The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 202 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6031 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

On my iPhone I see a little trash can icon

Mine, too; that was one of the rare times I post from a Comp, LoL.

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6032 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 06:38 PM
Member
 
sealmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well I should (fingers crossed) be taking delivery on Monday for my new X4000.
It will replace my aging Integra 40.3 which surprisingly still has a working HDMI board.

I am REALLY looking forward to comparing (XT32, SUB & LFC VS. XT) the different version of Audyssey.
Also looking forward to a cooler running unit than the 40.3.
sealmaniac is offline  
post #6033 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sean Spamilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Hey guys - any way to turn up the volume on the TV input on the X4000? I've always got to crank it to about + 1 or 2 over reference, but if I forget and switch back to my media player input ( such as the PC for music ) and forget to turn it back down it just about blows my speakers when I hit play. I just did it now, and as I was scrambling actually managed to turn it UP to about +5. My neighbors must be wondering what the hell - lol. Thanks.
Sean Spamilton is online now  
post #6034 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 168
You can adjust each input volume independently.

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is online now  
post #6035 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sean Spamilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Grooms View Post

You can adjust each input volume independently.

Great, how? I've fiddled with it for hours. I can turn up the source level on the digital inputs, but that just seems to make everything louder. I can't seem to find the independent setting for TV input.

EDIT: Figured it out. The GUI only lets you adjust source level under setup as source level for all digital (or analog) sources, you have to do it while actually on the source you want to adjust. Unfortunately as I have my Denon remote in sync with my tv, when on the TV input the setup buttons pull up the TV's settings, not the receivers. I was able to get to it while on TV input through my harmony ( the other option would have been removing the sync from the remote ). Cheers!
Tom Grooms likes this.
Sean Spamilton is online now  
post #6036 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 99

I'm not a cable person. Some people will disagree with this, but any reasonably built interconnect that isn't too long will be fine.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #6037 of 9455 Old 03-08-2014, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,684
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

I'm not a cable person. Some people will disagree with this, but any reasonably built interconnect that isn't too long will be fine.

Thanks. Was wondering if I could use a composite cable I have lying around since the ends are basically the same?
ambesolman is online now  
post #6038 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 12:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
My room is pretty limited as to where I can put speakers. Right now I run 5.1 and the surrounds are actually a tad behind the couch but toed in. not ideal, but it is what I have to work with.

With the X4000 would it be possible to go with seven channels using front wides, C, L+R and Surround L+R without additional amps?

If I try to use rear speakers, they will literally be less than a foot from our ears since the couch is backed right up to the wall...not sure if that makes sense. Could be annoying.
McStyvie is offline  
post #6039 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 12:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 143
When do the new models get announced/released again? I'm thinking of returning mine because I don't like the controller. I don't like the fact that I can't feel my around the inputs like the 1712 controller that had BD on top left. This one has 2 buttons I will never use on the top left. Bad design.

Sony KDL-70R550A (passive 3D tv)
Denon x4000 (amazing sound correcting software)
Klipsch RF-62IIs (amazing horns)
Klipsch RC-62II (so clear)
Klipsch RS-41IIs (so full)
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d (so boom)
Teremei is offline  
post #6040 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718

This is a 75ohm coax digital cable used for a subwoofer cable. Nothing wrong with it but all you need is a regular RCA cable.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6041 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

My room is pretty limited as to where I can put speakers. Right now I run 5.1 and the surrounds are actually a tad behind the couch but toed in. not ideal, but it is what I have to work with.

With the X4000 would it be possible to go with seven channels using front wides, C, L+R and Surround L+R without additional amps?

If I try to use rear speakers, they will literally be less than a foot from our ears since the couch is backed right up to the wall...not sure if that makes sense. Could be annoying.

Yes, this is the configuration I use as well. Keep in mind that this is a 7CH AVR so with only the 5 basic channels to start with as required, you can add either (1) Surround Back, (2) Front Height, or (3) Front Wide for the 2 additional CH without having to add any additional amp.
McStyvie likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6042 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post

When do the new models get announced/released again? I'm thinking of returning mine because I don't like the controller. I don't like the fact that I can't feel my around the inputs like the 1712 controller that had BD on top left. This one has 2 buttons I will never use on the top left. Bad design.

The remote actually has glow-in-the-dark buttons so simply place it up against a bright light for a minute or two and you'll be able to see the buttons in the dark. Aside from that, it shouldn't be that tough to just memorize the current position of the BD button on the remote. Aside from that, the new models are generally announced in April and released starting with the lower models in May.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6043 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Awesome JD, thumbs up and thanks!
McStyvie is offline  
post #6044 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post

I'm not a cable person. Some people will disagree with this, but any reasonably built interconnect that isn't too long will be fine.

I agree. Spend the money on more blu rays and popcorn instead of wasting it on expensive cables.
McStyvie is offline  
post #6045 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Sorry, one more question...

I have my two subs giving me a really nice response now with my mini DSP (calibrated to as smooth as possible before running Audyssey Mult EQ).

When I get the X4000 this week, would it make sense to just keep the dsp in there and then run XT32 + sub on top of it without redoing it? Or is the DSP redundant now with xt32?

At some point, I would like to test and do graphs with and without DSP. I am just hellishly busy for the foreseeable future, but if I do, I can post the results.
McStyvie is offline  
post #6046 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
May or may not be redundant, rather you would have to try it both ways to determine if you can hear a difference as rooms are different.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6047 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 04:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Ok ,thank you! Will have to do smile.gif
McStyvie is offline  
post #6048 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 05:41 AM
Member
 
jj-34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't post erase X only show (active) while your post is the last one ?

Later you can always erase the text .
jj-34 is offline  
post #6049 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 05:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,182
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1718
For me, it appears for all my posts regardless of position in the thread which is why I thought this was the case for everyone else as well. I have PM'd an Admin to understand what the specs are on the red "x" delete icon although did find a thread in the Operations forum where it is noted that for some reason the new Huddler platform requires a certain period of time being a member before the delete icon shows up. Good to know. Now it makes sense why newer members have just erased their text and left the word "delete" in the post.
James Parsons likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6050 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 11:55 AM
Member
 
jwells222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an X4000 connected to a Samsung F8500 plasma and external 5.1 speakers. All of my source components are connected to the X4000. The TV and receiver are connected to each other by way of HDMI-ARC connections on both units. Because I'm using ARC, I don't have an audio-only connection from the TV to the receiver. Everything is fine except when I stream a movies over the internet, in which case the external speakers don't output audio. Consequently, I have to use the TV speakers. How do I get sound to the external speakers when streaming? I don't believe I should have to use an optical connection from the TV to the receiver as I'm using HDMI ARC connections.
jwells222 is offline  
post #6051 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,684
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

This is a 75ohm coax digital cable used for a subwoofer cable. Nothing wrong with it but all you need is a regular RCA cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

I agree. Spend the money on more blu rays and popcorn instead of wasting it on expensive cables.

I agree with you there. So can I just use one of these and split it for each LR preout...
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021814&p_id=5347&seq=1&format=2&utm_expid=58369800-11.R-enhtUGRrSdHz5vzpVS2g.0&utm_referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.monoprice.com%2FCategory%3Fc_id%3D102%26cp_id%3D10256

...instead of two of these?

http://shop.emotiva.com/collections/interconnects/products/xrca
ambesolman is online now  
post #6052 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 12:47 PM
Member
 
rgb24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwells222 View Post

I have an X4000 connected to a Samsung F8500 plasma and external 5.1 speakers. All of my source components are connected to the X4000. The TV and receiver are connected to each other by way of HDMI-ARC connections on both units. Because I'm using ARC, I don't have an audio-only connection from the TV to the receiver. Everything is fine except when I stream a movies over the internet, in which case the external speakers don't output audio. Consequently, I have to use the TV speakers. How do I get sound to the external speakers when streaming? I don't believe I should have to use an optical connection from the TV to the receiver as I'm using HDMI ARC connections.

On my Samsung I have to use HDMI 3 on the TV to use Arc. Also make sure you have HDMI control set to on ( Denon x4000), and use tv audio source mode on your x4000. Also might have to set your tv to use external speakers if you haven't already.
rgb24 is offline  
post #6053 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 99

Sure, why not. Just don't buy a cable any longer than you need. Is your Emotiva amp really going to be 10 feet away from your x4000? The Emotiva cable you linked to is only a couple of feet long, and I'm sure Monoprive sells shorter pairs of RCA interconnects, like this 3-foot (i.e., ~1 meter) pair:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021814&p_id=2869&seq=1&format=2&utm_expid=58369800-11.R-enhtUGRrSdHz5vzpVS2g.0&utm_referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.monoprice.com%2FProduct%2F%3Fc_id%3D102%26cp_id%3D10218%26cs_id%3D1021814%26p_id%3D5347%26seq%3D1%26format%3D1

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #6054 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 01:39 PM
Member
 
jwells222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgb24 View Post

On my Samsung I have to use HDMI 3 on the TV to use Arc. Also make sure you have HDMI control set to on ( Denon x4000), and use tv audio source mode on your x4000. Also might have to set your tv to use external speakers if you haven't already.

I don't think HDMI Control applies to my issue. The choices under that heading all relate to source components on the remote, e.g. DVD, Blu-ray, media player, etc., none of which apply to streaming. So it appears that you do need to connect optical out on the Samsung to TV optical in on the X4000, and then choose TV Audio on the remote. When I do this, I get audio when streaming Amazon Video.
jwells222 is offline  
post #6055 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 01:50 PM
Member
 
rgb24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwells222 View Post

I don't think HDMI Control applies to my issue. The choices under that heading all relate to source components on the remote, e.g. DVD, Blu-ray, media player, etc., none of which apply to streaming. So it appears that you do need to connect optical out on the Samsung to TV optical in on the X4000, and then choose TV Audio on the remote. When I do this, I get audio when streaming Amazon Video.

It works on mine without the optical cable. This is from page 37 of the Denon manuel.

Use an HDMI cable to connect a TV that is compatible with the ARC function to this unit.
Set “HDMI Control” (vpage 163) to “On” when using a TV that supports the ARC function.

HDMI Control
You can link operations with devices connected to HDMI and
compatible with HDMI Control.
On : Use HDMI control function.
Off (Default) : Do not use HDMI control function.
rgb24 is offline  
post #6056 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 02:17 PM
Member
 
jwells222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgb24 View Post

It works on mine without the optical cable. This is from page 37 of the Denon manuel.

Use an HDMI cable to connect a TV that is compatible with the ARC function to this unit.
Set “HDMI Control” (vpage 163) to “On” when using a TV that supports the ARC function.

HDMI Control
You can link operations with devices connected to HDMI and
compatible with HDMI Control.
On : Use HDMI control function.
Off (Default) : Do not use HDMI control function.

OK, but when I select On for "Use HDMI Control Function", it then prompts "Pass Through Source", which has the following choices: cbl/sat, blu-ray, dvd, game, media player. None of these apply to streaming on line content.
jwells222 is offline  
post #6057 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 02:25 PM
Member
 
jwells222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I it looks like you advice works. I choose ON for "Use HDMI Control Function" and just chose one of the choices (Cbl/Sat). Streaming now works without the optical cable.
What exactly does "Use HDMI Control Function" do? Why is there only one choice for "Pass Through Source"?
jwells222 is offline  
post #6058 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 02:28 PM
Member
 
rgb24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwells222 View Post

OK, but when I select On for "Use HDMI Control Function", it then prompts "Pass Through Source", which has the following choices: cbl/sat, blu-ray, dvd, game, media player. None of these apply to streaming on line content.

The pass through source is for something different than you are trying to do, Just set hdmi control to on and see if you have sound when streaming from your TV. Do you have the x4000 hooked up to HDMI 3 on your TV.

Pass Through Source
The AV receiver will “pass through” the sources HDMI signal when
in standby.
Last : Choose this option to “pass through” the last used HDMI input
video source.
CBL/SAT (Default) / DVD / Blu-ray / GAME / AUX1 / AUX2 / MEDIA
PLAYER / CDz : Choose one of these HDMI sources to be passed
through when the AV receiver is in standby.
zz “Pass Through Source” can be set when any of the HDMI connectors is
assigned to “CD” for the input source in the “Input Assign” (vpage 168)
setting.
%
• “Pass Through Source” can be set when “HDMI Control” is set to “On” or
“HDMI Pass Through” is set to “On”.
rgb24 is offline  
post #6059 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,971
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 1566
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwells222 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgb24 View Post

It works on mine without the optical cable. This is from page 37 of the Denon manuel.

Use an HDMI cable to connect a TV that is compatible with the ARC function to this unit.
Set “HDMI Control” (vpage 163) to “On” when using a TV that supports the ARC function.

HDMI Control
You can link operations with devices connected to HDMI and
compatible with HDMI Control.
On : Use HDMI control function.
Off (Default) : Do not use HDMI control function.

OK, but when I select On for "Use HDMI Control Function", it then prompts "Pass Through Source", which has the following choices: cbl/sat, blu-ray, dvd, game, media player. None of these apply to streaming on line content.

ARC is simply one of the features of HDMI CEC, the protocol which allows HDMI connected devices to communicate and control each other. Denon brands it HDMI Control, Samsung calls it Anynet+ and other brands have different names.

Other features may include linked power control, volume control, source switching etc.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #6060 of 9455 Old 03-09-2014, 03:02 PM
Member
 
jwells222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgb24 View Post

The pass through source is for something different than you are trying to do, Just set hdmi control to on and see if you have sound when streaming from your TV. Do you have the x4000 hooked up to HDMI 3 on your TV.

Pass Through Source
The AV receiver will “pass through” the sources HDMI signal when
in standby.
Last : Choose this option to “pass through” the last used HDMI input
video source.
CBL/SAT (Default) / DVD / Blu-ray / GAME / AUX1 / AUX2 / MEDIA
PLAYER / CDz : Choose one of these HDMI sources to be passed
through when the AV receiver is in standby.
zz “Pass Through Source” can be set when any of the HDMI connectors is
assigned to “CD” for the input source in the “Input Assign” (vpage 168)
setting.
%
• “Pass Through Source” can be set when “HDMI Control” is set to “On” or
“HDMI Pass Through” is set to “On”.


It appears you are correct. Like an idiot, I did not have the HDMI cable in HDMI 3. All is now good. Thanks for the advice. Really appreciate.
jwells222 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off