Yamaha RX-V 75 Series owners thread - Page 4 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 04:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmolenaar View Post

I am the recent owner of the RV-V775 but I have two issues:
1:> 3D content redirected via the receiver to my projector does not show any video (sound works fine). Power cycling the BD player makes no difference. Normal content is displayed ok.

Setup: Panasonic DMP-BDT230 (blu-ray drive) connected to my RV-V775, again connected to my Panasonic PTA-8000 projector. All using HQ hdmi 1.4 cables.
Note: When I connect the projector directly to the blu-ray player I have no problems.

2:> The Subwoofer is detected during auto configuration (produces a mild 'woof' sound) but it does not activate when playing music or watching a movie. During configuration I set the volume 100%, the phase on 0% and the cutt off on 100%. Did I go wrong there?

Any help is greatly appreciated
Yes. Set the xover all the way up. Volume at 1/2. Leave phase at 0. Rerun YPAO. You want to keep playing with the sub volume until YPAO sets the sub volume close to 0. Then set ALL speakers to small and set the xover in the 775 to 80.
lmolenaar likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 06:27 AM
Newbie
 
lmolenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Yes. Set the xover all the way up. Volume at 1/2. Leave phase at 0. Rerun YPAO. You want to keep playing with the sub volume until YPAO sets the sub volume close to 0. Then set ALL speakers to small and set the xover in the 775 to 80.

Will try that when I get back home, thanks!
lmolenaar is offline  
post #93 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 07:45 AM
Member
 
NPuter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, quick question. I am contemplating the differences between the 675 and 775. As stated earlier, the 775 is listed as having an "aluminum front panel." What exactly does this mean? Is the front panel "brushed plastic" on the 675 vs "brushed aluminum" on the 775?
Thanks!
NPuter is offline  
post #94 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 08:30 AM
Member
 
bunglebungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, can anyone tell me if the 375 will pass through an HDMI signal while off? I read that last year's 373 doesn't do this (473 does), but this is a feature I would like to have. I tried to look it up but you cannot download manuals from Yamaha's site without an account, which really makes researching more trouble than it should be. I mainly use an HTPC and will probably only be 3.1 so the extra features, including internet content, of higher-end models aren't that important to me.
bunglebungle is offline  
post #95 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
You can create a Yamaha acct without being an owner. Its just as easy as joining AVS.
I dont think the 375 has standby HDMI passthrough.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #96 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPuter View Post

Hey guys, quick question. I am contemplating the differences between the 675 and 775. As stated earlier, the 775 is listed as having an "aluminum front panel." What exactly does this mean? Is the front panel "brushed plastic" on the 675 vs "brushed aluminum" on the 775?
Thanks!
Not sure really but the front panel material is irrelevant to its performance.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #97 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunglebungle View Post

Hi, can anyone tell me if the 375 will pass through an HDMI signal while off? I read that last year's 373 doesn't do this (473 does), but this is a feature I would like to have. I tried to look it up but you cannot download manuals from Yamaha's site without an account, which really makes researching more trouble than it should be. I mainly use an HTPC and will probably only be 3.1 so the extra features, including internet content, of higher-end models aren't that important to me.

It cannot. Same as with the x73 series, they want you to buy the 475 to get HDMI standby pass-through. (The 475 also has a stronger amp section in addition to networking, so you'd be getting that too.)

JBWIII is offline  
post #98 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,836
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPuter View Post

Is the front panel "brushed plastic" on the 675 vs "brushed aluminum" on the 775?

 

Exactly. If you are in no hurry you might want to wait for another close-out sale on the 773 or A820... both have been around or under $500 at times and feature wise the new models sport very few additional features. That is unless one of them happens to be exactly what you are looking for...

Charles R is offline  
post #99 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 09:28 AM
Member
 
bunglebungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. It appears Denon does the same with ARC on the entry-level ones. Pretty annoying.
bunglebungle is offline  
post #100 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 09:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Exactly. If you are in no hurry you might want to wait for another close-out sale on the 773 or A820... both have been around or under $500 at times and feature wise the new models sport very few additional features. That is unless one of them happens to be exactly what you are looking for...
+1

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #101 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 09:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882115377R

This is an open box but a great deal. You still have a return period and Yamaha warranty.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #102 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
lmolenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Yes. Set the xover all the way up. Volume at 1/2. Leave phase at 0. Rerun YPAO. You want to keep playing with the sub volume until YPAO sets the sub volume close to 0. Then set ALL speakers to small and set the xover in the 775 to 80.

Thanks a milion dude, took a while but now the SW level is 0.0 smile.gif Big improvement I can say.

The Crossover is auto set to 110Hz after meassuring, I know you advised setting it to 80hz. What does this tell about my SW?
lmolenaar is offline  
post #103 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmolenaar View Post

Thanks a milion dude, took a while but now the SW level is 0.0 smile.gif Big improvement I can say.

The Crossover is auto set to 110Hz after meassuring, I know you advised setting it to 80hz. What does this tell about my SW?
YW Its more telling of your speakers. It means YPAO doesnt think they handle low frequencies very well. Are they small satellite types?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #104 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 05:01 PM
Member
 
kyzer the medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've been arduously trying to find a good receiver to go in my recently remodeled man cave/football room. With everything I've read here it seems like the 675 might be a good match for me. Thanks for all the info in this thread. I'm obviously looking at about $550 for the receiver. Before I make the purchase can any give some advice if there is something better in the same ball park. I will be doing some 3D, Movies and TV watching as well as gaming (more so when the PS4 hits) and of course NFL Sunday ticket games. I'm going to be pair it with a Polk audio 5.1 speaker set (for now) and hopefully upgrading in the future. Any advice will be welcome..

We have nothing to fear but fear itself... and spiders

 

My current gear : (Mancave) Vizio M701, Sony Str-DA5800 receiver,  Speakers : Front.. Klipsh RF-7 reference flagship, Center.. RC-64 reference, Surrounds.. 4x RC-62 reference, DirecTv Genie, PS3, Oppo BDP-105 Universal Audiophile blu-ray. 

kyzer the medic is offline  
post #105 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 05:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Refer to post 101.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #106 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 05:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyzer the medic View Post

I've been arduously trying to find a good receiver to go in my recently remodeled man cave/football room. With everything I've read here it seems like the 675 might be a good match for me. Thanks for all the info in this thread. I'm obviously looking at about $550 for the receiver. Before I make the purchase can any give some advice if there is something better in the same ball park. I will be doing some 3D, Movies and TV watching as well as gaming (more so when the PS4 hits) and of course NFL Sunday ticket games. I'm going to be pair it with a Polk audio 5.1 speaker set (for now) and hopefully upgrading in the future. Any advice will be welcome..
Other than MHL there is almost no difference between the 73 and 75 series. If you are patient and look around you can get a 673 for ~$400. Use the other $150 to get you a pair of surround backs or front heights and you will have 7.1.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #107 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,836
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

If you are patient and look around you can get a 673 for ~$400. Use the other $150 to get you a pair of surround backs or front heights and you will have 7.1.

 

Best Buy has the RX-A720 for $380 (on close out).

Charles R is offline  
post #108 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 06:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Best Buy has the RX-A720 for $380 (on close out).
Thats a great deal. You got a link? I dont see that they even sell the 720. Maybe thats in store only and in certain areas.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #109 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 06:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,836
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post


Thats a great deal. You got a link? I dont see that they even sell the 720. Maybe thats in store only and in certain areas.

 

It's in the clearance area of their site... local stores around here have a few...

 

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Yamaha+-+AVENTAGE+630W+7.2-Ch.+3D+Pass-Through+A/V+Home+Theater+Receiver/5036512.p?id=1218601980939&skuId=5036512&strId=1025&strClr=true

Charles R is offline  
post #110 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 07:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

It's in the clearance area of their site... local stores around here have a few...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Yamaha+-+AVENTAGE+630W+7.2-Ch.+3D+Pass-Through+A/V+Home+Theater+Receiver/5036512.p?id=1218601980939&skuId=5036512&strId=1025&strClr=true
I get an error on that link. Maybe because Im using a tablet.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #111 of 2578 Old 06-13-2013, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
basshead81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 7,283
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 2213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I get an error on that link. Maybe because Im using a tablet.

its on clearance for 379.00.

Getting Started with REW: A Step by Step Guide --> http://www.mediafire.com/view/aolmz2..._101_v3.92.pdf

Mini DSP Tutorial by Neutro --> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/113-su...g-minidsp.html
basshead81 is offline  
post #112 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 02:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Bond 007 is online now  
post #113 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 04:59 AM
Member
 
kyzer the medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks for the advice. Found a 673 at Amazon for 444.33 (odd price) and I have $50 in credit so I'm going to go with that. Also thanks for the advice about Best Buy's clearance section, I never knew it was there and found some Klipsch bookshelf speakers on clearance to go with my KF-28's ... Thanks again !!

We have nothing to fear but fear itself... and spiders

 

My current gear : (Mancave) Vizio M701, Sony Str-DA5800 receiver,  Speakers : Front.. Klipsh RF-7 reference flagship, Center.. RC-64 reference, Surrounds.. 4x RC-62 reference, DirecTv Genie, PS3, Oppo BDP-105 Universal Audiophile blu-ray. 

kyzer the medic is offline  
post #114 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 05:35 AM
Member
 
kyzer the medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Ok forgive the question if its in the wrong thread. But going with the info I obtained earlier this morning. The new TV I purchased and the Yamaha receiver both have ARC .. So when I get this thing home today and start setting it up I just want to clarify one thing. Using ARC everything (DirecTv Genie, PS3 etc) should be connected to the TV with one HDMI going from the ARC of the receiver to the ARC of the TV.. correct ?

We have nothing to fear but fear itself... and spiders

 

My current gear : (Mancave) Vizio M701, Sony Str-DA5800 receiver,  Speakers : Front.. Klipsh RF-7 reference flagship, Center.. RC-64 reference, Surrounds.. 4x RC-62 reference, DirecTv Genie, PS3, Oppo BDP-105 Universal Audiophile blu-ray. 

kyzer the medic is offline  
post #115 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
WeApOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my PC connected to my receiver via HDMI. How come I am unable to use the PLIIx DSPs? I am able to do it with my PS3.

I am trying to find a way to emulate 7.1 sound from 5.1 sound.

All I get using the "sur. decode" button is 'STRAIGHT', while on my other inputs I am able to get the PLIIx DSPs.

Are these modes not possible when the receiver detects 7 speakers perhaps? I told Windows I have 7 speakers. Maybe I only want to do this when I am using true 7.1 content??
WeApOn is offline  
post #116 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Your receiver will show how many channels are arriving from the source. PLIIx and Neo:6 cannot be used when the source is already 7.1, even if some of the channels are silent. Try changing the PC output to bitstream or to 5.1 and see what happens.

It's better to not post the same question in multiple threads. You've asked about this in at least three threads that I've seen.
BIslander is online now  
post #117 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeApOn View Post

...I am trying to find a way to emulate 7.1 sound from 5.1 sound.

All I get using the "sur. decode" button is 'STRAIGHT', while on my other inputs I am able to get the PLIIx DSPs.

The SUR. DECODE button only lets you select PLIIx for two channel sources. If the source is already 5.1 you have to go into the Option menu and change Extended Surround to PLIIx.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #118 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyzer the medic View Post

Ok forgive the question if its in the wrong thread. But going with the info I obtained earlier this morning. The new TV I purchased and the Yamaha receiver both have ARC .. So when I get this thing home today and start setting it up I just want to clarify one thing. Using ARC everything (DirecTv Genie, PS3 etc) should be connected to the TV with one HDMI going from the ARC of the receiver to the ARC of the TV.. correct ?
Yes. But be aware that it can be finicky and may not always work perfectly.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #119 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,708
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyzer the medic View Post

Ok forgive the question if its in the wrong thread. But going with the info I obtained earlier this morning. The new TV I purchased and the Yamaha receiver both have ARC .. So when I get this thing home today and start setting it up I just want to clarify one thing. Using ARC everything (DirecTv Genie, PS3 etc) should be connected to the TV with one HDMI going from the ARC of the receiver to the ARC of the TV.. correct ?
No. You only want to use ARC or optical from the TV for off air signals and Smart TV apps. You should connect other devices such as set top boxes and disc players to the AVR and run a single HDMI from the AVR to the TV for video. That is the prefered method because the audio output of the TV is often limited to stereo for devices attached to the set using HDMI. That is almost certainly the case when playing Blu-rays on your PS3 since those discs usually have DTS tracks, which very few TVs will pass though to an AVR for processing.
BIslander is online now  
post #120 of 2578 Old 06-14-2013, 09:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1028
Isnt that what he said? Everything should be connected with one HDMI going from the receiver to the tv.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
a/v receiver , component cables , hdmi , optical audio , Yamaha , Yamaha Rx V375 5 1 Channel Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V575 7 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V675 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V775wa 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - V375 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off