The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 315 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9421 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by panmanbrooks View Post
I want to explore the effect that an external amp will have on my 2 channel listening. AVR 4000; speakers B & W CM 10, Turntable is Pro ject RM5. Is there any common pairing that experts like JD Smoothie, or Batpig routinely recommend? I would appreciate experience any users, with similar equipment, will share.
The effects of an external amp will depend much more on your speakers and your listening room than on the source. My B&W 704 speakers have the same 90 dB sensitivity as your CM10 speakers, and they play as loudly as I'd like in my well-damped 12x13 room with the volume (after Audyssey calibration) at -25 to -22 dB. If you have a powered sub, the internal amps in your x4000 are hardly breaking a sweat even at very loud volumes.

I use an external Carver 200 wpc amp for these speakers, and I find that they give me a little more dynamic "punch" in the climaxes. But it's not a huge difference, and I wouldn't be using an external amp if I didn't already own one.
ambesolman likes this.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9422 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 01:28 PM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am a current owner of a Yamaha RX-V375. I am making the switch to Audyssey. I am trying to decide between the x1000 and the x2000. Most of my movies are in DTS hd ma 5.1. If I get the x2000, will it matrix the DTS hd ma 5.1 to the back surrounds? Thanks.
johnnymacIII is online now  
post #9423 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quick Audyssey question. Reading through the first page it says

Quote:
Initially just run 1 mic position with the sub volume/gain knob set to 12 o'clock (middle volume) and check to see what the Denon set the sub volume to ... if it's -12db (ie. this means the sub is too loud and the Denon has reached...
Exactly how do I see what level Denon set the volume to? Sorry if it's self explanatory during the setup. Just trying to understand things.
de8212 is online now  
post #9424 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymacIII View Post
I am a current owner of a Yamaha RX-V375. I am making the switch to Audyssey. I am trying to decide between the x1000 and the x2000. Most of my movies are in DTS hd ma 5.1. If I get the x2000, will it matrix the DTS hd ma 5.1 to the back surrounds? Thanks.
Yes
johnnymacIII likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #9425 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, I went ahead and tried Audyssey. I am getting an error. Something about microphone or speaker is none. This was at the first test tone on the left speaker. I did hear the tone. Could the mic be broken?

Any other trick to try????

Last edited by de8212; Yesterday at 02:46 PM.
de8212 is online now  
post #9426 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 03:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,090
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1798 Post(s)
Liked: 1706
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymacIII View Post
I am a current owner of a Yamaha RX-V375. I am making the switch to Audyssey. I am trying to decide between the x1000 and the x2000. Most of my movies are in DTS hd ma 5.1. If I get the x2000, will it matrix the DTS hd ma 5.1 to the back surrounds? Thanks.
All 7CH models will do this.
johnnymacIII likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9427 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 03:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,090
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1798 Post(s)
Liked: 1706
Quote:
Originally Posted by de8212 View Post
Quick Audyssey question. Reading through the first page it says



Exactly how do I see what level Denon set the volume to? Sorry if it's self explanatory during the setup. Just trying to understand things.
Setup - Audio - Speakers - Audyssey Setup - Check Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by de8212 View Post
Well, I went ahead and tried Audyssey. I am getting an error. Something about microphone or speaker is none. This was at the first test tone on the left speaker. I did hear the tone. Could the mic be broken?

Any other trick to try????
Ensure the mic is securely fitted into the mic input on the front panel. If mic is supported by tripod and the room is quiet, it's possible the mic could be defective.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Yesterday at 03:17 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9428 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Setup - Audio - Speakers - Audyssey Setup - Check Results



Ensure the mic is securely fitted into the mic input on the front panel. If mic is supported by tripod and the room is quiet, it's possible the mic could be defective.
Thanks. Not sure what was going on. Room was dead silent. The on screen guide came up as soon as mic was plugged in so I figured it wasn't the port. Tried to unplug/plug a few more times and nothing. I ended up going through the menus (can't recall exactly where) and found another prompt to start setup. This time it worked fine...for the first two seating positions. Then I got the error again. Clicked Retry and all was fine. Then maybe 5th or 6th seating position...happened again.

In the end, it did work though.

Unfortunately, I didn't get your email until after I got it going. So, my sub result is -5.5db. Is that OK? If not, I don't mind re-running it one day.

Also, my fronts were 60Hz, Center - 40Hz, surrounds - 80Hz. All were already set to small.

Again, going by the first page of the thread it says to change them all to 60 or 80. Guess I will try them all at 80 to see how it sounds.
Unfortunately my sub stays off about 99% of the time so I'm wondering if 60Hz would be a better setpoint.


Another weird thing during calibration was my front right speaker was always much quieter when the tones played than my front left. And my rear left was always alot louder than rear right. Not sure if that matters at all though.
de8212 is online now  
post #9429 of 9430 Old Yesterday, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have an AVR-E400 Receiver and I'm having issues with the network connection recently. It seems that whenever I am listening to internet or networked streams the connection seems to drop after 10-20 seconds of listening. This never happened before. It's been a while since I using this feature. I can stream on my computer using iTunes, Pandora, etc and not have an issues. I had the receiver connected to an Apple Airport Express and connected wirelessly to the network. I thought this may be the culprit so I connected directly to the router via ethernet. Same issues. Verizon FiOS is my internet provider. I reset the microprocessor per the manual and that did not help. I tried resetting the network card per the instructions here but I could not get it to work (power off, hold Zone 2 Source and Dimmer). Any suggestions?
Tom DePrenda is offline  
post #9430 of 9430 Old Today, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
I currently own a Denon 890/2310ci and looking to upgrade to a networked model. Narrowing it down to either the 2113ci or the X2000.... I know the difference in specs, but wanted to get any recommendations for one or the other?

Also open to suggestions for more current models as well.

The performance of my current receiver is fine for movies, but I would like to play networked music and these older discontinued models are available at a decent price point.

Thanks in advance...
quantum28 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off