The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 160 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 11:16 AM
Member
 
spongebob331's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

I don't think it's overheating because I have always only seen the problem when I first turn the receiver on, typically after being off all night.  I think it will definitely warrant sending back...I'm actually hoping it gets worse so it will be easier to diagnose the problem.  I'll definitely update the thread when I send it back and the outcome.

D Bone likes this.
spongebob331 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 89
How much lag does the x4000 add to the signal? Im a heavy gamer this is important to me.
outlanderbz likes this.
Axxion is offline  
post #4773 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,141
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2272 Post(s)
Liked: 1828
Unless another heavy gamer chimes in with personal results .... any lag time can be mitigated by setting the Video Mode setting to "GAME" or better yet passing the video directly to the display with audio to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4774 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Unless another heavy gamer chimes in with personal results .... any lag time can be mitigated by setting the Video Mode setting to "GAME" or better yet passing the video directly to the display with audio to the AVR.
I thought a page back a guy said that setting doesnt exsist. Ya i can route the audio through ARC but doesnt that limit it to 5.1 dolby? Im
Using a tc-p60zt60.
Axxion is offline  
post #4775 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Troyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does anyone know what platform the Denon DN-500AV is based off of? I've tried to get more detailed info about that pre/pro but haven't come up with much. I figured it was based off one of Denon's consumer AVRs but with no amps.
Troyd is offline  
post #4776 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,141
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2272 Post(s)
Liked: 1828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axxion View Post

I thought a page back a guy said that setting doesnt exsist. Ya i can route the audio through ARC but doesnt that limit it to 5.1 dolby? Im
Using a tc-p60zt60.

He was referring to the Marantz SR7008 and yes, the setting exists on that unit as well. smile.gif

I wasn't referring to using ARC, rather passing HDMI video and audio from the game machine.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4777 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Axxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

He was referring to the Marantz SR7008 and yes, the setting exists on that unit as well. smile.gif

I wasn't referring to using ARC, rather passing HDMI video and audio from the game machine.
Via optical? That also limits you, or what do you mean?
Axxion is offline  
post #4778 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 03:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,141
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2272 Post(s)
Liked: 1828
Yes, via optical if the device doesn't have dual HDMI outputs. It's unlikely you'll notice much difference in audio when you're focused on the "video". smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4779 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan_little View Post

Do these receivers do some sort of extra processing on Dolby Digital plus tracks? I watched a few movies on Netflix instant and the "stereo" tracks sound better-- much less swirling going on in the high end. I never had this problem with my old receiver. Dynamic EQ is off, dynamic volume on medium. Cinema EQ doesn't seem to affect it and dynamic range compression under the surround settings is off. (Audio restorer is not available... I know this option makes MP3s sound terrible in a similar manner by winding up the high end.)

Take a listen to the dialogue in "How to Marry a Millionaire."

I know this is an old post. I also know we have talked about this issue, and I know someone had Denon confirm it was an issue. Anyone know the status? This issue is driving me nuts.

I have the X4000
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #4780 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 06:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,141
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2272 Post(s)
Liked: 1828
At some point a firmware update will likely be released ... until then, set the audio to DD instead of DD+.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4781 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 07:04 PM
Newbie
 
atanatizante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi and a warmly Happy New Year everybody!

 

First of all sorry for my poor English! Unfortunately is not my first language ...

Secondly I wanna purchase an X 2000 and need to know what chip-sets is used in order to do video up-scaling and video adjustments.

Primary I'll use the receiver for being a hub to my all audio&video equipments but on a secondary matter I also wanna digitize my old audio and VHS tapes.

Therefore I ask if this video chip-set (or maybe other chip-set) does things like TBC and 3D DNR, like my old Panasonic S-VHS VCR.

I`ve noticed the fact that it has a NR feature but this one is just for digital sources or both digital and analog one?

Had there other receivers that has those features above mentioned feel free and tell me about them ... at least 2 or 3 of them ...

And last but not least, bearing in mind that this receiver is an entry to mid level AV receiver, IMHO, could you guys recommend me a best buy 5.1 speaker system (or maybe other system) in the same entry to mid level budget (2 or 3 examples would be great)?

atanatizante is offline  
post #4782 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 07:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 484 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

I know this is an old post. I also know we have talked about this issue, and I know someone had Denon confirm it was an issue. Anyone know the status? This issue is driving me nuts.

I have the X4000
There's a thread discussing this issue here.
Keenan is online now  
post #4783 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
ebeck88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the avr-2112 model and I dont like that if I play AirPlay through zone 2 then I am unable to watch satellite through zone 1 at the same time. Does the avr-x2000 allow that? My wife and I like to sit outside on the deck and listen to music off our phone but if the kids want to watch something on the tv then it's a problem. Anyone know for sure?
ebeck88 is offline  
post #4784 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebeck88 View Post

I have the avr-2112 model and I dont like that if I play AirPlay through zone 2 then I am unable to watch satellite through zone 1 at the same time. Does the avr-x2000 allow that? My wife and I like to sit outside on the deck and listen to music off our phone but if the kids want to watch something on the tv then it's a problem. Anyone know for sure?

A Bluetooth receiver would let you play from your phone to your AVR. I use mine all the time. I find I get very good range.
rec head is online now  
post #4785 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
ebeck88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post

A Bluetooth receiver would let you play from your phone to your AVR. I use mine all the time. I find I get very good range.

The airplay works fine though. I just want to be able to listen to AirPlay in zone 2 while my kids watch tv on zone 1. Not sure if Bluetooth would eliminate that problem
ebeck88 is offline  
post #4786 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 40
My wife has an iPhone but prefers to use Bluetooth with our X4000 because there are no hassles. The BT receiver just has analog outputs so it goes to any zone easily. Its also way cheaper than a new avr.
rec head is online now  
post #4787 of 9905 Old 01-07-2014, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,109
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1213 Post(s)
Liked: 1614
But the answer to the questions is yes. You can Airplay to zone 2 and watch something else in main zone.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #4788 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 40
But Airplay will first hijack zone 1 and you have to switch back to your original input.
rec head is online now  
post #4789 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Rhune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanich View Post

Any Xbox One users here?
 
I received my X2000 earlier this week. It's my first HDMI receiver and I configured everything without issue - 5.1 setup with all HDMI sources.
 
However I'm hearing popping and clicking sounds on my Xbox One when scrolling through the dashboard menu tiles when using the 5.1 uncompressed sound. If I use the DTS option this doesn't happen - the sound is clean. I've tried all the uncompressed options on the XB1 and I hear pops and clicks on all of them - Stereo, 5.1 & 7.1 but never when using DTS.
 
I've updated to the latest firmware, reset the microprocessor, tried different HDMI cables and ports. I also connected the XB1 directly to my TV using stereo uncompressed and the menu sounds were clean.
 
I'm presuming there is a fault here as I've searched all over and found no reference to this.

I just bought an AVR-X2000 and have the same issue, i have the latest firmware. When the xbox one is set to uncompressed 7.1 output I get the popping, when set to DTS it is normal. I have a marantz 5006 receiver that the same xbox one used to be connected to where the menu sound was fine.

Luckly I don't spend much time navigating the xbox one menu so hasn't been a big deal but I do wish that Denon or Microsoft would fix it. Hopefully the xbox one will allow bitstreaming of everything sometime soon then it won't be an issue.
Rhune is offline  
post #4790 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,801
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 822 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troyd View Post

Does anyone know what platform the Denon DN-500AV is based off of? I've tried to get more detailed info about that pre/pro but haven't come up with much. I figured it was based off one of Denon's consumer AVRs but with no amps.

Going by its manual, it's quite different from any of D&M's consumer devices. The back panel layout is quite different (which suggests that it has different circuit boards) and it has no support for Audyssey.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #4791 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
etotheo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all.

 

I just pulled the trigger on the X1000. Pumped-up indeed as it's been some 17-years since the last receiver I purchased...

etotheo is offline  
post #4792 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Congrats. Start reading the Audessey FAQ. It will help with a lot of questions.
rec head is online now  
post #4793 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 02:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,141
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2272 Post(s)
Liked: 1828
Quote:
Originally Posted by atanatizante View Post

Hi and a warmly Happy New Year everybody!

First of all sorry for my poor English! Unfortunately is not my first language ...
Secondly I wanna purchase an X 2000 and need to know what chip-sets is used in order to do video up-scaling and video adjustments.
Primary I'll use the receiver for being a hub to my all audio&video equipments but on a secondary matter I also wanna digitize my old audio and VHS tapes.
Therefore I ask if this video chip-set (or maybe other chip-set) does things like TBC and 3D DNR, like my old Panasonic S-VHS VCR.
I`ve noticed the fact that it has a NR feature but this one is just for digital sources or both digital and analog one?
Had there other receivers that has those features above mentioned feel free and tell me about them ... at least 2 or 3 of them ...
And last but not least, bearing in mind that this receiver is an entry to mid level AV receiver, IMHO, could you guys recommend me a best buy 5.1 speaker system (or maybe other system) in the same entry to mid level budget (2 or 3 examples would be great)?

The X2000 uses the Analog Devices ADV8003 video chip. For a budget speaker setup, the Energy Take Classic 5.1 is often recommended in this thread. If your budget is < $500, rather than starting with a budget 5.1 setup, you may instead want to consider using those funds for a 3.0 or 2.1 setup to start and then add a sub/center, and surrounds when able.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4794 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
atanatizante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


The X2000 uses the Analog Devices ADV8003 video chip. For a budget speaker setup, the Energy Take Classic 5.1 is often recommended in this thread. If your budget is < $500, rather than starting with a budget 5.1 setup, you may instead want to consider using those funds for a 3.0 or 2.1 setup to start and then add a sub/center, and surrounds when able.


Thanx a lot for the quick response, jdsmoothie!

Along with the recommendations you made for me !

 

1. Now regarding the video chip it`s the same witch is used in the mighty 4520? Or am I wrong ?

2. Meanwhile I`ve read about ADV8003 data sheet and noticed that only digital video input could be enhanced. So analog video signal don`t receive any enhancement?

3. And finally, could be considered Pioneer VSX 1123 in the same league as X-2000? Or are they other? Name 2 or 3 contenders ...

 

Regards,

A.

atanatizante is offline  
post #4795 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,109
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1213 Post(s)
Liked: 1614
For many years, Denon has used the same video chip from the mid-level model up to the top tier, generally starting at the 2xxx level. Back when they switched the same ABT chip that the Oppo's used with the xx10 models, it was the same chip in the 2310CI all the way up to the 4810CI. Same now -- the 2113 (now X2000) on up all use the same chip and have the same capabilities for 4k scaling. Same with the Marantz equivalents; it's just cheaper to scale with similar chipsets across different models.

As to your second question, there is no scaling/processing on the analog video outputs. But you can still scale/enhance analog inputs because they will first be converted from analog to digital by a different section of the video block. The ADV chip doesn't do the conversion, that would have already happened. Essentially, the conversion and the scaling/enchancing are different chips. So in other words, if you are using an HDMI output to your display with analog video conversion enabled, all video signals will be digital by the time they hit the ADV scaling chip (if you have it turned on).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #4796 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
music_to_my_ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by music_to_my_ear View Post



Alright! I resolved the problem! .....I hope.....Soo far its been stable and I have not experienced ANY audio issues with any source. Im able to have audio come from the TV or receiver when I choose to have it that way by turning the tv off or leaving it on etc...

Ill post my solution if this problem has bothered someone else it can help them too.

A while back I switched the blu ray codec setting on the ps3 to bitstream because I wanted to see if the dolby and dts hd logos would light up and they did so I left it like that.

After a week or so twiddling with options and fiddling with other settings I just randomly decided to set the hd codec back to pcm and voila I was able to get audio back to the tv with the receiver off and have the audio stay with the receiver with it on.

I just dont have the dolby and dts logos light up on the receiver....only mutli ch in appears...which is fine....the sound is nonetheless lossless.

If anybody knows WHY this happens Id love to know because I would like to be able to choose as I wish eventually....especially if im watching 3D movies using the PS3 because the pS3 can only send audio as bitstream not pcm.

Any ideas why this occurs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Your TV is not capable of receiving bitstream audio, but it can receive stereo PCM 2.0 audio.

Back to square one...I wasn't getting audio from the tv when I turned on the ps3 today....soo frustrating
music_to_my_ear is offline  
post #4797 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 05:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,141
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2272 Post(s)
Liked: 1828
Quote:
Originally Posted by atanatizante View Post


Thanx a lot for the quick response, jdsmoothie!
Along with the recommendations you made for me !

1. Now regarding the video chip it`s the same witch is used in the mighty 4520? Or am I wrong ?
2. Meanwhile I`ve read about ADV8003 data sheet and noticed that only digital video input could be enhanced. So analog video signal don`t receive any enhancement?
3. And finally, could be considered Pioneer VSX 1123 in the same league as X-2000? Or are they other? Name 2 or 3 contenders ...

Regards,
A.

Yes, same chip as is used on the 4520, although 4520 also uses the ADV 7850 as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4798 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
atanatizante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


Yes, same chip as is used on the 4520, although 4520 also uses the ADV 7850 as well.


So only 4520 has the ADV 7850 chip or other receivers also have it?

Btw. where do I find a list with all the chip-sets X-2000 has?

atanatizante is offline  
post #4799 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 09:04 PM
Member
 
DavidBulluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, been a while since posting... good to be back! My 18 month old 2113 started overheating recently, culminating in me turning it on to watch a film, noticing that putrid burning electronics smell, almost unable to touch the top of the amp casing, and returning it for repairs under warranty. It seems to have lost DVD RCA input functionality which I had assigned to Zone 2 for Squeezebox input to outside speakers, but was functioning perfectly in every other way. I am assured it will be repaired under warranty but words such as "overdriven" & "minimum fee" etc. were coming freely from the guy that booked it in.
Opportunity knocks... have just set up my new X3000 and used it for a day. First impressions... more features than the 2113, lesser build quality (knobs on front very stiff to turn, one speaker connection pole nut was gunked up and difficult to operate).
I like tone controls on Zone 2.
I love the computer network interface for changing settings, assignments etc. (never noticed this on the 2113).
Sound so far is comparable.
Very slow and tedious navigating my NAS sound files, seems slower than the 2113.
The 2113? I have been looking for a network capable amp initially for stereo music use for another area... I have it now!

Cheers all.

David
DavidBulluss is offline  
post #4800 of 9905 Old 01-08-2014, 10:00 PM
Newbie
 
Jim Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Orlando, Fla.
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few question for the "Denon" experts. I presently have a AVR5700 which has worked flawlessly for many years, but obviously has no HDMI anything and it's signal processing is ancient. I am looking to replace it with an Denon X2000-3000 or 4000 which will feed a Sony VPLHW50es projector. As you would expect I have a couple of questions about which of the "x"'s would be best. wink.gif

1. I only need local 5.1... no remote zones except for maybe remote outside speakers.

2. I need at least two component inputs for a laserdisk player and DVD changer. (Yes I know but I still have stuff on LD....not on DVD)

3. Highly desirable to have one composite input for a beta video player. (lots of old stuff on beta)

4. At most I would need 3 HDMI inputs.

5. The AVR5700 has one annoying habit/feature. If the power glitches when the unit is off but in standby ( as in turned off by the remote), it will come back on with whatever sitting it had when turned off. Quite annoying to have the audio come on loud in the middle of the night! I have to remember to turn it off totally with the front panel switch. So the question is...... do these exhibit the same "characteristic"?

Thanks for the help! smile.gif

Jim
Jim Garrett is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off