The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 275 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

drwinlied's Avatar drwinlied
12:54 PM Liked: 17
post #8221 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 119
Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
But in reference to Chris' quote above, I would NEVER recommend having the first mic position be WAY off center. For example there are compromised living room setups where the main listening position is a couch over to the side of the room. It would be silly to try and optimize for something that terribly wrong to begin with.
A thousand times, this. My last two main rooms have had the listening areas off to either side of the center (couches against walls). For me, first mic spot is basically the center of the room, closest central location to all listening positions (between the couches in the middle of the floor). I think I did that right, anyway haha.
Yrd's Avatar Yrd
01:35 PM Liked: 202
post #8222 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 3,040
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Depends on the model you buy. If it doesn't come with power, then no.

Alright, help me out then. If I get and x2000 or higher and get the bluetooth adapter. Which model does NOT require and external power brick?

I'm talking about the official denon adapter meant to add bluetooth support to these receivers.


Apparently I'm mistaken, I thought for sure I saw Denon bluetooth brick before. I must have been mistaking the Yamaha adapter for Denon.

I've been shopping for receivers for a while, it's all jumbled together now, I guess.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
01:42 PM Liked: 1783
post #8223 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Not aware of one by Denon, however, as previously stated .... if the adapter comes with power then it uses that power, if it does not come with power then it does not require power.
Yrd's Avatar Yrd
01:50 PM Liked: 202
post #8224 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 3,040
Joined: Mar 2008
I don't want to use an adapter. It was an option I was weighing with the older models, to save money. I'd rather get one of the new 2014 models that have it built in. Which I will probably do, but I need to wait for a bargain.
savora's Avatar savora
01:55 PM Liked: 10
post #8225 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 40
Joined: Sep 2006
I have PSB T2 towers and surrounds with 2 SB 13 SVS subs. When I run audyssey, I note that audyssey sets my fronts and center as large and the rest as small. It also sets the crossover for 40 hz for fronts and 60 for center. I can go over to manual settings and change to small and crossover higher. . However, if I am running the system and set it to audyssey, is the processor adjusting things so it takes into account the new small setting for speakers and crossover?

I also note that I am not getting as much bass as I would expect. I use the sub HT and set the sub volume at -17 db and the denon sets it at -9 db.

Thanks for help in advance!
03Cobra's Avatar 03Cobra
02:58 PM Liked: 16
post #8226 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 136
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Speaking of the Denon X2000 on clearance, we've only got 2 left with no more stock available, so call now if this model meets your requirements.
Is denon replacing the X2000 with something else?

Im in the market to replace my 2310CI---Will the X2000 allow me to watch 3D content as I know my current denon will not-thanks!!
batpig's Avatar batpig
02:58 PM Liked: 1611
post #8227 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 25,085
Joined: Feb 2007
Savora -- All of the above well covered in the audyssey FAQs. Many links at my website.
batpig's Avatar batpig
03:01 PM Liked: 1611
post #8228 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 25,085
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Cobra View Post
Is denon replacing the X2000 with something else?

Im in the market to replace my 2310CI---Will the X2000 allow me to watch 3D content as I know my current denon will not-thanks!!
The X2000 is last years model which is now discontinued. There is a new 2014 Denon model thread.

All the recent models support 3D
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
03:04 PM Liked: 104
post #8229 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 2,608
Joined: Jul 2005
Panurgy turnaround time

What have people's experiences been with the turnaround time to get an AVR repaired by Panurgy under factory warranty?
mdavej's Avatar mdavej
03:17 PM Liked: 444
post #8230 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 10,284
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
Exactly. 2pacalypsenow said "the x4000 will only upscale analog through the front inputs :-/" so I asked him if I understood him correctly since the manual does not make that distinction.
Sorry, I totally missed that. I thought you were responding to jdsmoothie. We're all in agreement then, except 2pacolypsenow, who is apparently mistaken.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:38 PM Liked: 1783
post #8231 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Panurgy turnaround time

What have people's experiences been with the turnaround time to get an AVR repaired by Panurgy under factory warranty?
Generally much quicker than local shops (eg. 1-2 weeks).
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:41 PM Liked: 1783
post #8232 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Cobra View Post
Is denon replacing the X2000 with something else?

Im in the market to replace my 2310CI---Will the X2000 allow me to watch 3D content as I know my current denon will not-thanks!!
Denon models are replaced every year. The HDMI 1.4 AVRs that were first released in 2010 (ie. XX11 models) were the first to pass full 1080p 3D video, a feature which continues on the 2013 HDMI 1.4 and 2014 HDMI 2.0 models.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:46 PM Liked: 1783
post #8233 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by savora View Post
I have PSB T2 towers and surrounds with 2 SB 13 SVS subs. When I run audyssey, I note that audyssey sets my fronts and center as large and the rest as small. It also sets the crossover for 40 hz for fronts and 60 for center. I can go over to manual settings and change to small and crossover higher. . However, if I am running the system and set it to audyssey, is the processor adjusting things so it takes into account the new small setting for speakers and crossover?

I also note that I am not getting as much bass as I would expect. I use the sub HT and set the sub volume at -17 db and the denon sets it at -9 db.

Thanks for help in advance!
Correct. The settings you make in Manual Setup become the "active" settings and override any settings made by the AVR in Auto Setup. Also many prefer to boost the Subwoofer level at least +5db or whatever amount suits your preference, ideally not going much above 0db (eg. -9db + 5db = -4db).
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:48 PM Liked: 1783
post #8234 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
I don't want to use an adapter. It was an option I was weighing with the older models, to save money. I'd rather get one of the new 2014 models that have it built in. Which I will probably do, but I need to wait for a bargain.
I'd also be reviewing the 2014 Denon S/X Series thread as a couple of new owners are experiencing Bluetooth issues.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post25766889
Yrd's Avatar Yrd
05:32 PM Liked: 202
post #8235 of 9820
07-15-2014 | Posts: 3,040
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
I'd also be reviewing the 2014 Denon S/X Series thread as a couple of new owners are experiencing Bluetooth issues.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post25766889

I'm reviewing all threads that pertain to models in my budget and feature list.

I was getting overly excited for the new models, since they are so close. Looks like I'll be waiting for more of last year's models to get discounted before I count some models out.

X2000 is a nice price, but I'd rather have 7 HDMI inputs on the back panel.
Randyman...'s Avatar Randyman...
08:37 PM Liked: 10
post #8236 of 9820
07-16-2014 | Posts: 178
Joined: Jun 2008
Just joined the X4000 club on Monday. I've yet to run Audyssey (planned on Saturday), but am hoping for a noticeable improvement over the NAD T175HD w/MultEQ-XT it is replacing (at less than half the cost might I add!). So far very impressed with the general SQ and neat GUI and bells and whistles.

Thanks for the wealth of info in this thread. I scoured the first 50 pages before I pulled the trigger.

As you were
lemonslush's Avatar lemonslush
05:15 AM Liked: 87
post #8237 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 845
Joined: Feb 2013
I read the trouble shooting guide and my issues with airplay. I can see it just fine. I can also select it, but when I try to play music either from iTunes or spotlight it disconnects and nothing plays.

The network tested out fine and I successfully did the update. It's getting a wifi signal not sure what the issue is.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
05:18 AM Liked: 1783
post #8238 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Did you try doing a soft reset (ie. unplug unit for 10 minutes)?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
10:48 AM Liked: 1783
post #8239 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
So I picked up a Kill-A-Watt meter to determine for myself just how much power is drawn under a few different scenarios. Really points out just how little additional power is required at average listening levels (eg. -20db/60) and the logarithmic increase as the AVR master volume approachs reference level (ie. 0db/80).


Dyn EQ - ON
Dyn Volume - OFF
Network Standby - 4W
ON (No source playing) - 72W


Source: DirecTV DVR
Source audio: Opening scene to Quantum of Solice (DD 5.1)
Surround mode: DTS Neo:X - Cinema + Front Wide (7 speakers)

ON (-20db/60): 73W
ON (-10db/70): 80W
ON (-0db/80): 120W


Source: PS3
Source audio: Lighted fuse scene at beginning of Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocal (Blu Ray - DD TrueHD 7.1)
Surround mode: DTS Neo:X - Cinema + Front Wide (7 speakers)

ON (-20db/60): 80W
ON (-10db/70): 90W
ON (-0db/80): 190W


Source: Network
Source audio: Pandora
Surround mode: Multi CH Stereo (7 speakers)

ON (-60db/20): 72W
ON (-30db/50): 81W

-------------------------

So then at average listening volume (ie. -20db/60) with the AVR on for 12 hours/day/365 days, my electric bill is only $25/year or roughly $2/month.
Sk76
12:10 PM Liked: 2
post #8240 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 29
Joined: Jun 2014
Planning to buy Denon X4000 and could see it is for sale on Abe's of Maine website for $829. It says brand new with warranty. Wondering how come as everywhere else it's $1299. Anyone with any experience or comments on the risks there may be


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mdavej's Avatar mdavej
01:06 PM Liked: 444
post #8241 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 10,284
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sk76 View Post
Planning to buy Denon X4000 and could see it is for sale on Abe's of Maine website for $829. It says brand new with warranty. Wondering how come as everywhere else it's $1299. Anyone with any experience or comments on the risks there may be
Google them and decide for yourself. They're a typical fast talking, dishonest, high pressure, bait-and-switch outfit out of Brooklyn (not Maine). If you run the gauntlet, you might actually get that deal. Or it might not work out so well. Personally, I'd shop elsewhere.
batpig's Avatar batpig
01:08 PM Liked: 1611
post #8242 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 25,085
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sk76 View Post
Planning to buy Denon X4000 and could see it is for sale on Abe's of Maine website for $829. It says brand new with warranty. Wondering how come as everywhere else it's $1299. Anyone with any experience or comments on the risks there may be


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Denon enforces MAP with online pricing advertisements, so you are not going to typically find discounts advertised online. However, if you CALL the vendors they often will sell them far below the $1299 "official" price. I would give JDSmoothie (who is now a sales rep for AVScience, the sponsor of this forum) a call and see what current X4000 pricing is. I think you will be pleasantly surprised
DRaymore49's Avatar DRaymore49
01:34 PM Liked: 10
post #8243 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 11
Joined: Oct 2013
Hi,

I have a Denon X3000, and I would like to hook up my Yamaha P120 Digital Piano. The piano has stereo RCA ports on the side, and I was wondering if I can use a RCA stereo cable to my X3000 from the piano that I would be able to use it? Also, I was reading the P120 manual, and it mentions that I can use pin cables. Is that another name for RCA cables?

I think it would sound better from my home theater speakers than the internal ones from my piano. I think I can use the analog RCA inputs on the receiver, and I can assign it to the receiver. Would that be the best option or there is something else I can do?

David
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
01:46 PM Liked: 1783
post #8244 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sk76 View Post
Planning to buy Denon X4000 and could see it is for sale on Abe's of Maine website for $829. It says brand new with warranty. Wondering how come as everywhere else it's $1299. Anyone with any experience or comments on the risks there may be


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Abe's of Maine is not an authorized dealer, so Denon will not honor any warranty on the unit. Better to buy from an authorized dealer for a little more and have peace of mind of the full 3 year Denon warranty (4 years if your credit card adds another year).
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
01:48 PM Liked: 1783
post #8245 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 46,864
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRaymore49 View Post
Hi,

I have a Denon X3000, and I would like to hook up my Yamaha P120 Digital Piano. The piano has stereo RCA ports on the side, and I was wondering if I can use a RCA stereo cable to my X3000 from the piano that I would be able to use it? Also, I was reading the P120 manual, and it mentions that I can use pin cables. Is that another name for RCA cables?

I think it would sound better from my home theater speakers than the internal ones from my piano. I think I can use the analog RCA inputs on the receiver, and I can assign it to the receiver. Would that be the best option or there is something else I can do?

David

Give it a go. Should work.
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
03:23 PM Liked: 104
post #8246 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 2,608
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Generally much quicker than local shops (eg. 1-2 weeks).
Panurgy returned my x4000 less than two weeks after I sent it, but with a note that they could not duplicate my complaints (loud POP through the speakers when turning the unit off, flipping into protection mode soon after starting to play at a low volume). Well, I'll see what happens when I hook it up. The first problem occurs every single time you operate the AVR, so it shouldn't be hard to detect; the second problem was intermittent.
mdavej's Avatar mdavej
03:26 PM Liked: 444
post #8247 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 10,284
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRaymore49 View Post
Hi,

I have a Denon X3000, and I would like to hook up my Yamaha P120 Digital Piano. The piano has stereo RCA ports on the side, and I was wondering if I can use a RCA stereo cable to my X3000 from the piano that I would be able to use it? Also, I was reading the P120 manual, and it mentions that I can use pin cables. Is that another name for RCA cables?

I think it would sound better from my home theater speakers than the internal ones from my piano. I think I can use the analog RCA inputs on the receiver, and I can assign it to the receiver. Would that be the best option or there is something else I can do?

David
The red and white RCA "level fixed" outputs (same as what they're calling pin cables) are the best way to connect your piano to a stereo. It will indeed sound much better than the piano speakers.
Vinnces's Avatar Vinnces
03:49 PM Liked: 13
post #8248 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Mar 2008
Just bought the X2000 to replace the Onkyo HC-RT180 that I had to send in for repair. Setup everything and I am quite satisfied with it. Now I'm wondering if I should worry about this unit only having HDMI 1.4 and not 2.0. I mostly use it hook up to my computer to watch and game. I am thinking about replacing my TV with a 4k TV next year so I'm wondering if I should get the newer models instead even though they are full MSRP? Or jury-rig the connection like back when HDMI only carried a video signal and I had to separately run a optical or RCA to the receiver?

Thanks in advance!
batpig's Avatar batpig
04:29 PM Liked: 1611
post #8249 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 25,085
Joined: Feb 2007
The only instance where not having HDMI 2.0 would be a limitation is if you wanted to pass through 4k/60hz content. The X2000 supports upscaling/passthrough up to 4k/30Hz, so you would be fine for example with a hypothetical 4k Blu-Ray recorded in 24p. And any non 4k content will work fine with a 4k TV, you can either have the receiver scale it to 4k or pass it through and let the 4k display scale.

IMO future proofing is a fool's errand with the current pace of consumer A/V tech. Just get what you need for the price you want and enjoy it now. If you decide to upgrade later, do it then.
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
06:47 PM Liked: 104
post #8250 of 9820
07-18-2014 | Posts: 2,608
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Panurgy returned my x4000 less than two weeks after I sent it, but with a note that they could not duplicate my complaints (loud POP through the speakers when turning the unit off, flipping into protection mode soon after starting to play at a low volume). Well, I'll see what happens when I hook it up. The first problem occurs every single time you operate the AVR, so it shouldn't be hard to detect; the second problem was intermittent.
Apparently FedEx fixed my AVR, because Panurgy said they could't duplicate the complaint, cleaned up my AVR and sent it back without either of these problems (so far).

But... somehow my front left and right channels were now out of phase with each other. I know this wasn't the case before I sent the unit for repair, because my speaker cables are carefully color-coded, and I used the same test tracks (from a THX OptiMode DVD) to check this today as I used the last time I hooked up the AVR to the speakers. Anyway, I reversed the cables on one of the speakers, ran the phase test to make sure the five speakers were all in phase, and everything is working fine.

And miracle of miracles, I was able to reload my config file after only 3 tries
Tags: Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3