The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 341 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10201 of 10888 Old 01-17-2015, 09:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
^^
Whether you use Sub EQ HT or not, Audyssey will still level match your subs.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10202 of 10888 Old 01-17-2015, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
John Sully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I have an X3000 and am considering buying SVS Prime Towers. Although SVS rates these as being 8 ohm, measurements show that they are really 4 ohm speakers (both Audioholics and Home Theater Review have measured this). I was wondering if the X3000 will drive these speakers successfully.
John Sully is offline  
post #10203 of 10888 Old 01-17-2015, 01:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
^^
At moderate volume levels should be no issue, however, it may shut down as volume level is raised closer to reference 80/0db.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10204 of 10888 Old 01-17-2015, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
John Sully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
At moderate volume levels should be no issue, however, it may shut down as volume level is raised closer to reference 80/0db.
That isn't what I wanted to hear...

When watching movies I typically run at around -10 to -6 below reference, for music it is somewhat lower. I guess the only thing I can do is try them out and see what happens. They are somewhat more efficient (88 v. 83) than the speakers I am using right now. The bummer is I don't want to buy a new receiver until HDCP 2.2 is widely available sometime late in the year. Grrrr....
John Sully is offline  
post #10205 of 10888 Old 01-17-2015, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,091
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Sully View Post
That isn't what I wanted to hear...



When watching movies I typically run at around -10 to -6 below reference, for music it is somewhat lower. I guess the only thing I can do is try them out and see what happens. They are somewhat more efficient (88 v. 83) than the speakers I am using right now. The bummer is I don't want to buy a new receiver until HDCP 2.2 is widely available sometime late in the year. Grrrr....

I have an x4000 and ran 4ohm monitor audio rx8s off it for a while. Never had problems with movies. It did shut down once or twice playing 2ch stereo pretty loud, but it was after about an hour and it wasn't well ventilated. Never shut off when crossed to a sub though fwiw. You'll probably be fine.


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still [emoji107]
John Sully likes this.
ambesolman is online now  
post #10206 of 10888 Old 01-18-2015, 02:06 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Sully View Post
That isn't what I wanted to hear...

When watching movies I typically run at around -10 to -6 below reference, for music it is somewhat lower. I guess the only thing I can do is try them out and see what happens. They are somewhat more efficient (88 v. 83) than the speakers I am using right now. The bummer is I don't want to buy a new receiver until HDCP 2.2 is widely available sometime late in the year. Grrrr....
Only the flagship models ... 4520CI and newer X7200W are designed to power 4-ohm speakers to reference volume levels. If the X3000 shuts down, set the Volume Limit setting to ensure it doesn't shut down again.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10207 of 10888 Old 01-18-2015, 10:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Network feature on my E300 has stopped working. I have done soft, microprocessor, and network card resets but no luck. When I switch the input to 'Network', all I get is a message saying 'Connecting....' but it never connects. I left it on for two hours one day and it still says 'connecting'.
Also when I go into the options to look for the firmware version, I can't see it because that option is grayed out.
Any suggestions what to try next?
lulimet is offline  
post #10208 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 04:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
^^
Have you rebooted the router? If still no joy, will likely need repair.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10209 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 04:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post
Network feature on my E300 has stopped working. I have done soft, microprocessor, and network card resets but no luck. When I switch the input to 'Network', all I get is a message saying 'Connecting....' but it never connects. I left it on for two hours one day and it still says 'connecting'.
Also when I go into the options to look for the firmware version, I can't see it because that option is grayed out.
Any suggestions what to try next?
Have you already tried physically unplugging the power cord for several minutes, then plugging it back in?

Last edited by tezster; 01-19-2015 at 04:48 AM. Reason: typo
tezster is online now  
post #10210 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 05:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post
Network feature on my E300 has stopped working. I have done soft, microprocessor, and network card resets but no luck. When I switch the input to 'Network', all I get is a message saying 'Connecting....' but it never connects. I left it on for two hours one day and it still says 'connecting'.
Also when I go into the options to look for the firmware version, I can't see it because that option is grayed out.
Any suggestions what to try next?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tezster View Post
Have you already tried physically unplugging the power cord for several minutes, then plugging it back in?
Yes. Soft reset = unplug power cable for 10 minutes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10211 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by tezster View Post
Have you already tried physically unplugging the power cord for several minutes, then plugging it back in?
Yes I had done that before and tried it again this morning. Now the video signal is lost when I switch to Network. Receiver display still says Connecting....
lulimet is offline  
post #10212 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vader424242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Only the flagship models ... 4520CI and newer X7200W are designed to power 4-ohm speakers
Well, crap... and I was close to upgrading to the SVS Ultra speakers (part of the reason I upgraded to the X4000 was for additional power, since the SVS speakers sport a sensitivity of 88 dB... my current speakers are ~91dB). Back to the proverbial drawing board, I guess (SVS really should correct their advertised specs to reflect the 4 ohm impedance)

Peace... Vader
 

"Ya see, we plan ahead. That way we don't do anything right now. Earl explained it to me." - Valentine McKee

 

One sub to rumble them all. One sub to shake them. One sub to humble them all. And in the darkness break them....

Vader424242 is offline  
post #10213 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 09:39 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
^^
You should still be able to get to at least -20db, perhaps higher before the unit shuts down. Also SVS should provide free shipping both ways if for some reason you choose not to keep the speakers within the return period.
joeyvaz likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10214 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
John Sully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vader424242 View Post
Well, crap... and I was close to upgrading to the SVS Ultra speakers (part of the reason I upgraded to the X4000 was for additional power, since the SVS speakers sport a sensitivity of 88 dB... my current speakers are ~91dB). Back to the proverbial drawing board, I guess (SVS really should correct their advertised specs to reflect the 4 ohm impedance)
FWIW, the X5200W looks like it might do the trick, also:

http://www.audioholics.com/av-receiv...w/measurements

It certainly seems to have decent current capacity.
John Sully is offline  
post #10215 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Philm63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Having trouble pinning down exactly how the upscaling works in my X2000. I'm going to be passing a 4K signal through the Blu-Ray HDMI Input to my Sony 4K TV. What I'd like to know is this; does the X2000 automatically attempt to upscale to the detected TV's native resolution? And if so, is this a setting that is accessible to the user - can one turn this feature off if needed?

Even if I choose to let the Sony TV do the 4K upscaling, I'd still like to avoid any conflict with the X2000. Not that I don't trust the X2000's ability to upscale, I don't know anything about Denon's upscaling circuitry, but I do know the Sony TV has very good 4K upscaling, and so does the Oppo 103D (which I'm looking to get sometime soon, hence the research).

Looking for a thorough, technical answer on just what the circuitry is doing in the X2000's upscaling feature, and how it can be manipulated, if possible.
Philm63 is offline  
post #10216 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 04:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philm63 View Post
Having trouble pinning down exactly how the upscaling works in my X2000. I'm going to be passing a 4K signal through the Blu-Ray HDMI Input to my Sony 4K TV. What I'd like to know is this; does the X2000 automatically attempt to upscale to the detected TV's native resolution? And if so, is this a setting that is accessible to the user - can one turn this feature off if needed?

Even if I choose to let the Sony TV do the 4K upscaling, I'd still like to avoid any conflict with the X2000. Not that I don't trust the X2000's ability to upscale, I don't know anything about Denon's upscaling circuitry, but I do know the Sony TV has very good 4K upscaling, and so does the Oppo 103D (which I'm looking to get sometime soon, hence the research).

Looking for a thorough, technical answer on just what the circuitry is doing in the X2000's upscaling feature, and how it can be manipulated, if possible.
The X2000 can upscale to 4k/24/30Hz. You can turn off the upscaling by setting the "i/p Scaler" setting to OFF.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10217 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Philm63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Who knew "thorough and technical" could be so succinct...

Thanks, JD.
Philm63 is offline  
post #10218 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vader424242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You should still be able to get to at least -20db, perhaps higher before the unit shuts down. Also SVS should provide free shipping both ways if for some reason you choose not to keep the speakers within the return period.
My usual listening levels vary between 10 and 15 dB below reference (as measured at the MLP), and occasionally a bit higher. Even if the X4k would handle this, there would always be an uncertainty with every peak as to if it would croak. Upgrading to the Ultras was, in reality, a pipe dream, anyways...

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Sully View Post
FWIW, the X5200W looks like it might do the trick, also:

http://www.audioholics.com/av-receiv...w/measurements

It certainly seems to have decent current capacity.
The X4k upgrade was a major dent in the pocketbook (but more than worth it - thanks, JD!), so I have no intention of upgrading the AVR for at least 5-6 years. I am not convinced that 4k will supplant (or even be a threat to) standard HD.... so HDMI 1.4 is sufficient. As far as Dolby Atmos is concerned, I have learned never to jump into a new format (audio, in this case) before at least 3-4 generations in. By then, all of the immersive formats will be standard, and all (most) of the bugs will be sorted.

Thanks for the comments, all!

Peace... Vader
 

"Ya see, we plan ahead. That way we don't do anything right now. Earl explained it to me." - Valentine McKee

 

One sub to rumble them all. One sub to shake them. One sub to humble them all. And in the darkness break them....


Last edited by Vader424242; 01-20-2015 at 05:31 AM.
Vader424242 is offline  
post #10219 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Does the X2000 let you use the assignable amps as a "Speakers B" for comparison testing? I need the ability to alternate which speakers are playing, and they need to play the same source.

With my AVR-1910 I can do A/B speaker comparisons and I'd like my next AVR to have that ability.
Soulburner is offline  
post #10220 of 10888 Old 01-19-2015, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 86
The plot thickens. I wanted to re-run Audyssey today but I wasn't able to. The Audessey setup option in grayed out.
Also the front HDMI and USB inputs have stopped working.
I am ready to get a baseball bat and smash this thing into pieces.
lulimet is offline  
post #10221 of 10888 Old 01-20-2015, 12:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Does the X2000 let you use the assignable amps as a "Speakers B" for comparison testing? I need the ability to alternate which speakers are playing, and they need to play the same source.

With my AVR-1910 I can do A/B speaker comparisons and I'd like my next AVR to have that ability.
Yes.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10222 of 10888 Old 01-20-2015, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
cassnlogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have had my X1000 for about 10 days now and most everything seems to be working fine. And it has had pretty heavy usage every day. I have been testing out little things that I don't use often and have found that volume while watching Directv and using headphones is extremely low. If I switch to internet radio the volume is fine. Bluray volume not so great either through headphones. And I tested this with 2 different pairs of headphones. Bad headphone jack or am I missing something?
cassnlogan is offline  
post #10223 of 10888 Old 01-20-2015, 01:05 PM
Member
 
tcassette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See page 134 of your manual:

Source Level
• This function corrects the playback level of the selected input source’s
audio input.
• Make this setting if there are differences in the input volume levels
between the different sources.
–12dB – +12dB (Default : 0dB)

Select the input you want to adjust, then make the adjustment as noted.
tcassette is offline  
post #10224 of 10888 Old 01-20-2015, 01:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
Quote:
Originally Posted by cassnlogan View Post
I have had my X1000 for about 10 days now and most everything seems to be working fine. And it has had pretty heavy usage every day. I have been testing out little things that I don't use often and have found that volume while watching Directv and using headphones is extremely low. If I switch to internet radio the volume is fine. Bluray volume not so great either through headphones. And I tested this with 2 different pairs of headphones. Bad headphone jack or am I missing something?
Could be a bad jack or bad connection. Insert/remove the headphone plug a dozen times or so and see if that resolves the issue. Also give a soft reset a try by unplugging the AVR for 10 minutes. If still no joy, a microprocessor reset (see post 5 on page 1 of this thread) would be the final step before exchanging it for a new unit.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10225 of 10888 Old 01-21-2015, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25


I'm guessing if my menus all look similar to this that my X1000 is just broken? I just got a refurb from accessories4less. It gets no video at all . If I reset the microprocessor about 10 times I can occasionally get something like this to show up. Also it gets no sound. I left it unplugged overnight. Reset the microprocessor, tried different TV's, different HDMI cables, different speakers.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #10226 of 10888 Old 01-21-2015, 07:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3301 Post(s)
Liked: 2071
^^
Correct. Defective.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10227 of 10888 Old 01-21-2015, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Correct. Defective.
Thanks, I figured. Hopefully I can get another here quickly. The straight out of the TV sound over at the girlfriend's house is killing me.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #10228 of 10888 Old 01-21-2015, 08:45 AM
Member
 
ubermick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So, question for you lads and lasses - picking up a Sony 4k TV (XBR55X850B) in the coming weeks to replace a Philips set that's on it's last legs. Currently the amp hanging off that set is equally old, a Sony STR-DG910 that my wife thinks is just fine (*cough*) so that needs replacing. Unfortunately, that TV is eating a lot of my available funds, meaning I just have about $400 left over.

However currently lurking in the "main" family room is an X2000 attached to an LG 49" 3D set that's about a year and a half old.

The question then - will the X2000 be box enough for the shiny new 4k TV, this meaning I can replace the Sony with a lower end model, like an S700W? The other option would be a refurbed X2100, but would obviously rather stay away from a refurb...
ubermick is offline  
post #10229 of 10888 Old 01-21-2015, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubermick View Post
So, question for you lads and lasses - picking up a Sony 4k TV (XBR55X850B) in the coming weeks to replace a Philips set that's on it's last legs. Currently the amp hanging off that set is equally old, a Sony STR-DG910 that my wife thinks is just fine (*cough*) so that needs replacing. Unfortunately, that TV is eating a lot of my available funds, meaning I just have about $400 left over.

However currently lurking in the "main" family room is an X2000 attached to an LG 49" 3D set that's about a year and a half old.

The question then - will the X2000 be box enough for the shiny new 4k TV, this meaning I can replace the Sony with a lower end model, like an S700W? The other option would be a refurbed X2100, but would obviously rather stay away from a refurb...
I don't understand "box enough" in this context: Any amp or AVR can process TV audio; the relevant issues pertaining to "amp enough," are what speakers, what room size, what typical volume level? Does your Sony lack features or sound quality, or is it just not "shiny"? The x2000 will upscale to 4K, according to the specs, but I haven't got 4K or an x2000 and can't speak to how well it upscales.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #10230 of 10888 Old 01-21-2015, 12:19 PM
Member
 
ubermick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I don't understand "box enough" in this context: Any amp or AVR can process TV audio; the relevant issues pertaining to "amp enough," are what speakers, what room size, what typical volume level? Does your Sony lack features or sound quality, or is it just not "shiny"? The x2000 will upscale to 4K, according to the specs, but I haven't got 4K or an x2000 and can't speak to how well it upscales.
My apologies, phrased it completely wrong. (Have a 10 day old baby in the house, sleep is something of a rarity!)

Not concerned about sound in any way. The speakers I have (Polk TL2 surrounds and center, TSi 300 mains, and an Acoustech PL200 sub) do the job nicely, and can't complain in the least about the Audyssey setup on the X2000. The main question I suppose was compatibility with the 4k TV, as I'm lost in a sea of HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 (which I know no receivers have fully implemented yet) and scratching my head in order to decide if the X2000 will handle it, or if I need to upgrade a receiver I love, or if there's no point in upgrading right now, and am better off waiting until the X2200 (2300, 2400...).

I mentioned the lack of sleep, right?
ubermick is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off