The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 279 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2014, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by KuroX View Post
Yea, thats exactly how my Audyssey treated the center, high distortion. Maybe I'll get lucky with the next model.
As I wrote, I cancelled the Audyssey so turns out it had nothing to do with my issue. I'm confident there was something wrong with the analog output or amp for that channel.
I returned it, and unfortunately they were out of similar units for exchange. I ended up getting a cheaper Marantz SR5008.
If it wasn't going to end up in a second system, I'd have tried to get it repaired or insisted on a new 4000. I was really impressed with it...when it worked.
rnrgagne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2014, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 829
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 83
I played around with my audessey graphic ex after turning audessey off and copied over the settings. It kicked my high treble up to +6 no idea why as the speakers are very bright to begin with. I turned it way down and now I only start to hear the hiss noise around -0 which is fine as I normally dont listen to anything above it.

I might try running audyssey a few times once I get the subs back in the system. First time I ran it with a sub and no acoustic panels it sounded great. With the addition of the acoustic panels my room is notionally quiet with no echo. Even my wife yesterday noted the room was very quit and the echo when talking or yelling was gone.
lemonslush is online now  
Old 07-28-2014, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
X4000 issue

Anyone having an issue when you select the network music options, after showing the screen with Pandora, Spotify, etc. -- the receiver either completely freezes up, or the reciever's arrow and enter buttons stop working (and possibly other buttons) but volume and power buttons work?

Should I try a reset? If yes -- the network reset or the full microprocessor reset?

Thanks!

CT

_____________________________________________

My Bargain Basement Theater
Skrill is online now  
Old 07-28-2014, 12:24 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am trying to decide between the X1100 and X2100. For $200 bucks, other than the inputs/outputs, you also get the video upconversion (I do not have a 4K tv) and more watage to the speakers.

Will I really notice the difference between 80 vs 95 watts?

Is there anything else I may be missing as a reason to go to the X2100?
ParityBit is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
niccolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
I am trying to decide between the X1100 and X2100. For $200 bucks, other than the inputs/outputs, you also get the video upconversion (I do not have a 4K tv) and more watage to the speakers.

Will I really notice the difference between 80 vs 95 watts?

Is there anything else I may be missing as a reason to go to the X2100?
Re the wattage difference, in theory you shouldn't hear a difference with reasonably sensitive speakers. That said, even with quite sensitive Focal speakers (albeit which drop to a fairly low impedance in some parts of their range, and in a big space), I found the X1000 a bit underpowered, i.e. I was turning the volume pretty close to max and it began to sound congested, and the X2000 seemed to give me the needed headroom and make things sound significantly better. This wasn't a blind test, so take it with a grain of salt, but I was able to do side-by-side comparison and the difference seemed pretty stark to me.

Benq W1070 projector w/ Chief RSM mount with custom interface bracket
119" Da-Lite Cinema Contour with High-Contrast (gray) Da-Mat screen
Denon X2000 receiver fed by Panasonic DMP-BDT210 Bluray player
Focal Chorus 700-series towers and center, JMLab Tantal 500-series bookshelf rears
Rythmik FV15HP sub
niccolo is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 02:22 PM
Member
 
ParityBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by niccolo View Post
Re the wattage difference, in theory you shouldn't hear a difference with reasonably sensitive speakers. That said, even with quite sensitive Focal speakers (albeit which drop to a fairly low impedance in some parts of their range, and in a big space), I found the X1000 a bit underpowered, i.e. I was turning the volume pretty close to max and it began to sound congested, and the X2000 seemed to give me the needed headroom and make things sound significantly better. This wasn't a blind test, so take it with a grain of salt, but I was able to do side-by-side comparison and the difference seemed pretty stark to me.
Thank you for the advice. I went with the X2100! Hopefully I dun good.
ParityBit is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 03:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Anyone having an issue when you select the network music options, after showing the screen with Pandora, Spotify, etc. -- the receiver either completely freezes up, or the reciever's arrow and enter buttons stop working (and possibly other buttons) but volume and power buttons work?

Should I try a reset? If yes -- the network reset or the full microprocessor reset?

Thanks!

CT
The first step should ALWAYS be a soft reset by unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. Then if no joy, you can try either a network reset or microprocessor reset noting that a network reset includes a microprocessor reset.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 03:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParityBit View Post
I am trying to decide between the X1100 and X2100. For $200 bucks, other than the inputs/outputs, you also get the video upconversion (I do not have a 4K tv) and more watage to the speakers.

Will I really notice the difference between 80 vs 95 watts?

Is there anything else I may be missing as a reason to go to the X2100?
Just an FYI .. but you're in the wrong thread. You want the 2014 thread linked below ...

The 'Official' 2014 Denon "S Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The first step should ALWAYS be a soft reset by unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. Then if no joy, you can try either a network reset or microprocessor reset noting that a network reset includes a microprocessor reset.
Thanks JD -- I did try a soft reset, and in fact the receiver was unplugged overnight -- so I would assume that is a no joy. I will try a full reset.

If I end up returning this unit for another, but I have saved my configuration using the network interface and the save/load feature, when I get the new unit can I just load my saved settings right in? Or are the data files keyed to a particular unit?

BTW -- what is the difference between a network reset and a microprocessor reset?

Thanks!

CT

_____________________________________________

My Bargain Basement Theater
Skrill is online now  
Old 07-28-2014, 04:00 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
^^
Not sure. Report back and let us know though if you do exchange it.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Not sure. Report back and let us know though if you do exchange it.
Hmm - not knowing for sure, I will probably just take the time to re-run Audyssey and go through the setup. Don't want to risk bricking a unit.

_____________________________________________

My Bargain Basement Theater
Skrill is online now  
Old 07-28-2014, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
KuroX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post
As I wrote, I cancelled the Audyssey so turns out it had nothing to do with my issue. I'm confident there was something wrong with the analog output or amp for that channel.
I returned it, and unfortunately they were out of similar units for exchange. I ended up getting a cheaper Marantz SR5008.
If it wasn't going to end up in a second system, I'd have tried to get it repaired or insisted on a new 4000. I was really impressed with it...when it worked.
Yea, didn't mean to imply Audyssey had anything to do with either of our issues, just that I too noticed Audyssey's tones/chirps were 'off' during its measure of the cc speaker. I'm sure whatever is wrong with my 2000 was the same as your 4000. I was looking at getting a Marantz as well, all but confirmed by the Denon's lack of warranty.

I was really impressed by the price tag on the x4000, maybe one day when I have the space for speakers worthy of that beast.

Anyway, hope you have better luck with the Marantz.
KuroX is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
MrSanRamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm on travel to Indiana this week, so I. Can't play with my new x2000.

I did set it up and run audessy 2x.

It sounds good, not (as I've said before) as good as my older pioneer elite receiver, but it's not a bad choice given the price of 359 delivered to California.

A couple of things...

One, the iPad app sucks...it recognizes my DVD player and my other pioneer receiver, but it doesn't find the x2000; is there's some setting I need to adjust in the receiver?

When I ran audessy, 2x, the speaker distance was off on most of the speakers by 6 inches or so. Both times the sub was shown as 19 feet +, rather than 9 feet +.

The levels weren't that good either, I had to reset them (5 of the 6 speakers...5.1 system).

Other than sounding OK and having a lot more hdmi inputs, this receiver seems, well, not very good in the auto setup mode.

Robert
MrSanRamon is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skrill View Post
Anyone having an issue when you select the network music options, after showing the screen with Pandora, Spotify, etc. -- the receiver either completely freezes up, or the reciever's arrow and enter buttons stop working (and possibly other buttons) but volume and power buttons work?

Should I try a reset? If yes -- the network reset or the full microprocessor reset?

Thanks!

CT
FYI I run into a similar issue with my x2000 occasionally i.e. the Network menu freezes and no longer accepts any new commands. The display is stuck at the last track being played, but all other input modes still work normally. A soft reset i.e. unplugging for 10 minutes, and plugging it back in, has always corrected the problem for me.
tezster is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 06:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSanRamon View Post
I'm on travel to Indiana this week, so I. Can't play with my new x2000.

I did set it up and run audessy 2x.

It sounds good, not (as I've said before) as good as my older pioneer elite receiver, but it's not a bad choice given the price of 359 delivered to California.

A couple of things...

One, the iPad app sucks...it recognizes my DVD player and my other pioneer receiver, but it doesn't find the x2000; is there's some setting I need to adjust in the receiver?

When I ran audessy, 2x, the speaker distance was off on most of the speakers by 6 inches or so. Both times the sub was shown as 19 feet +, rather than 9 feet +.

The levels weren't that good either, I had to reset them (5 of the 6 speakers...5.1 system).

Other than sounding OK and having a lot more hdmi inputs, this receiver seems, well, not very good in the auto setup mode.

Robert
The sub "distance" is supposed to be > than the actual distance as it takes into account the sub filters which cause a delay in the signal. Are you using a camera tripod or ideally a mic boom stand to support the mic as indicated in your Owner's manual, otherwise less than satisfactory results would be expected.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 06:20 PM
Member
 
MrSanRamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The sub "distance" is supposed to be > than the actual distance as it takes into account the sub filters which cause a delay in the signal. Are you using a camera tripod or ideally a mic boom stand to support the mic as indicated in your Owner's manual, otherwise less than satisfactory results would be expected.
Camera tripod...don't see how that would equate to >2x the distance.
MrSanRamon is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 07:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
^^
Perhaps 1.5x would be more reasonable? Just depends on the makeup of your sub. Why did you have to reset the speaker volume levels? Are you using a SPL meter to confirm they didn't get set to the 75db test tone? Although rare, it's certainly possible you may have gotten a defective mic. Speaker/sub distance/level settings are all taken based only on the mic #1 position. So try running Audyssey again ensuring the 1st mic position is no closer than 1-2' from the back of the couch (if high back).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 08:51 PM
Newbie
 
mr. bowes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question about the X1000 / DD+

X1000 owner here with a question.

Using Chromecast plugged in directly and watching Game of Thrones on HBOgo.

I'm only getting PLII - not DD+ like I expected.

I hold down 'Movie' on the remote and it lists:
STEREO
DOLBY PLII
DTS NEO:6
MULTI CH
MONO MOVIE
VIRTUAL

Why won't it send DD+?

I remember seeing DD+ at some point. Not sure why it stopped.

Anything I should be checking or resetting?

Thanks!!
mr. bowes is offline  
Old 07-28-2014, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,078
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1609
The fact that DD+ is not an option means that the receiver isn't getting it -- it's getting a stereo signal input. You need to look upstream at the SOURCE, the receiver doesn't control the input signal. Either there is a setting off on the Chromecast, or you haven't selected the DD+ stream on that particular track, or if you confirm all settings are right in the Chromecast it's a temporary glitch that will be resolved by rebooting the source device.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 07-29-2014, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, perhaps foolishly, I ordered the wrong receiver (buyer's remorse?). I have an x3000 on the way. I got a really good deal on it (I think). It pretty much fits the bill for what I was looking for in a receiver, so I zeroed in on it and finally ordered it.

My only concern is,I have four ohm speakers. So, my question is, about what is the top suggested volume setting that I should use on it to prevent it going into protect mode? It is suggested in the first page of this thread that tv watching should be between 30 to 20 and movie/music playing should be between 20 to 10 dcb. But this is for 8 ohm speakers.

Because my current receiver bit the dust last week, I zeroed in on this one and, actually forgot about what impedance speakers I had until I had my credit card out.I let my zest/excitement for a new receiver outweigh my practical thinking.

Thx, for your answer.
gimpy is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 03:38 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
^^
You should expect to get to maybe -30db/50, perhaps a little higher. Best to simply slowly raise the volume until it shuts down and then you'll know the max level. You'll also want to set the Volume Limit setting to -20db/60 as long as it doesn't shut down before that point.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thx, jd
gimpy is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,739
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpy View Post
Well, perhaps foolishly, I ordered the wrong receiver (buyer's remorse?). I have an x3000 on the way. I got a really good deal on it (I think). It pretty much fits the bill for what I was looking for in a receiver, so I zeroed in on it and finally ordered it.



My only concern is,I have four ohm speakers. So, my question is, about what is the top suggested volume setting that I should use on it to prevent it going into protect mode? It is suggested in the first page of this thread that tv watching should be between 30 to 20 and movie/music playing should be between 20 to 10 dcb. But this is for 8 ohm speakers.



Because my current receiver bit the dust last week, I zeroed in on this one and, actually forgot about what impedance speakers I had until I had my credit card out.I let my zest/excitement for a new receiver outweigh my practical thinking.



Thx, for your answer.


My x4000 played my 4ohm speakers for about an hour as I slowly crept up the vol until finally hitting +2 before it overheated and shut down.
I don't have much ventilation so I bought a little blower fan from cooler guys. It was hot to the touch before the fan, now it's hardly warm at all. Highly recommended[emoji106]
ambesolman is online now  
Old 07-29-2014, 08:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
^^
That's actually quite good. To ensure sufficient headroom you may want to set the Volume Limit to -10db/70 just to ensure no one can raise it above that level.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thx, both. The space that it will go in is quite large. Don't have the receiver, yet, but there should be lots of space around the receiver. I would guess four or five inches on each side and more than that on top (6 or 7 inches maybe).

I will check for a small fan, though. So, do you know of a small, inexpensive fan that can be operated by my remote? That would make it so much easier:-) (lazy me). I will have 5 sources hooked into my harmony. I'm not sure if it is limited to the five or if a sixth one can be added? Will have to check.
Thx, Frank
gimpy is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Sting82465's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
any one have a gut feeling of when the x4000 will start to drop in price at the big retailers.
Sting82465 is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,078
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1609
Have you tried CALLING authorized dealers like our forum sponsor AVScience? I bet the prices are lower than you think already. Give JD a call:

"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Sting82465's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Have you tried CALLING authorized dealers like our forum sponsor AVScience? I bet the prices are lower than you think already. Give JD a call:

"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound
I gotta use best buy gift card, I still have a lot of money on it. Id rather buy from him tho
Sting82465 is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 01:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,811
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2120 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting82465 View Post
any one have a gut feeling of when the x4000 will start to drop in price at the big retailers.
The X4000 has been one of D&M's most popular models, so if there is any inventory left when the X4100W is released in Sep, that is when there would likely be any sale at Best Buy, although as the X4100W will be $100 higher MSRP, not likely to be much. You may want to consider using the Best Buy cards for speakers or other accessories or another option is cashing them in at 90% face value.

The 'Official' 2014 Denon "S Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,078
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting82465 View Post
I gotta use best buy gift card, I still have a lot of money on it. Id rather buy from him tho
Yeah, like JD says, at a store like Best Buy there will probably not be any discounts until the new models are in stock and then they want to clear out inventory. To get in on a sale at Best Buy you basically have to circle like a shark and pounce during a small window of opportunity. You might be able to find a good deal on an open box model (which would still carry full warranty).

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
 

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread
    Thread Tools


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off