The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 292 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8731 of 8744 Old Yesterday, 06:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,956
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
^^
You can get a SPL meter at Radio Shack for < $50 or just download a phone app for free. When using the 0-100 volume scale average volume for most folks is likely 40-60 for TV and maybe 50-70 for movies so 75 should have been very loud.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8732 of 8744 Old Today, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the AVR-X4000 able to turn on a TV using HDMI CEC?

It looks like it can turn the TV off, but I can't seem to get it to turn the TV on.
sofakng is offline  
post #8733 of 8744 Old Today, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,128
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 1101
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post
Is the AVR-X4000 able to turn on a TV using HDMI CEC?

It looks like it can turn the TV off, but I can't seem to get it to turn the TV on.
The answer is "maybe". HDMI CEC is inconsistent in implementation. There isn't a specific setting for it on the receiver but sometimes a CEC connected display will turn on.

In most cases it's better to just use a good universal remote and save frustration trying to make CEC bend to your will.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #8734 of 8744 Old Today, 08:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,956
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
^^
Only OFF is discussed in the Owner's manual. The use of a Harmony Remote is likely your best option.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8735 of 8744 Old Today, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jd, in your opinion, does the Audyssey program in the x3000 work as good as, or better, than doing the manual sound setup with the spl meter? I have the spl meter, but haven't used it in a couple of years. Just wondering if it would be worth the effort to get it out.

Also, do you have a suggestion for a video disk to use to calibrate the tv? I've read about a couple, WOW, and a couple of others. All have good and bad reviews. I have the old Avia disk from when I tried to set up my old projection tv, but I think it might be a little out dated for my current LCD.

Thx, for any suggestions/tips you might have.
Frank

Frank, "Still the one"
gimpy is offline  
post #8736 of 8744 Old Today, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
The answer is "maybe". HDMI CEC is inconsistent in implementation. There isn't a specific setting for it on the receiver but sometimes a CEC connected display will turn on.

In most cases it's better to just use a good universal remote and save frustration trying to make CEC bend to your will.
There's some truth to fighting against CEC implementations being solved with a different remote.

However, I've had decent luck using CEC with my X3000 and a Panasonic plasma. I send the TV's format of IR commands to the TV and it, in turn, sends the CEC commands to the AVR. This works nicely.

The TV gets it's own IR signals for volume and power. The TV passes the volume commands to the AVR. This does result in seeing two overlays for the volume commands. The TV shows "Home Theater Volume" slightly overlaid on top of the Denon's volume slider. It's a little annoying, but I'm willing to accept that given it actually WORKS.

I do recall it was tricky figuring out exactly where in the TV's menus to configure this. One issue was having it accept it's own protocol IR commands for volume but NOT to use them to control it's own internal speakers.

When I send a TV IR power on or off it triggers the X3000 to respond likewise. There's a second or three delay for powering on. The TV powers up but the AVR doesn't click to life for another few seconds. Again, a bit tedious, but acceptable.

Last edited by wkearney99; Today at 09:29 AM.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #8737 of 8744 Old Today, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post
It looks like it can turn the TV off, but I can't seem to get it to turn the TV on.
I found it wasn't possible to turn our Panasonic VT60 plasma TV on from the AVR. But that it was possible to turn the AVR on from the TV.

But you'd also want to pose the question on a message thread that targets your particular make & model of TV.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #8738 of 8744 Old Today, 10:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,956
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpy View Post
jd, in your opinion, does the Audyssey program in the x3000 work as good as, or better, than doing the manual sound setup with the spl meter? I have the spl meter, but haven't used it in a couple of years. Just wondering if it would be worth the effort to get it out.

Also, do you have a suggestion for a video disk to use to calibrate the tv? I've read about a couple, WOW, and a couple of others. All have good and bad reviews. I have the old Avia disk from when I tried to set up my old projection tv, but I think it might be a little out dated for my current LCD.

Thx, for any suggestions/tips you might have.
Frank
A SPL meter is simply going to accomplish setting the level and delay. Audyssey goes beyond that using 100's of control points to also EQ the frequency range of each speaker and sub, so no, just using a SPL will not provide an equivalent solution. The more current AVIA as well as the Spears and Munsil 3D and Digital Video Essentials all would serve well for consumer level TV calibration.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8739 of 8744 Old Today, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Farris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
X4000 Hdmi Out 2 - No Audio

Guys,

I have the X4000 in my livingroom and am using an Hdmi splitter to send a duplicate image and sound to my bedroom.

The problem I am having is that I am not getting sound out of either TVs, just my 5.1 speakers. This means no sound in my bedroom.

I assume the amp is cutting the audio to the TV because it detects re 5.1 setup.

Is it possible to enable audio over the Hdmi out and also have the 5.1 working?

Thanks
Farris is offline  
post #8740 of 8744 Old Today, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
baloo_btru's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Woohoo! Christmas came early

If you guys remember, I was posting a couple of weeks ago on a great deal for an x4000 open box at my local best buy (a little more than $800 iirc). I was disappointed that it got sold, and then I was convinced that I'm probably better off upgrading my sub anyway...

A couple of days ago though my buddy at BB told me the x4000 wasn't sold, it was just put back in the stockroom for the weekend...and to get rid of it, they could sell it for $600! Plus, best buy is doing a special promotion for 10% rewards back vs the usual 1%. So I basically got a perfect condition x4000 with full warranty for basically $540. I'm very excited

Hopefully I'll have time to install and set it up tonight. As an added bonus, he threw in one of the new "rocket" stands for the audyssey mic which is great since that was an issue I was having (not being able to calibrate correctly).

How have the reviews been of those stands? Obviously a real mic stand would be better but will it get me 90% of the way there?

- Klipsch RF-82 ii, RC-62 ii, RS-52 ii
- Klipsch RW-12D
- Sony HW50es
- Firehawk G3
- Denon 2113
baloo_btru is online now  
post #8741 of 8744 Old Today, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 122
please don't tell me how you got a receiver for that I paid $1000 and have to bring in for repair because it keeps turning off.

JK congrats on your find. You cheeky monkey.

Sony KDL-70R550A (passive 3D tv)
Denon x4000 (amazing sound correcting software)
Klipsch RF-62IIs (amazing horns)
Klipsch RC-62II (so clear)
Klipsch RS-41IIs (so full)
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d (so boom)
Teremei is online now  
post #8742 of 8744 Old Today, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
baloo_btru's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post
please don't tell me how you got a receiver for that I paid $1000 and have to bring in for repair because it keeps turning off.

JK congrats on your find. You cheeky monkey.
Just patience, luck and timing

- Klipsch RF-82 ii, RC-62 ii, RS-52 ii
- Klipsch RW-12D
- Sony HW50es
- Firehawk G3
- Denon 2113
baloo_btru is online now  
post #8743 of 8744 Old Today, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by baloo_btru View Post
Just patience, luck and timing
Yeah being patient can lead to a great deal. I got mine early in the x4000 production. I shouldn't feel too bad. I bought it for $1299 but then I was gonna return it and buy it from AVS but best buy had it on sale for $999 that day and gave me the $300 difference.

Anyway get that audyssey XT32 working ASAP, once you hear it you will never go back.

Sony KDL-70R550A (passive 3D tv)
Denon x4000 (amazing sound correcting software)
Klipsch RF-62IIs (amazing horns)
Klipsch RC-62II (so clear)
Klipsch RS-41IIs (so full)
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d (so boom)
Teremei is online now  
post #8744 of 8744 Old Today, 01:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,956
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farris View Post
Guys,

I have the X4000 in my livingroom and am using an Hdmi splitter to send a duplicate image and sound to my bedroom.

The problem I am having is that I am not getting sound out of either TVs, just my 5.1 speakers. This means no sound in my bedroom.

I assume the amp is cutting the audio to the TV because it detects re 5.1 setup.

Is it possible to enable audio over the Hdmi out and also have the 5.1 working?

Thanks
Why are you using an external splitter? The two main zone HDMI outputs on the AVR can have the HDMI audio set to either the AVR or TV, but both outputs must be the same setting. You can also use the 3rd HDMI output (ie. Zone 2) which can also pass the same source but will downmix the audio in the main zone to stereo if it is connected directly to a TV. Your HDMI splitter will react the same as the Zone 2 HDMI output if you have it placed between the source and the AVR/TV.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Today at 01:20 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2309ci Receiver , Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Denon , Denon Electronics , Polk Audio Monitor70 Series Ii Floorstanding Loudspeaker , Onkyo Tx Nr626 7 2 Channel Network Audio Video Receiver , Denon Avr E200 , Denon Avr E300 , Denon Avr E400 , Denon Avr X2000 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X3000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X4000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr X1000 5 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off