The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post

You're correct, not HDMI to zone 3. I use an HDMI splitter that also copies the audio to optical. That way I can listen to music from the HTPC in all 3 zones. Zone 1 stays on HDMI and z2 and z3 are on a different input using the optical. Works great without any kind of lag that I can tell in the different zones. I don't think this would work if you want to hear bitstreamed HD audio in z3. I can't remember but could check.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=101&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=5557&seq=1&format=2

Wonderful

What about sending Internet Radio to Zone 2 via hdmi. Shouldn't that work?

What receiver model do you have? That changes the answers as the X3000 and X4000 have different capabilities than the lower level models as explained in the beginning of this thread.

Since you seem to be asking about Zone 2 HDMI, does that imply you have an X3000 / X4000? They actually CAN output digital audio signals (including HDMI) to the regular Zone 2/3 speaker outputs and/or pre-outs, but the input signal has to be 2.0 PCM.

The Zone 2 HDMI output is a "dumb" matrix switch output, all it can do is pass through an HDMI source to another HDMI sink in a different zone (e.g. a TV or a second receiver). It does not "convert" non HDMI signals to HDMI output, it simply passes through as a separate HDMI path.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 01:48 PM
Member
 
karun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
E400 receiver output went down

I own a E400 which I purchased in December. It is a great product and it was working fine till last night when it started giving problem.
When I turned it on in the night, I noticed that the power level for the USB/Network/Internet Radio was extremely low and I had to turn the volumn knob to 80 to hear something while till evening I was using only the volumn of upto 40.
Most of my use is network use and I play songs from my computer to this receiver about 95% of the times and it has suddenly become useless so early in its lifetime.

I would really appriciate any help.
karun is offline  
post #4953 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 01:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
First try a soft reset by unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. If still no joy, then try doing a network reset (see post #5 of this thread).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4954 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

What receiver model do you have? That changes the answers as the X3000 and X4000 have different capabilities than the lower level models as explained in the beginning of this thread.

Since you seem to be asking about Zone 2 HDMI, does that imply you have an X3000 / X4000? They actually CAN output digital audio signals (including HDMI) to the regular Zone 2/3 speaker outputs and/or pre-outs, but the input signal has to be 2.0 PCM.

The Zone 2 HDMI output is a "dumb" matrix switch output, all it can do is pass through an HDMI source to another HDMI sink in a different zone (e.g. a TV or a second receiver). It does not "convert" non HDMI signals to HDMI output, it simply passes through as a separate HDMI path.

X4000 here.

I could have sworn I had internet radio working via hdmi in zone 2 but now its not. arg. I'll try a reset.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #4955 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 02:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
I wouldn't do the reset. As batpig already noted, it's not possible to pass anything other than the audio/video of an HDMI 1-6 source to the Zone 2 (HDMI) monitor output.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4956 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Internet radio is working in z3 for me.
rec head is offline  
post #4957 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 05:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
The network sources will pass on both Zone 2/3 speaker posts/pre-outs, just not on the Zone 2 (HDMI) monitor out.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4958 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by emattias View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

4. Yes, any audio only source can be mixed with any HDMI video source

Hmm. I've gotten conflicting answers on this question. Could someone else confirm or deny this? No offence batpig! Thanks for answering me!

Also, is it true that the answers for the Denon receivers are identical with the Marantz answers? Is there any difference between either brands app except for the branding?

None taken wink.gif

Have you read through the first few posts of this thread? It actually discusses this specifically as this "enhancement" of the Video Select feature is a brand new addition to these E/X series models. So some of the "conflicting information" may be due to the fact that this current implementation is relatively new and is not applicable to older models prior to this current model year.

So, to be clear:

1. For many many years Denon receivers have had a "Video Select" feature with which you could select a different video source to "mix" with the current audio source. For example, if you were listening to a CD, you could use "Video Select" to choose the video source for the SAT/CBL input and watch a game while listening to music.

2. The advent of HDMI created a lot of incompatibilities with this feature, and until this year Denons basically said "no dice" when trying to use Video Select with HDMI sources. The feature was still there, but it only functioned with an analog video stream. So if you wanted to watch the game while listening to music, you would have to connect your cable/sat box with analog component video instead of or in addition to the HDMI connection. There were also workarounds, such as connecting your cable box directly to the TV with HDMI and sending the audio separately to the receiver with an optical digital cable, so you were divorcing the video feed from the audio feed.

3. On the E/X series models, Denon this year modernized the Video Select feature by allowing you to "mix" an audio only source with a separate video feed that can finally be HDMI. So if for example you are listening to an Airplay stream or Internet Radio or Pandora, you can hit the "Option" button on the remote and then select any video source to mix with that audio source. However, this ONLY applies to "audio only" sources -- tuner, network audio streams, CD input -- and you CAN'T mix two different HDMI sources (audio from one, video from another).
rec head likes this.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #4959 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The network sources will pass on both Zone 2/3 speaker posts/pre-outs, just not on the Zone 2 (HDMI) monitor out.

well that answers that. Thanks.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #4960 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I see an input on Zone 2 / 3 called SOURCE.

what is this for ?
newfmp3 is offline  
post #4961 of 8280 Old 01-17-2014, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 925
It makes the other zone mirror whatever source is selected in Main Zone.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #4962 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 12:06 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Don't recall if this was already posted or not .. but Audioholics recently named the X4000 as the AVR of the Year. smile.gif

http://www.audioholics.com/product-awards/2013-audioholics-product-year?utm_source=CEG&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=YEC15845
ambesolman likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4963 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 12:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rider600 View Post

Hi Guys, I have a SONY 65W850A and DENON AVR-X2000.

I need some help with connection the two...

I currently have a CBL box connected to the receiver on HDMI 1 which is ARC compatible.
When i have the CBL/SAT on the receiver and on the TV the surround works. However, if i select the "TV AUDIO" on the receiver and try to play something off the USB stick the sound doesn't work.

Any ideas?

I enabled the HDMI connect on the receiver already but can't get the sound to work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Thanks.

The ARC feature is only used when passing audio from the TV back to the AVR via the HDMI cable that connects the AVR to the TV. If the USB stick is connected to the TV, you would have to check your TV's owner's manual to see if that audio will pass over the HDMI(ARC) connection.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#user_E4

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4964 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Rider600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The ARC feature is only used when passing audio from the TV back to the AVR via the HDMI cable that connects the AVR to the TV. If the USB stick is connected to the TV, you would have to check your TV's owner's manual to see if that audio will pass over the HDMI(ARC) connection.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#user_E4

Thanks for the info.
What I thought was that if I was watching something on the TV, that audio would get passed back to the AV Receiver. Even thought it was through a different input on the TV....Am i incorrect in assuming that?
Rider600 is offline  
post #4965 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 10:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
Again, each TV is different so you'll have to check your TV's Owner's manual to confirm whether that is the case or not.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4966 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
Rider600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Again, each TV is different so you'll have to check your TV's Owner's manual to confirm whether that is the case or not.


I haven't been able to find something in the manual yet. I posted in a couple of other threads about the TV. Hopefully something useful will come of it...
Rider600 is offline  
post #4967 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 11:15 AM
Member
 
wadec22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Don't recall if this was already posted or not .. but Audioholics recently named the X4000 as the AVR of the Year. smile.gif

http://www.audioholics.com/product-awards/2013-audioholics-product-year?utm_source=CEG&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=YEC15845

Not surprised. I just replaced my Emotiva UMC-1 with the X4000 and couldn't be happier. Using it as a preamp for my LPA-1 and its an absolute dream.

Denon X4000
Emotiva LPA-1
Epson 5020ub::::100" ES Cinewhite
PS4::::Toshiba HD-A35::::Marantz UD5007
Martin Logan Stage center::::Martin Logan Aerius I as L/R::::Canton GLE 402s as R/RS
PSA XS15se:::::Klipsch 12" Synergy sub::::Polk psw110 10" sub
wadec22 is online now  
post #4968 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 11:47 AM
 
Spackles312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hoping for some help. Just picked up an X1000 from BB as an open box special. Unfortunately there was no remote so they gave me a remote for an X3000. As I have not set this up yet and will not be able to for a week or 2, I'm concerned if there will be any problems that I will be stuck with as BB only gives 15day return timeframe. Thanks guys.
Spackles312 is offline  
post #4969 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 12:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
The X3000 remote should work just fine, rather it will just have more functionality available than would the X1000 remote. If you have multiple remotes for other devices as well, consider a Harmony remote which you can then download the settings for the X1000 to the Harmony. There are also smart phone "remote" apps that can control it if you plan on connecting it to your home's wifi network. Note, however, that as it is an open box unit, the first thing you will want to do is open up the manual (or look at post #5 of this thread) and reset the microprocessor to ensure all settings are returned to their factory default settings.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4970 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 925
Worst case scenario you can get repairs user warranty. You have 3 yrs of coverage.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #4971 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I must say, so far so good with my new x4000. it replaced an Yamaha 6150 (573) in my living room which is our smaller setup in the house. it sounds considerably better. Sub, surrounds, separation effects, it just sounds so much better and its the first time I've let the auto setup with the mic (multeq) do it's thing and leave it alone. It sounds so good in fact I'm wanting to use it in my theater as a pre-amp. I have an old Yamaha RX-V 4600 in there with a full Axiom M80 setup/HSU subs, and I think the Denon would be great in there. Which means, i need another Denon for the small setup again. I wouldn't need all the swtching and zone capability to justify another x4000 so a lesser model would do just fine.

So if i got a x1000 or 2000 just how much of a difference would I hear considering they don't have the same version MultEQ?
newfmp3 is offline  
post #4972 of 8280 Old 01-18-2014, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
TommmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I can't get my 4000 to output to the subwoofer in two channel mode for music. I am using an Apple TV box to the receiver with Hdmi. Tried setting the bass option to sub+ in the menu and no difference. Speakers set to small. Sub symbol doesn't light up and no bass or signal to the subs .Any ideas? Not sure what I am missing. Thanks
TommmyJ is offline  
post #4973 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 03:44 AM
Newbie
 
nmad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

3. On the E/X series models, Denon this year modernized the Video Select feature by allowing you to "mix" an audio only source with a separate video feed that can finally be HDMI. So if for example you are listening to an Airplay stream or Internet Radio or Pandora, you can hit the "Option" button on the remote and then select any video source to mix with that audio source. However, this ONLY applies to "audio only" sources -- tuner, network audio streams, CD input -- and you CAN'T mix two different HDMI sources (audio from one, video from another).
In pictures:






Quote:
Originally Posted by TommmyJ View Post

I can't get my 4000 to output to the subwoofer in two channel mode for music. I am using an Apple TV box to the receiver with Hdmi. Tried setting the bass option to sub+ in the menu and no difference. Speakers set to small. Sub symbol doesn't light up and no bass or signal to the subs .Any ideas? Not sure what I am missing. Thanks
Do you have subwoofer = on in the speaker setup?
If your subwoofer mode is LFE only, the subwoofer won't work in DIRECT mode. You should try Stereo instead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If the issue presents with all sources, I would check for a loose HDMI cable connection between the AVR and the TV. You may also want to try setting the i/p Scaler setting (p. 139 OM) to OFF for each source if you are not using this feature.
Thanks for your reply. The issue presented with all sources. I reconnected the HDMI-cables and haven't had the problem since. Really strange! I would rather have identified the problem though..
RayWK likes this.

Samsung UE40EH6030 || Denon AVR-X2000 || 2x Dali Zensor 3 || Dali Zensor Vokal || 2x Dali Zensor 1 || SVS SB12-NSD || 4x Norstone Esse Stand || Auralex SubDude
nmad is offline  
post #4974 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 03:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommmyJ View Post

I can't get my 4000 to output to the subwoofer in two channel mode for music. I am using an Apple TV box to the receiver with Hdmi. Tried setting the bass option to sub+ in the menu and no difference. Speakers set to small. Sub symbol doesn't light up and no bass or signal to the subs .Any ideas? Not sure what I am missing. Thanks

This happened to me awhile back on my X4000 as well (no sub icons appeared), even with the speakers set to SMALL the STEREO mode would not engage the subwoofer. IIRC, the way I resolved it was to cycle the sub setting from LFE to LFE+MAIN back and forth a few times. I haven't had any issues since then. You can also try a soft reset by unplugging the unit for 10 minutes.
RayWK likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4975 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
TommmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ok thanks. Yes the subs are showing there in speaker setup. Shows 2 in there. I will try cycling through the lfe/lfe+main a few times. So just unplugging for 10 minutes will reset it? I saw mention of this problem earlier in the thread and that denon had said it was a bug or something. Be nice to fix it. The sub doesn't work in direct, pure direct or stereo at all. It does in Pro logic music or neo.

Could a hard reset be needed and anyone know how to do it on this unit? Thanks
TommmyJ is offline  
post #4976 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 05:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
^^
A "soft reset" by unplugging the unit for 10 minutes will resolve some issues without making any setting changes. A "hard reset" (see post #5 of this thread or your Owner's manual) will reset all settings to their factory defaults. I no longer have any issues with the subs engaging in either STEREO mode or DIRECT/PURE DIRECT (w/ sub set to LFE+MAIN).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4977 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 06:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,016
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 1318
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmad View Post


Thanks for your reply. The issue presented with all sources. I reconnected the HDMI-cables and haven't had the problem since. Really strange! I would rather have identified the problem though..

Then it was likely a loose HDMI cable connection. This issue has been known to present when owners have had domestic help that dust around the unit or perhaps a cat that likes messing with the cables as either can result in loosening of the cables. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4978 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
TommmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
After a hard reset the subwoofer started working correctly. Not sure what the deal was.
TommmyJ is offline  
post #4979 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is is possible to set my subwoofers louder for music mode than for movie mode? My subs are great for movies but for stereo In music mode the bass is almost non existent.
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #4980 of 8280 Old 01-19-2014, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm considering replacing my Denon 1909 receiver sometime mid April. So, I'm starting to research now and my first instinct is to go with another Denon. Would I be correct in saying the x2000 is roughly equivalent to my 1909? Obviously the x2000 would have newer features, I'm mainly talking about power and sound quality.

If so, I'd lean towards the x3000. If/when I upgrade I want to have a little more power. With that said, would the x3000 be a noticeable upgrade to a 1909 in terms of sound quality? Other than great sound I absolutely need more HDMI inputs. Having some type of way (preferably wireless) for my wife to connect her iphone/ipad would be a nice feature. Hopefully the Audyssey with the x3000 is as good or better than the one with the 1909. I wasn't aware there were different "versions" until recently.
I also would like a better on screen setup interface and configuration and network connectivity.


BTW I only have a 5.1 setup and it's doubtful I'll ever be able to go 7.1, etc. Not sure if that matters, just wanted to mention it.

So, for any of the folks here that upgraded from a 1909 to the x3000, I'd love to know your thoughts.
de8212 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2309ci Receiver , Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Denon , Denon Electronics , Polk Audio Monitor70 Series Ii Floorstanding Loudspeaker , Onkyo Tx Nr626 7 2 Channel Network Audio Video Receiver , Denon Avr E200 , Denon Avr E300 , Denon Avr E400 , Denon Avr X2000 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X3000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X4000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X1000 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off