The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 287 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8581 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I did find this review:
http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...glance-ratings

Which gives some guidance on the frequency range of the center and satellite channels.
Padinn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8582 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post
I'm left with one last problem. Trigger #2 works perfectly as described, but trigger #1 shows 8v when it's on and 12v when it's not. For example, with the exact same trigger settings, trigger #2 will show 12v and trigger #1 will only show 8v.
That sounds like hardware failure. If you are willing to put together a test cable, connect the "tip" of the mono plug (center conductor) to a 1000 ohm resistor, then in series to the + side of an LED, and the - side of the LED to the shell of the plug (ground). The LED will light when "triggered," showing that the trigger output can deliver at least 10 milliamps to the load. Test it on both outputs to be sure it is wired right.

If it doesn't light, try the "pull-the-power-cord" soft reset. If that doesn't work, try the "three-front-panel-buttons" (page 225) hard reset. If that doesn't work, the receiver is defective.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is offline  
post #8583 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 07:34 AM
Newbie
 
nmad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
Okay thanks for the guidance. If I reduce the crossover frequency on the surrounds from 150hz to 120hz, am I going to lose any sound range?

Maybe I'm just thinking about it wrong and if left to 150 it will be fine.
Please read this, it will help you understanding bass management.

Samsung UE40EH6030 || Denon AVR-X2000 || 2x Dali Zensor 3 || Dali Zensor Vokal || 2x Dali Zensor 1 || SVS SB12-NSD || 4x Norstone Esse Stand || Auralex SubDude
nmad is offline  
post #8584 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmad View Post
Please read this, it will help you understanding bass management.
Thanks read through it. I think I understood some of it. Looks like the general recommendation is 120hz for the smaller speakers I'm using.
Padinn is offline  
post #8585 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
nmad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
Thanks read through it. I think I understood some of it. Looks like the general recommendation is 120hz for the smaller speakers I'm using.
The SAT-TS11 satellite speakers have +/- 3" drivers and the following specifications: "The –3-dB point is at 188 Hz, and the –6-dB point is at 166 Hz."

In this case a higher crossover is needed for the satellite speakers. I would recommend 200 Hz. Leave the LPF for LFE at 120 Hz, this has nothing to do with the crossovers for the speakers.

Samsung UE40EH6030 || Denon AVR-X2000 || 2x Dali Zensor 3 || Dali Zensor Vokal || 2x Dali Zensor 1 || SVS SB12-NSD || 4x Norstone Esse Stand || Auralex SubDude
nmad is offline  
post #8586 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmad View Post
The SAT-TS11 satellite speakers have +/- 3" drivers and the following specifications: "The –3-dB point is at 188 Hz, and the –6-dB point is at 166 Hz."

In this case a higher crossover is needed for the satellite speakers. I would recommend 200 Hz. Leave the LPF for LFE at 120 Hz, this has nothing to do with the crossovers for the speakers.
Thank you - very helpful for me.
Padinn is offline  
post #8587 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 09:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
Okay thanks for the guidance. If I reduce the crossover frequency on the surrounds from 150hz to 120hz, am I going to lose any sound range?

Maybe I'm just thinking about it wrong and if left to 150 it will be fine.
If a speaker crossover is set to 150Hz, then by reducing it to 120Hz, you end up with the 120Hz - 150Hz band being un EQ'd, so the moral is you can always "raise" a crossover, but never "lower" it. You may want to try doing several Audyssey EQs as each one may be a little different depending on the mic positions used, all of which should be no more than 2-3' from the main listening position mic #1.

Regardless of the mfr's -3db specs, the speaker's crossover will be set based on how it reacts in your room, so if the speaker gets set to 150Hz, there is no reason to raise it higher unless you feel it sounds better by doing so. Generally the only crossovers you will want to raise are those set < 80Hz which you will want to raise to 80Hz and set the speaker to SMALL if set to LARGE.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-15-2014 at 09:17 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8588 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
Temexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Temexter
Question AVR-X2000 washed colours after turn / HDMI passthrough

Hello gents (and ladies :-)

I have a annoying problem with AVR-X2000 and Panasonic TX-P42G20.

When i turn on my TV, the amp automatically turns on and sets input to CBL as set in setup (Video/HDMI Setup/HDMI Control). My Motorola IPTV box is always on. Naturally Motorola box is connected to "CBL/SAT" HDMI port and amp HDMI output to Panasonic HDMI2 (ARC). HDMI cables are high speed compatible, v1.4.

Everything works. But. After turning amp on, when Motorola box is already on the picture is significantly "washed out". Going to amps setup and back fixes the colors. I have tried changing Video/Output Settings/Video Mode, Video Conversion On/Off and activated i/p Scaler with diffrent settings with no avail :/ Moreover, setting amp's i/p scaler on does not produce proper picture with any settings, instead it is washede out and very greyish. Picture mode in TV is THX, which is in fact very nice...

Exactly same thing happens when i turn off the amp and IPTV box's signal is passed through to TV (HDMI settings are properly set).

Sometimes when i turn on the amp, it lacks sound from IPTV box. Turning off and on the amp fixes this, turning off/on the IPTV box or any settings (there's no options for HDMI and only picture setting is mode, which is set to 1080p50) does not.

Anyone having similar problems. With Panasonic Viera - or any TV?

I would really appreciate any hints or ideas, as this is quite annoying, although not game breaking

Denon AVR-X2000 | Front Wharfedale Diamond 7.2 Anniversary Edition | Center, Side & Back Panasonic SC-DT310 "set" | Panasonic Viera TX-P42G20 Silver | Yamaha HPH-200

Last edited by Temexter; 08-15-2014 at 01:19 PM.
Temexter is offline  
post #8589 of 9871 Old 08-15-2014, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If a speaker crossover is set to 150Hz, then by reducing it to 120Hz, you end up with the 120Hz - 150Hz band being un EQ'd, so the moral is you can always "raise" a crossover, but never "lower" it. You may want to try doing several Audyssey EQs as each one may be a little different depending on the mic positions used, all of which should be no more than 2-3' from the main listening position mic #1.

Regardless of the mfr's -3db specs, the speaker's crossover will be set based on how it reacts in your room, so if the speaker gets set to 150Hz, there is no reason to raise it higher unless you feel it sounds better by doing so. Generally the only crossovers you will want to raise are those set < 80Hz which you will want to raise to 80Hz and set the speaker to SMALL if set to LARGE.


Guess this means that the set of sats I use for heights that audyssey set with a 250hz crossover, than my sub is trying to play up that high?
ambesolman is offline  
post #8590 of 9871 Old 08-16-2014, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambesolman View Post
Guess this means that the set of sats I use for heights that audyssey set with a 250hz crossover, than my sub is trying to play up that high?
That's my understanding (anything below 250 will be passed to your sub)
Padinn is offline  
post #8591 of 9871 Old 08-16-2014, 05:08 PM
Member
 
ArTourter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Frome, Somerset, UK
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question Flickr not working

Has anyone encountered any issues with flickr and the X4000? Somehow it doesn't seem to work at all for me (cannot find any contact name, nor can it browse the all contents part) Other network functions work fine on the unit (internet radio). I have updated to the latest Firmware in case it was a know bug but to no avail. Any pointer would be appreciated.

Cheers

ArTourter is offline  
post #8592 of 9871 Old 08-16-2014, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 143
My x4000 has turned off automatically a few times recently. I've read of every possible problem. I have checked and fastened all wire on both ends. I some times hear crinkly sounds and that makes me think loose/frayed wire but I hear it in the middle of the room, I can't localize it. I have 14 gauge for the front and 16 gauge for the surrounds.

Help!

Sony KDL-70R550A (passive 3D tv)
Denon x4000 (amazing sound correcting software)
Klipsch RF-62IIs (amazing horns)
Klipsch RC-62II (so clear)
Klipsch RS-41IIs (so full)
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d (so boom)
Teremei is offline  
post #8593 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 01:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
My x4000 has turned off automatically a few times recently. I've read of every possible problem. I have checked and fastened all wire on both ends. I some times hear crinkly sounds and that makes me think loose/frayed wire but I hear it in the middle of the room, I can't localize it. I have 14 gauge for the front and 16 gauge for the surrounds.

Help!
At what volume level? Does it do it with nothing connected to the AVR? Try disconnecting all speakers and add one back at a time to see if there is a short in one of the speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8594 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 02:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
At what volume level? Does it do it with nothing connected to the AVR? Try disconnecting all speakers and add one back at a time to see if there is a short in one of the speakers.
So a short in the actual speaker (not the wire?). I seem to hear it more toward the left SR. So I will look closely at that one first. Volume from -20 - reference. So no specific volume level, and it can go 45 minutes without happening so it's hard to test. I get my new klipsch surrounds next week so hopefully it's just one of my old polk bookshelves.

Sony KDL-70R550A (passive 3D tv)
Denon x4000 (amazing sound correcting software)
Klipsch RF-62IIs (amazing horns)
Klipsch RC-62II (so clear)
Klipsch RS-41IIs (so full)
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d (so boom)
Teremei is offline  
post #8595 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
My x4000 has turned off automatically a few times recently. I've read of every possible problem. I have checked and fastened all wire on both ends. I some times hear crinkly sounds and that makes me think loose/frayed wire but I hear it in the middle of the room, I can't localize it. I have 14 gauge for the front and 16 gauge for the surrounds.

Help!
Mine turned off and went into protection mode a number of times beginning about 7 months after purchase. I checked to make sure none of the connections were shorting out--they weren't. I mailed the unit to Panurgy for warranty service. They said that they cleaned the unit but could not duplicate the problem. Nevertheless, it somehow got fixed--I have had the x4000 back online for several weeks without any repetition of the problem.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #8596 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Mine kept shutting off too. Ended up being a loose connection inside a banana plug[emoji53]
ambesolman is offline  
post #8597 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 09:19 AM
Member
 
whatupdet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NL Canada
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought a new X1000 back in May/June and I'm having troubles getting my blu-ray player to work on it. It did work but it's finicky and I've now tried 2 different blu-ray players and 2 different HDMI cables and the cables work because when I use it for my laptop-receiver it works. I tried setup assistant to see if I could get picture and audio through Denon but no go.
whatupdet is offline  
post #8598 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 11:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
If the BDP has a Deep Color Output setting, set it to OFF. Also just because an HDMI cable works with one component is no guarantee it will work with another component.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8599 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
Greg_Di's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

I had the X2000 for a few months now and it was working perfectly. I just had a weird issue happen.

I was playing Fifa 14 on PS4 and during the game the audio spiked and got really loud (did this by itself) and then the sound went out. I reset the unit and now it does not seem to be working.

The issue is when I turn on the AVR I got popup on my TV saying no signal detected ensure external device is connected to TV. Now when I turn off the AVR and have my PS4 on the image returns with no sound(even though the PS4 is only connected to my receiver) as soon as I turn the receiver back on screen goes black and I get the popup.

I tried different HDMI cables for both input and output on the receiver. I tried checking my other inputs (these are also not working as same popup comes up, was working fine yesterday) and I also did a soft reset.

Also when I used to turn on the Denon and just the TV with no external sources on, I would always get the Denon splash screen on my TV. This does not show up now and the remote for the denon will not let me access my setup.

Any idea what could be happening here?

Last edited by Greg_Di; 08-17-2014 at 04:46 PM.
Greg_Di is offline  
post #8600 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 04:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
^^
Try doing a soft reset (unplug unit for 10 minutes).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8601 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 05:18 PM
Newbie
 
Greg_Di's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Try doing a soft reset (unplug unit for 10 minutes).
I have tried and still same thing. I want it to come back even for a few minutes so that I can backup my settings before trying a microprocessor reset.
Greg_Di is offline  
post #8602 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 05:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
^^
The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8603 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
jhachey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the Zone 2 outputs on my X4000 to power a pair of Klipsch KHO-7 outdoor speakers mounted on the wall under the eaves on my back patio. The patio is about 15 feet by 15 feet with the prime listening area about 10 to 15 feet from the speakers. The Klipschs do a pretty reasonable job (and it's not like my goal is to blow the neighbors away with my music), but I've begun to wonder how much better they might sound if I bought a passive subwoofer with a built-in crossover to filter the low frequencies, allowing the Klipschs to focus on the middle and high end.

Any thoughts / suggestions?
jhachey is online now  
post #8604 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 07:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
^^
You'd want to buy a "powered" subwoofer with both input/output speaker posts, although if playing only music, may not be much of a difference.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8605 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jhachey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You'd want to buy a "powered" subwoofer with both input/output speaker posts, although if playing only music, may not be much of a difference.
I only play music on the patio, so maybe not worth the effort / cost?
jhachey is online now  
post #8606 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhachey View Post
I only play music on the patio, so maybe not worth the effort / cost?

Depends on if they play low enough for you at the levels you listen. I have the Polk atrium sat30/sub10 set on my deck. The sat has only a 3.5" mid behind a 3/4" tweeter so it won't play as low as yours will alone. But they are wired into the sub10 which had a 10" diver and a 200w amp. While it doesn't play as low as my HT sub (hsu vtf 3), it sounds great and I always have enough bass regardless of volume.

Really depends on if they put out enough bass on their own to YOU. Can't hurt to try if you've got money to burn[emoji6]
ambesolman is offline  
post #8607 of 9871 Old 08-17-2014, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
Greg_Di's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read through the troubleshooting and faq but none list my problem. I cannot even get into the setup when the receiver is on, remote not responding. Only let me switch outputs. When I turn the AVR off the video comes back (even though it shouldn't since all my external devices plug in through avr) as soon as I turn it on video is gone

EDIT:

I tried the micro processor reset and still nothing, it looks like it is not detecting the HDMI out. Looks like I will have to call Denon tomorrow

Last edited by Greg_Di; 08-17-2014 at 10:41 PM.
Greg_Di is offline  
post #8608 of 9871 Old 08-18-2014, 06:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,932
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2167 Post(s)
Liked: 1790
If you have tried at least 4-5 microprocessor resets in a row and still have the issue, then yes, time to call for warranty repair. Check Denon's website to see if there are any authorized repair facilities in your local area.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8609 of 9871 Old 08-18-2014, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
almgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, A while ago I asked abot my X4000 that needed either TV och Tivo to be turned on to play any sound.

NOw I did a soft reset, to no avail
I then really started to go through each and every settig in the setup, and here is the fun of it.
I had Trigger Out turned ON, when it shoule be OFF
If I removed The Tivo box it worked good anyway, but when I inserted the Tivo it started its strange behavior

solution: Turn Trigger Out to off.

Christian
almgren is offline  
post #8610 of 9871 Old 08-18-2014, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
Neverlies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: mid-Michigan
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've begun having relatively frequent HDMI handshake issues with my DirectTV satellite box, resulting in either no video signal, no audio signal, or neither (which seems to be the new norm). Soft resets don't typically fix the problem, only hard resets (I've switched HDMI cables and don't believe that to be the problem).
I have not updated firmware on this unit (purchased new from JD back in May or so) but I'm starting to think these Denons are buggy.
Is there a way to avoid the persistent HDMI handshake issues? I never had them with my Yamaha, and going the route of plugging the HDMI cable directly into the TV and using an optical cable from the satellite box to the Denon pretty much defeats the whole purpose of why I bought it in the first place?
Suggestions?

"The price of apathy towards public affairs is to be ruled by evil men."
Neverlies is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off