee77ca is offline  
post #3186 of 3193 Old 01-12-2017, 11:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Temba, his fingers crossed.

Hey, folks. A 10-line signature on a post of only 3 lines is a joke. Cut your sigs down to no more than 4 lines, 'kay??
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3187 of 3193 Old 02-12-2017, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone figured out how to do 4K passthrough on RX-V755? I'm using an android box with Kodi that does 4k, plugged into HDMI 2 on the AVR, then a Sharp 4k TV.. Plugging the Android box directly into the TV 4K works just fine however when I run it through the Yamaha the signal only outputs 1080p.

Googling brings up a solution for other Yamahas involving Advanced Menu/changing the 4K to 'Mode 1' however this unit doesn't seem to have that menu option.

Anyone know the answer here?
gojazz is offline  
post #3188 of 3193 Old 02-12-2017, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by gojazz View Post
Anyone figured out how to do 4K passthrough on RX-V755? I'm using an android box with Kodi that does 4k, plugged into HDMI 2 on the AVR, then a Sharp 4k TV.. Plugging the Android box directly into the TV 4K works just fine however when I run it through the Yamaha the signal only outputs 1080p.



Googling brings up a solution for other Yamahas involving Advanced Menu/changing the 4K to 'Mode 1' however this unit doesn't seem to have that menu option.



Anyone know the answer here?
Welcome to the forums. I don't believe a 755 model will know anything about 4K. This thread is about the RXV-*75 models. Maybe you mistyped, or ... have the wrong model? Your model will be identified on the front display, back label, or On Screen/ Settings menus.

The "Mode 1" option is something found on the later models, due to HDCP 2.2 compatibility. The 775 model like I have is not compatible with 60 Hz scan rates in UHD/4K which depend upon that later standard.


\\ Sent from my mobile device //

Hey, folks. A 10-line signature on a post of only 3 lines is a joke. Cut your sigs down to no more than 4 lines, 'kay??
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3189 of 3193 Old 02-13-2017, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply! Yes I meant 775 - typo! So if I understand correctly our 775 units cannot pass through 4K? Is the only workaround then to plug the video box directly into the tv, then use ARC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
Welcome to the forums. I don't believe a 755 model will know anything about 4K. This thread is about the RXV-*75 models. Maybe you mistyped, or ... have the wrong model? Your model will be identified on the front display, back label, or On Screen/ Settings menus.

The "Mode 1" option is something found on the later models, due to HDCP 2.2 compatibility. The 775 model like I have is not compatible with 60 Hz scan rates in UHD/4K which depend upon that later standard.


\\ Sent from my mobile device //
gojazz is offline  
post #3190 of 3193 Old 02-13-2017, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,272
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1887 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by gojazz View Post
Thanks for the reply! Yes I meant 775 - typo! So if I understand correctly our 775 units cannot pass through 4K? Is the only workaround then to plug the video box directly into the tv, then use ARC?
Some disc players, such as some Oppos, sport two HDMI outs so you can send audio only to your AVR and 4K to your display. [At least I assume. I don't actually have any 4K stuff.]

Every time I see people bring up using ARC it is because they are having a problem with it and the general consensus seems to be "Stop using it."
ChromeJob likes this.
m. zillch is offline  
post #3191 of 3193 Old 02-13-2017, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Some disc players, such as some Oppos, sport two HDMI outs so you can send audio only to your AVR and 4K to your display. [At least I assume. I don't actually have any 4K stuff.]



Every time I see people bring up using ARC it is because they are having a problem with it and the general consensus seems to be "Stop using it."
^ yeah, what he said.

HDMI-ARC is limited to DD and PCM 2.0, and in teh case of my Samsung TV, it has problems transcoding DD+ to DD which should be a breeze. So....

The 775 supports 4k passthrough at, um, 30, 25, 24 fps or so? Check your manual. A later revision of the 4k UHD standard upped the frame rate to 60 fps, in HDCP 2.2 IIRC, and that was finally incorporated with the 779. So ... the answer is, it depends. Older 4k stuff will work fine, but newer 4k stuff will not pass through properly. Kind of a bummer for those of us who thought we were future-proofing our hi-fis.

Like m.zilch, I don't 4k-anything, but I love the web, app features of the 775 -- I'm playing Crowded House from my NAS through the DLNA Server input now, controlling with the Yamaha AV Controller app on my iPad Mini that I'm writing on -- so I'm not too bummed.


\\ Sent from my mobile device //

Hey, folks. A 10-line signature on a post of only 3 lines is a joke. Cut your sigs down to no more than 4 lines, 'kay??
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.
ChromeJob is offline  
post #3192 of 3193 Old Today, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Sea3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Firmware Update Version 1.87

FYI

http://download.yamaha.com/search/de...asset_id=68726

This firmware includes
1. Napster playback bug improvement
ChromeJob likes this.
Sea3 is offline  
post #3193 of 3193 Old Today, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 676 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Geez, hopefully I upgraded for more than that (a service that I don't use, never had used). :-\
ChromeJob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
a/v receiver , component cables , hdmi , optical audio , Yamaha , Yamaha Rx V375 5 1 Channel Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V575 7 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V675 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V775wa 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off