The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 154 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 08:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Young View Post

I have a question about the E200, which I recently installed. Is there a way for me to view a source with the sound muted on that source, and listen to a different source? What I want to do is watch my cable source, but listen to my roku source.

I have a standard set up including cable, blue ray, and roku, all hdmi connected.

Any help on this?

Not using (2) HDMI sources no, however you do have three options:

(1) Connect the cable box (HDMI) to the TV with cable box (optical) to the AVR (preferred configuration to avoid any HDMI handshake issues from future cable box firmware updates) and then you can watch cable TV and select whatever source you want that is connected to the E200
(2) With the cable box (HDMI) connected to E200, Roku source would also have to be connected with an analog cable set to the same source name as the cable box (eg. CBL/SAT) and then change the INPUT MODE setting for that source to "Analog" when you wanted to listen to the Roku and then change it back to "Auto" or "HDMI" when you wanted to listen to the cable box
(3) Also connect the cable box with a composite video "yellow" cable and while listening to the Roku (HDMI), change the Video Select setting to the composite video input being used (eg. CBL/SAT)

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
FYI,

The X4000 passes the Spears and Munsil tests (chroma for one) that Ive seen previous models fail with video conversion "on", so thats good. IP scaler was off, I dont mess with that. I just thought it was a little cruddy that to get overlay menu's you had to have conversion on, but then it was affecting the video performance in a negative way in the past.
sheshechic likes this.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4593 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 11:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Could be a defective unit as Denon AVRs in general barely run luke warm, regardless of whether being used as a pre-amp or using the on board amps. Most of the heat is generated from the video chip on the left side of the unit.
Left side when looking at it from the front?

I'm curious about your comments on heat as the X4000 definitely is hotter to the touch than my 3806 is, both being used with onboard amps in use. At idle it stays cool of course, but when driving the loudspeakers it definitely gets warm, typically in the right rear quadrant area when looking at it from the front.

I don't notice any excessive heat from the left front area of the unit, but I don't use any video processing other than that required for the UI overlay.

From earlier in this thread I thought I read some discussion about plastic being used on the top as it would be cooler to the touch than metal like in the older models, and that this was due to the fact these new units ran warmer than previous models.

In any case, your remarks have piqued my curiosity as my X4000 has been running flawlessly since purchase, but it does most definitely get very warm to the touch running under typical reference/near reference viewing/listening mode, especially in the area I noted above.

I'll take some IR thermometer readings later this evening but right now that right rear quadrant is about 30-32 C with unit idling with the Roku home screen on display. The left front is about 2 degrees cooler.

Thanks
Keenan is offline  
post #4594 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 11:39 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
^^
Correct ... left side looking at it from the front. I can play near reference level volume (-10db) with temperature of unit never going above 110F (warm only) the few times I've checked. This is using a 7.2 setup with 8-ohm, 92db efficient speakers. Also the plastic grill covers on the top of the unit not withstanding, I would say the current year's models run no warmer than last year's models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4595 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Correct ... left side looking at it from the front. I can play near reference level volume (-10db) with temperature of unit never going above 110F (warm only) the few times I've checked. This is using a 7.2 setup with 8-ohm, 92db efficient speakers. Also the plastic grill covers on the top of the unit not withstanding, I would say the current year's models run no warmer than last year's models.
Thanks, I'll re-check it tonight when I do some serious viewing. It might be that I'm more conscience of it because where I have it mounted it is more accessible than my previous 3806 was.

That 110F reading, is that taken at the front left, or back near the audio output section?
Keenan is offline  
post #4596 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 12:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
I take all IR measurements from the rear half. The temp from the plastic grills is barely different from room temperature. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4597 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

I take all IR measurements from the rear half.
Okay, thanks!
Keenan is offline  
post #4598 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Mine is 98.2 over the left middle above the transformer. Warmest spot on mine being used as a preamp and has been on about 4 hours.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4599 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 04:43 PM
Member
 
mrbizi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased the E300 today. I have already setup Audyssey. When watching a movie everything works fine. My problem is when I play a CD on the Blu-ray player. Bass is very light and when I click on Info on the remote, the image only shows the left and right front speakers. When watching a movie it shows all speakers (I have a 5.1 setup). I want the subwoofer to be active when playing music in stereo as well. Is this possible? If not, how can I get more bass from my system when playing music? I've tried the manual EQ already and the tone controls and still cant get enough decent bass. I have klipsch rf82s and a Velodyne 12" sub.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
mrbizi is offline  
post #4600 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
xman0980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, just got a AVR300, and for some reason when I use the HDMI from my PC, i get a green screen. If I hook up the HDMI directly to my TV, it works fine.

I have a radeon 6850 on my pc and am using a straight HDMI cable..no adapters....I don't know what settings to change to get rid of this green screen.

xman0980 is offline  
post #4601 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 04:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
^^
Green screen is usually indicative of either a loose fitting HDMI cable or defective cable. Whether it works directly to the TV does not rule out it being defective so try replacing it with other cables.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4602 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 04:48 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbizi View Post

Just purchased the E300 today. I have already setup Audyssey. When watching a movie everything works fine. My problem is when I play a CD on the Blu-ray player. Bass is very light and when I click on Info on the remote, the image only shows the left and right front speakers. When watching a movie it shows all speakers (I have a 5.1 setup).

Any ideas on what I'm missing?

Thanks in advance.

Yup. Ensure all speakers are set to SMALL with a minimum of 80Hz crossover. Are you wanting to play the CD in simulated 5.1 or in STEREO? If STEREO, you may have to cycle the Subwoofer setting to NO/YES to get it to show up for STEREO mode.
mrbizi likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4603 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
xman0980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Green screen is usually indicative of either a loose fitting HDMI cable or defective cable. Whether it works directly to the TV does not rule out it being defective so try replacing it with other cables.

So i tried another cable....it shows normal colors for less than a minute, and then go to No Signal....on my PC it still detects that its connected

xman0980 is offline  
post #4604 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Mine is 98.2 over the left middle above the transformer. Warmest spot on mine being used as a preamp and has been on about 4 hours.
Thanks for the additional data point, although after already being into my 2nd glass of wine I'm not sure how much testing I'll be doing this evening. There's always tomorrow, or more likely, the next day...biggrin.gif
Keenan is offline  
post #4605 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
xman0980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xman0980 View Post
 

So i tried another cable....it shows normal colors for less than a minute, and then go to No Signal....on my PC it still detects that its connected

fixed it....tried another different cable, and VOILA!....thanks for the help

xman0980 is offline  
post #4606 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan View Post

Thanks for the additional data point, although after already being into my 2nd glass of wine I'm not sure how much testing I'll be doing this evening. There's always tomorrow, or more likely, the next day...biggrin.gif

Yeah, Im enjoying the sound and not worrying, with bowl games and adult beverages!
Keenan likes this.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4607 of 8652 Old 12-31-2013, 10:29 PM
Member
 
mrbizi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Yup. Ensure all speakers are set to SMALL with a minimum of 80Hz crossover. Are you wanting to play the CD in simulated 5.1 or in STEREO? If STEREO, you may have to cycle the Subwoofer setting to NO/YES to get it to show up for STEREO mode.

Thanks, your suggestions were quite helpful. Can the e300 remember the settings for each source? I.e. I want to have a set of settings for the blu-ray player, another set for the cable box, iPod etc. I would like to avoid changing the settings every time I change the source device.
mrbizi is offline  
post #4608 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 12:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
The .settings are stored by the incoming signal type.
mrbizi likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4609 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 02:01 AM
Member
 
Brizman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So just a few Christmas gifts and the more i read the more intimidated i get about my ability to set the whole thing up…

So not sure if that is DIY for a lay person or need a pro calibrator? How would you know a great one from a bad one?

(was told to run the video processing thru the BDP and the Audio thru the A/V)

TV- Samsung D8000
BDP- Oppo 103D
A/V- Denon X4000
Directv
Roku box
7.1 setup( thinking about adding front wide for a 9.1 set up??)
Harmony remote
Brizman is offline  
post #4610 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
chimen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Clark View Post

Odd thing is that when you change to another source and back again the picture is fine. Is the power to the IPTV (is that cable in Sweden?) box left on all the time? It probably should be, otherwise you'd have to do some sort of reset every time you fire it up. It could be a handshake issue with the cable box when you first power on the AVR. Maybe you could check to see if they have newer upgrades to the IPTV box.

Do all your sources go through the X4000 HDMI ports and one HDMI to the TV? If not, that would be something to look into. Also, the X4000 could be changing settings based on the source. Need to go into the menus to check that.

There are inexpensive universal remotes that work quite well. I have one from Sony that was less than $30. Many people swear by the Harmony universal remotes but they are generally much more expensive.

There is an outside chance you have a bad HDMI board, Denon HDMI boards are generally reliable, but all manufactures of the latest "in demand" equipment can suffer from quality control problems due to the number of units they're trying to ship.

I don't think I was much help, but I'm no expert, other people here are much more knowledgeable.

Yes it is a cable box. There are no upgrades to the box.
Yes, all sources go through x4000 and one HDMI cable to the TV.
I have tried changing all the settings but no luck.

Yesterday I tested to connect the box to AUX1 input in the front instead of the CBL/SAT on back, with that input, the picture is allways to bright, even if I switch back and forward between the input selection.
Strange.
chimen is offline  
post #4611 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
Vanich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any Xbox One users here?
 
I received my X2000 earlier this week. It's my first HDMI receiver and I configured everything without issue - 5.1 setup with all HDMI sources.
 
However I'm hearing popping and clicking sounds on my Xbox One when scrolling through the dashboard menu tiles when using the 5.1 uncompressed sound. If I use the DTS option this doesn't happen - the sound is clean. I've tried all the uncompressed options on the XB1 and I hear pops and clicks on all of them - Stereo, 5.1 & 7.1 but never when using DTS.
 
I've updated to the latest firmware, reset the microprocessor, tried different HDMI cables and ports. I also connected the XB1 directly to my TV using stereo uncompressed and the menu sounds were clean.
 
I'm presuming there is a fault here as I've searched all over and found no reference to this.
Vanich is offline  
post #4612 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 05:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,674
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 628 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brizman View Post

So just a few Christmas gifts and the more i read the more intimidated i get about my ability to set the whole thing up…

So not sure if that is DIY for a lay person or need a pro calibrator? How would you know a great one from a bad one?

(was told to run the video processing thru the BDP and the Audio thru the A/V)

TV- Samsung D8000
BDP- Oppo 103D
A/V- Denon X4000
Directv
Roku box
7.1 setup( thinking about adding front wide for a 9.1 set up??)
Harmony remote

You can connect your sources to the 103D and then either connect the 103D directly to the X4000 or pass 103D HDMI video to the TV with HDMI audio only to the X4000, your choice. The X4000 can expand to 9.1 by adding an old AVR or other 2CH external amp like the one below ...

http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AMP-100-Stereo-Power-Amplifier/dp/B00026BQJ6

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4613 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
3d85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I just recently purchased the Denon X1000 and was wondering if someone can help me with a problem I'm having.

The problem is regarding lip sync issues. From the start the audio was out of sync with the video for any input I was using (dvd, tv, games etc.) and the auto lip sync function doesn't seem to do anything, so I spent some time adjusting the audio delay to get it as perfect as I could.
Then last night I tried watching a blu ray and noticed again that the audio was out of sync with the video and couldn't understand why. Today I've figured out that it is to do with the blu ray audio source being Dolby HD. As soon as I switched the audio to normal DD (or any other audio source for that matter) the lip sync was perfect. It's the same with all my blu rays with Dolby HD. Is this normal? As this never happened on my Onkyo receiver that I was using prior to the X1000.

If anyone is able to offer me some advice I will be really grateful. smile.gif
3d85 is offline  
post #4614 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Brizman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

You can connect your sources to the 103D and then either connect the 103D directly to the X4000 or pass 103D HDMI video to the TV with HDMI audio only to the X4000, your choice. The X4000 can expand to 9.1 by adding an old AVR or other 2CH external amp like the one below ...

http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AMP-100-Stereo-Power-Amplifier/dp/B00026BQJ6

Thank you so much for your reply. Happy new year:)
Either way i am hearing that the Oppo will have better video processing and the X4k better Audio.

1)
BDP- x4000- tv How would you configure the video to be done by the BD and pass thru the audio to be processed by the X4?

2)
BDp- Hdmi1 to tv
BDP- Hdmi 2 to X4000


Any benefits for one setup vs the other?
Brizman is offline  
post #4615 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
I have a 103D. Both my Tivo and Directv boxes run into the HDMI In's on the Oppo, then one HDMI out of HDMI 1 to the Denon, then the one HDMI out of the Denon to the tv. So I use the same input on the Denon no matter what Im watcing, the Oppo handles the processing of the video stuff.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4616 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
fordf250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 60014
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would check with your manual-chedk to see if your lip sync control is input adjustable.-I believe it is on my 4311ci, and it may be on your X1000 also
fordf250 is offline  
post #4617 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Brizman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

I have a 103D. Both my Tivo and Directv boxes run into the HDMI In's on the Oppo, then one HDMI out of HDMI 1 to the Denon, then the one HDMI out of the Denon to the tv. So I use the same input on the Denon no matter what Im watcing, the Oppo handles the processing of the video stuff.

How would you configure the video to be done by the BD and pass thru the audio to be processed by the X4?
Brizman is offline  
post #4618 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
mrbizi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The .settings are stored by the incoming signal type.

So it will store a set of settings for bitstream, PCM, Dolby digital etc?
mrbizi is offline  
post #4619 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brizman View Post

How would you configure the video to be done by the BD and pass thru the audio to be processed by the X4?



You just set up the Oppo like you would any blu-ray player. Set resolution to 1080p, not auto, and set HDMI audio to bitstream. It will take 720p/1080i and scale it to 1080p, then send it out with the audio signal from your cable box.

Im watching ESPN right now, and if I hit info on the Oppo remote, it shows Dolby Digital 5.1 coming in and 720p/60. Its sending out 1080p/60 to the Denon and bistreaming the DD 5.1 untouched. The Denon gets the DD 5.1 and then sends the video on to the display, just as if you had the cable box connected directly to the Denon.
Brizman likes this.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #4620 of 8652 Old 01-01-2014, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Brizman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

You just set up the Oppo like you would any blu-ray player. Set resolution to 1080p, not auto, and set HDMI audio to bitstream. It will take 720p/1080i and scale it to 1080p, then send it out with the audio signal from your cable box.

Im watching ESPN right now, and if I hit info on the Oppo remote, it shows Dolby Digital 5.1 coming in and 720p/60. Its sending out 1080p/60 to the Denon and bistreaming the DD 5.1 untouched. The Denon gets the DD 5.1 and then sends the video on to the display, just as if you had the cable box connected directly to the Denon.


Awesome- Thank you.

Is there any degradation or downside to sending the video thru the receiver vs directly to the TV thru the 2nd HDMI ?

I guess i am asking if there is a benefit to sending audio and video separately ?
Brizman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2309ci Receiver , Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Denon , Denon Electronics , Polk Audio Monitor70 Series Ii Floorstanding Loudspeaker , Onkyo Tx Nr626 7 2 Channel Network Audio Video Receiver , Denon Avr E200 , Denon Avr E300 , Denon Avr E400 , Denon Avr X2000 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X3000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X4000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X1000 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off