Yamaha RX-V 75 Series owners thread - Page 92 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2745 Old 07-17-2015, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
The miniDSP approach might be good for some who like to tinker but I see many drawbacks:


- the sub out has to be re-digitized, processed, and then converted back to analog again for the output to the sub. Audyssey and the others do all this stuff in the digital domain the whole way so there are fewer conversion steps.
- remote control? Not that I'm aware of.
- adjustable on the fly while you listen from your seated chair? Not that I'm aware of.
- on screen display to see what you are adjusting? Not that I'm aware of.
- lots of extra wiring including a power supply wire to a new extra box? Yes.
- can be manipulated and tweaked without the necessary computer being connected? I believe the answer is "NO".
- free supplied mic? No, that's an added expense.
- can you buy a microphone which has at least a basic calibration or configuration file to the device it plugs to? No.
- an integrated one box solution like an AVR? No.


I'm not 100% sure about all these things but when I last looked into it it seemed markedly more complex and hardly "less money" once you add all the do-dads to make it akin to say a basic Audyssey receiver. A Denon for example with at least 128 control points dedicated just to the sub out [Audyssey XT] can be had for $250, as one example. 512X control points for around $600, and these offer one touch calibration via remote control, supplied mics with calibration/ configuration files supplied by the main processor, with on screen TV display for convenience, and no outboard computer is necessary.


I like to drive manual transmission instead of automatic cars, so I get how people sometimes prefer manual control, but miniDSP isn't for people looking for simplicity and as for any possible claims it is "better", well that's a judgment call.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

Last edited by m. zillch; 07-17-2015 at 12:35 PM. Reason: price corrections
m. zillch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2745 Old 07-17-2015, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Not sure about minidsp but I'm more interested in just measuring things with a calibrated mic like this and REW software.

http://www.minidsp.com/products/acou...urement/umik-1
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2733 of 2745 Old 07-17-2015, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
I'd be more inclined to buy a mic that can also serve as a general purpose mic to plug to anything rather than a USB mic which only connects to a computer, but that's me.


The Behringer ECM8000 with a power supply (or a mixer which can provide phantom power to it), for example. This way the mic can serve other recording duties, to other recording devices, down the road, after one is done with room calibration.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

Last edited by m. zillch; 07-17-2015 at 02:03 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #2734 of 2745 Old 07-17-2015, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I'd be more inclined to buy a mic that can also serve as a general purpose mic to plug to anything rather than a USB mic which only connects to a computer, but that's me.


The Behringer ECM8000 with a power supply (or a mixer which can provide phantom power to it), for example. This way the mic can serve other recording duties, to other recording devices, down the road, after one is done with room calibration.
Would it integrate with REW as easily and what kind of power supply and connection options exist? Also, my computer is a laptop and so it only has a mic jack, headphone jack, and hdmi output. I think the REW help guide said in such scenarios a usb mic connection was recommended. However, I haven't had the time to real all details of REW or compatible mics yet.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2735 of 2745 Old 07-17-2015, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
moved to here:

Frequency Response of Dayton Audio SUB-1200

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Display: Samsung UN46EH6030 LED-LCD TV; Audio: Yamaha HTR-3066 AVR/AMP, Sony Core Bookshelves (Sony SS-CS5) and Center (Sony SS-CS8) as fronts, Cambridge Audio S20 Bookshelves (CA S20-N) as surrounds, Dayton Audio SUB-1200 as subwoofer; Sources: PS4 (doubles as primary BD player), Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Motorola RNG150N (Cable Box)
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2736 of 2745 Old 07-18-2015, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Regarding the Scene buttons that let you select an input, dsp mode/surround decode, and enhancer on/off with one button press, can you program more than one button to the same input? But possibly with different values for the other 2 parameters?

I mainly use HDMI 1 and 2 (PS4 and Xbox One) and would like to use the Scene 3 and 4 buttons as variations of Scene 1 and 2 or merely as 100% duplicates. Not a fan of dsp modes or enhancer but surround decode modes are useful with 2 channel sources.

Also, is there a way to put the receiver in stereo/2 channel mode for 5.1 and 7.1 sources? (For REW purposes)

Last edited by PlasmaPZ80U; 07-18-2015 at 02:06 PM.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2737 of 2745 Old 07-18-2015, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
More than one scene button can use the exact same input source.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #2738 of 2745 Old 07-18-2015, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
Not sure about minidsp but I'm more interested in just measuring things with a calibrated mic like this and REW software. http://www.minidsp.com/products/acou...urement/umik-1
Using REW isn't that bad if I can do it... Getting the audio settings right in the laptop was tricky.
The instructions didn't quite match my situation. Through trial and error I got a 2.1 measurement going.
I only used the cheaper Dayton audio usb mic without extra calibration. The Dayton website has
a calibration file for every serial number for free. Close enough for the average joe.

This image from rew shows how accurate it is. This is my yamaha a1000 receiver with just the
subwoofer on. The two lines represent natural eq on and off(through). 99.9% of the lines are
on top of each other. The mic was not moved between test sweeps. This test proves that the
a100x line has(had/a1050) no subwoofer eq. To test with a dd 5.1 input set receiver to music 2 channel stereo.

It will play as 2.1 unless pure direct is selected. At which point the subwoofer, x/o and eq will turn off.
And yes I could use some subwoofer eq. It looks better around 80 hz(crossover level) with the fronts on.
I do have almost flat response down to 17hz. Xt32 in the exact same setup gave me a flatter plot down
to 16hz. Rew doesn't do any eq. I could probably use a minidsp, but I can live with 18hz loud.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	YAMAHA A1000 SUBWOOFER OUT.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	133.2 KB
ID:	836954  

Last edited by kikkenit2; 07-18-2015 at 11:28 PM.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #2739 of 2745 Old 07-19-2015, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
Not sure about minidsp but I'm more interested in just measuring things with a calibrated mic like this and REW software. http://www.minidsp.com/products/acou...urement/umik-1
Using REW isn't that bad if I can do it... Getting the audio settings right in the laptop was tricky.
The instructions didn't quite match my situation. Through trial and error I got a 2.1 measurement going.
I only used the cheaper Dayton audio usb mic without extra calibration. The Dayton website has
a calibration file for every serial number for free. Close enough for the average joe.

This image from rew shows how accurate it is. This is my yamaha a1000 receiver with just the
subwoofer on. The two lines represent natural eq on and off(through). 99.9% of the lines are
on top of each other. The mic was not moved between test sweeps. This test proves that the
a100x line has(had/a1050) no subwoofer eq. To test with a dd 5.1 input set receiver to music 2 channel stereo.

It will play as 2.1 unless pure direct is selected. At which point the subwoofer, x/o and eq will turn off.
And yes I could use some subwoofer eq. It looks better around 80 hz(crossover level) with the fronts on.
I do have almost flat response down to 17hz. Xt32 in the exact same setup gave me a flatter plot down
to 16hz. Rew doesn't do any eq. I could probably use a minidsp, but I can live with 18hz loud.
So, going through the music dsp modes, 2 channel stereo is an option?

And exactly how do you have just the subwoofer on? LFE channel selected in REW?

The REW usb mic guide I was reading earlier was assuming an Audyssey AVR was being used so I thought asking here was more appropriate.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2740 of 2745 Old 07-19-2015, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Regarding the test tone built into the receiver for manual speaker level calibration, does it bypass or include changes made in the option menu like subwoofer trim or tone controls?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2741 of 2745 Old 07-23-2015, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8,264
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Regarding YPAO and reference level, is this normal?

Frequency Response of Dayton Audio SUB-1200

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Display: Samsung UN46EH6030 LED-LCD TV; Audio: Yamaha HTR-3066 AVR/AMP, Sony Core Bookshelves (Sony SS-CS5) and Center (Sony SS-CS8) as fronts, Cambridge Audio S20 Bookshelves (CA S20-N) as surrounds, Dayton Audio SUB-1200 as subwoofer; Sources: PS4 (doubles as primary BD player), Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Motorola RNG150N (Cable Box)
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #2742 of 2745 Old Yesterday, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
BradP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've had my RX-675 installed for 6 months now without issue, hard wired Ethernet, and suddenly it's started to lose Network connectivity and not be seen in the Yamaha iOS application. A hard reset (unplug and plug back in) or a removal of the network cable OR a reset of the switch it's coming from all restore the network connection, sometimes for a few minutes, sometimes a few hours. But it always goes away.

I have a static IP assigned to this and one other Yamaha AV AMP in my network on another floor/another switch. That one NEVER disappears from the list. Only this one.

I have already tried a fresh install of the latest firmware on the 675 to no avail. Are there any other tips/tricks I can try to not have this unit disappear from the AMP list?

I have a FIOS router (ActionTEC) so no way to upgrade/check the firmware there. The AMP still shows up as active in the router's connected IP list but I can't ping it (and I can ping the working Yamaha AMP just fine).

Help??? It's driving me batty!!!!
BradP is offline  
post #2743 of 2745 Old Yesterday, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
ChromeJob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Somewhere between 70 and 125 mph
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Yamaha RX-V 75 Series owners thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradP View Post
I've had my RX-675 installed for 6 months now without issue, hard wired Ethernet, and suddenly it's started to lose Network connectivity and not be seen in the Yamaha iOS application. A hard reset (unplug and plug back in) or a removal of the network cable OR a reset of the switch it's coming from all restore the network connection, sometimes for a few minutes, sometimes a few hours. But it always goes away.

I have a static IP assigned to this and one other Yamaha AV AMP in my network on another floor/another switch. That one NEVER disappears from the list. Only this one.

I have already tried a fresh install of the latest firmware on the 675 to no avail. Are there any other tips/tricks I can try to not have this unit disappear from the AMP list?

I have a FIOS router (ActionTEC) so no way to upgrade/check the firmware there. The AMP still shows up as active in the router's connected IP list but I can't ping it (and I can ping the working Yamaha AMP just fine).

Help??? It's driving me batty!!!!
That sure sounds defective. You're setting a static IP that is not used by the switch's dhcp? Sometimes I'll assign the static IP in the router's dynamic list even if it's not within the dhcp range, just so the software has a name and IP to match the MAC address. My 775 has had flakey Internet radio performance since the last firmware update, but I use a Chromecast 98% of the time.

Is anything else plugged into the same switch? Tried swapping switches? I've had 2-3 routers die on me after a few years, they don't seem to be made to last..

“Say, was you ever bit by a dead bee?”
A: Yamaha RX-V775. Bose 401 mains, 301 Series III surrounds, Yamaha NS-C444 center, Hsu VTF-2 Mk4.
V: Samsung UN40ES6150, Panasonic DMP-BDT215, Yamaha DVD-S550.

ChromeJob is online now  
post #2744 of 2745 Old Today, 08:54 PM
Member
 
The Squeaky Whee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Questions on my RXV 375 and 4k pass through.

I am trying to use 4k pass through for the first time. The source is a Nvidia Shield. I'm using 2.2 HDMI all around. The TV is a Sony 4k model

The problem: I cannot get my receiver to pass a 4k signal to my TV.

I get 4k if I connect the Shield directly to the TV but my TV then chokes off the audio to 2.1 back to the receiver.

If I connect the Shield to HDMI input 4 on my RXV375, my TV only receives a 1080 signal but then I get 5.1 sound.

I can't find anything in the user settings to adjust for 4k. And I can't locate any firmware updates.

Anybody have an idea why the Yamaha is choking the video signal to the TV?

thanks.
The Squeaky Whee is offline  
post #2745 of 2745 Old Today, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
The Yamaha RX-V375 isn't compliant with the HDCP and HDMI level you need. The newer RX-V379 would be the least expensive Yamaha that should work:
http://hdguru.com/yamaha-rolls-out-h...2-av-receiver/

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
a/v receiver , component cables , hdmi , optical audio , Yamaha , Yamaha Rx V375 5 1 Channel Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V575 7 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V675 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V775wa 7 2 Channel Network Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - V375 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off