The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 342 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10231 of 10256 Old 01-21-2015, 01:19 PM
Member
 
ubermick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I don't understand "box enough" in this context: Any amp or AVR can process TV audio; the relevant issues pertaining to "amp enough," are what speakers, what room size, what typical volume level? Does your Sony lack features or sound quality, or is it just not "shiny"? The x2000 will upscale to 4K, according to the specs, but I haven't got 4K or an x2000 and can't speak to how well it upscales.
My apologies, phrased it completely wrong. (Have a 10 day old baby in the house, sleep is something of a rarity!)

Not concerned about sound in any way. The speakers I have (Polk TL2 surrounds and center, TSi 300 mains, and an Acoustech PL200 sub) do the job nicely, and can't complain in the least about the Audyssey setup on the X2000. The main question I suppose was compatibility with the 4k TV, as I'm lost in a sea of HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 (which I know no receivers have fully implemented yet) and scratching my head in order to decide if the X2000 will handle it, or if I need to upgrade a receiver I love, or if there's no point in upgrading right now, and am better off waiting until the X2200 (2300, 2400...).

I mentioned the lack of sleep, right?
ubermick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10232 of 10256 Old 01-21-2015, 07:47 PM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubermick View Post
My apologies, phrased it completely wrong. (Have a 10 day old baby in the house, sleep is something of a rarity!)

Not concerned about sound in any way. The speakers I have (Polk TL2 surrounds and center, TSi 300 mains, and an Acoustech PL200 sub) do the job nicely, and can't complain in the least about the Audyssey setup on the X2000. The main question I suppose was compatibility with the 4k TV, as I'm lost in a sea of HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 (which I know no receivers have fully implemented yet) and scratching my head in order to decide if the X2000 will handle it, or if I need to upgrade a receiver I love, or if there's no point in upgrading right now, and am better off waiting until the X2200 (2300, 2400...).

I mentioned the lack of sleep, right?
Your x2000 will be able to do everything you need it to with today's 4k TVs. If you aren't in need of more power or more channels, I wouldn't upgrade. The only reason I might upgrade is to add another sub and upgrade to the X4000 with XT32 with Sub EQ HT. if you are happy with xt, I would sit tight, though.

There is too much up in the air with HDMI, immersive audio, and UHD to upgrade in my opinion.

Just my opinion, though. Congratulations on the baby.
Vader424242 and ubermick like this.

Last edited by johnnymacIII; 01-21-2015 at 08:28 PM.
johnnymacIII is offline  
post #10233 of 10256 Old 01-21-2015, 11:11 PM
Member
 
ubermick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for that, Johnny - helps a lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymacIII View Post
Just my opinion, though. Congratulations on the baby.
And 'tis far more informed than mine!
ubermick is offline  
post #10234 of 10256 Old 01-22-2015, 04:24 PM
Member
 
wantamancave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just became part of the club, pulled the trigger and ordered the X4000 last night. It will be here Tuesday so I will begin playing with all the bells and whistles then. Thanks all for the help in my decision.
wantamancave is offline  
post #10235 of 10256 Old 01-22-2015, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 160
So I think I'm loosing my X4000 after 12 months of use. It's shutting down, flashing red light. Its just random. Sometimes after being on 10mins, sometimes, after hours of use. Heat is not an issue. After checking all cables, banana plugs, I don't see anything but some of these are in wall. It even happens when ear phones are plugged in. Amp is never used above 45 volume - small room.


I now have swapped it with my x4100, and left the x4000 just powered up with no other cables plugged in. Lets see which one shuts down first.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #10236 of 10256 Old 01-22-2015, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 75
^^^
I believe the X4000 has 3 years of warranty when bought new, so you can just have it repaired.
tezster is offline  
post #10237 of 10256 Old 01-22-2015, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,259
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 1702
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post
So I think I'm loosing my X4000 after 12 months of use. It's shutting down, flashing red light. Its just random. Sometimes after being on 10mins, sometimes, after hours of use. Heat is not an issue. After checking all cables, banana plugs, I don't see anything but some of these are in wall. It even happens when ear phones are plugged in. Amp is never used above 45 volume - small room.
This is sort of a known issue (strangely seemingly only affects the X4000, not sure why nobody has reported it with any other models). The symptoms are random shut-down with seemingly no cause (receiver isn't hot, etc) and fast blinky light. It should just start on back up if you push the power button, as though nothing bad happened.

I had a little bout of this with my X4000 -- I even left it on overnight, sitting out in the open, with nothing plugged in, to rule out any heat or speaker wiring issues, and when I woke up in the morning it was shut down with fast blinky light around the power button. What I did was do multiple "deep resets" in a row -- like 4 or 5 in a row. Letting it flash and blink for a few seconds after each reset to make sure it "took". After that, the problem didn't re-manifest. If it does continue to do it after the reset, I would contact Denon for warranty service.

Here's the procedure for the "deep reset" as documented by JD:

1 - Turn off the power using ON/STANDBY.
2 - Simultaneously press/hold the UP/DOWN arrow buttons on the front panel and then press the ON/STANDBY button on the front panel.
3 - Once the display starts flashing at intervals of about 1 second, release the two buttons (but hold for at least 4-5 seconds).

** If in step 3 the display does not flash at intervals of about 1 second, start over from step 1.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #10238 of 10256 Old 01-22-2015, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 160
ok thanks will definitely try that. I want to leave it on all night to rule out wire issues as well. I will reset it tomorrow.
newfmp3 is offline  
post #10239 of 10256 Old 01-23-2015, 09:25 AM
Member
 
tcassette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs down X4000 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
This is sort of a known issue (strangely seemingly only affects the X4000, not sure why nobody has reported it with any other models). The symptoms are random shut-down with seemingly no cause (receiver isn't hot, etc) and fast blinky light. It should just start on back up if you push the power button, as though nothing bad happened.

I had a little bout of this with my X4000 -- I even left it on overnight, sitting out in the open, with nothing plugged in, to rule out any heat or speaker wiring issues, and when I woke up in the morning it was shut down with fast blinky light around the power button. What I did was do multiple "deep resets" in a row -- like 4 or 5 in a row. Letting it flash and blink for a few seconds after each reset to make sure it "took". After that, the problem didn't re-manifest. If it does continue to do it after the reset, I would contact Denon for warranty service.

Here's the procedure for the "deep reset" as documented by JD:

1 - Turn off the power using ON/STANDBY.
2 - Simultaneously press/hold the UP/DOWN arrow buttons on the front panel and then press the ON/STANDBY button on the front panel.
3 - Once the display starts flashing at intervals of about 1 second, release the two buttons (but hold for at least 4-5 seconds).

** If in step 3 the display does not flash at intervals of about 1 second, start over from step 1.
I had a different frustrating problem with my X4000 (see post #10194 on this thread). My network function was repeatedly going wonky. As noted in post update, the only permanent cure (so far) has been 5 microprocessor resets in a row as recommended by JD. I emailed Denon on January 14th about the problem I was having and still have not received an email response. Today I used their "Customer Support" chat and was told "this is the first time I have heard of such a thing." The Denon rep also recommended (via an obvious script) that I should send it in to a service center under warranty. When I asked why I had received no response to my original request, he noted that they were way behind on email responses due to the large number of customer inquiries. What does that tell you?
tcassette is offline  
post #10240 of 10256 Old 01-23-2015, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cw5billwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
This is sort of a known issue (strangely seemingly only affects the X4000, not sure why nobody has reported it with any other models). The symptoms are random shut-down with seemingly no cause (receiver isn't hot, etc) and fast blinky light. It should just start on back up if you push the power button, as though nothing bad happened.

I had a little bout of this with my X4000 -- I even left it on overnight, sitting out in the open, with nothing plugged in, to rule out any heat or speaker wiring issues, and when I woke up in the morning it was shut down with fast blinky light around the power button. What I did was do multiple "deep resets" in a row -- like 4 or 5 in a row. Letting it flash and blink for a few seconds after each reset to make sure it "took". After that, the problem didn't re-manifest. If it does continue to do it after the reset, I would contact Denon for warranty service.

Here's the procedure for the "deep reset" as documented by JD:

1 - Turn off the power using ON/STANDBY.
2 - Simultaneously press/hold the UP/DOWN arrow buttons on the front panel and then press the ON/STANDBY button on the front panel.
3 - Once the display starts flashing at intervals of about 1 second, release the two buttons (but hold for at least 4-5 seconds).

** If in step 3 the display does not flash at intervals of about 1 second, start over from step 1.
that fixed mine as well. It rearly occures now and all I need to do is unplug for about a minute.
cw5billwade is offline  
post #10241 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 05:21 AM
Member
 
rakosnicek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Although legacy inputs are no longer supported on current AVRs, you can still buy 3rd party converters as well as phono pre-amps.
Looking at local auctions, the *13 series models fetch better prices than their equivalent from the X*000 series.
rakosnicek is offline  
post #10242 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 05:33 AM
Member
 
rakosnicek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfmp3 View Post
So I think I'm loosing my X4000 after 12 months of use. It's shutting down, flashing red light. Its just random. Sometimes after being on 10mins, sometimes, after hours of use. Heat is not an issue. After checking all cables, banana plugs, I don't see anything but some of these are in wall. It even happens when ear phones are plugged in. Amp is never used above 45 volume - small room.


I now have swapped it with my x4100, and left the x4000 just powered up with no other cables plugged in. Lets see which one shuts down first.
I had this happen within a week of purchasing an X4000. Took it back to the shop and they didn't believe me. They plugged it into the power, turned it on, 15 minutes later it shut down. They exchanged it for another one and the first one I bought went back to Denon.
rakosnicek is offline  
post #10243 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 07:24 AM
Member
 
wantamancave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So with my new x4000 that is being delivered on Tuesday, would it be advisable to cycle through the hard resets a few times before setting it all up?
wantamancave is offline  
post #10244 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 07:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,092
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2654 Post(s)
Liked: 1903
^^
If it's used/refurb yes, otherwise if new in box, not required.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10245 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 08:33 AM
Member
 
wantamancave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brand new, just wondering if it may be preventative maintenance before shut downs and blinking.
wantamancave is offline  
post #10246 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,259
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 1702
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantamancave View Post
Brand new, just wondering if it may be preventative maintenance before shut downs and blinking.
It's not like every unit does that. If it ain't broke....
batpig is offline  
post #10247 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 01:58 PM
Member
 
wantamancave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a mechanic by trade and a former Marine...so in typical government/military fashion if it's working fine one must keep improving or "fixing" until it's broken. Old habits die hard. But seriously, the only reason I ask is I'd hate to have all settings made and be completely content only to have to wipe them all out with a reset. Didn't know if it could be headed off, with a preemptive strike.
wantamancave is offline  
post #10248 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 02:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,092
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2654 Post(s)
Liked: 1903
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantamancave View Post
I'm a mechanic by trade and a former Marine...so in typical government/military fashion if it's working fine one must keep improving or "fixing" until it's broken. Old habits die hard. But seriously, the only reason I ask is I'd hate to have all settings made and be completely content only to have to wipe them all out with a reset. Didn't know if it could be headed off, with a preemptive strike.
Lots of helpful info is provided in post #3 of this thread to include the SAVE/LOAD procedure to back up all settings ....

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10249 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 02:35 PM
Member
 
wantamancave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well just found my weekend reading, thanks!
wantamancave is offline  
post #10250 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantamancave View Post
I'm a mechanic by trade and a former Marine...so in typical government/military fashion if it's working fine one must keep improving or "fixing" until it's broken. Old habits die hard. But seriously, the only reason I ask is I'd hate to have all settings made and be completely content only to have to wipe them all out with a reset. Didn't know if it could be headed off, with a preemptive strike.
You can save all of your settings onto a PC and then reload them if you have to do a hard reset someday.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is online now  
post #10251 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 04:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,555
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Lots of helpful info is provided in post #3 of this thread to include the SAVE/LOAD procedure to back up all settings ....

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Thanks jd and pbarach. Although I couldn't get the posted link to work on my E400, I found one that did work, in case you want to update your post. The one that worked was:

http://192.168.100.19/SETUP/OTHERS/f_others.asp

instead of /Setup_Index.asp
mdavej is offline  
post #10252 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Drexel Hill,PA
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up an AVR-E200 to use with an Amazon Fire TV that's running Kodi Helix. I have it hooked up using HDMI, and the AFTV is set to put audio out through HDMI. On the Kodi settings, I have the audio set to Passthrough, and all the different audio formats are enabled. When I play a movie file that's DD 5.1, I get a loud hissing noise, instead of the movie audio. If I disable Passthrough, I don't get the hissing sound, but I only get 2 channel audio. I set the audio on Kodi back to Passthrough, and started playing with the settings on the E200. The input mode was set to auto, so I changed it to HDMI, and the audio started working properly, and it displayed DD on the front of the receiver. When I put it back to auto, the hissing noise came back. I put it back to HDMI, and it works fine, until I turn the receiver off. When I turn the receiver back on, the input mode is still set to HDMI, but I get the hissing noise. If I cycle through the input mode, and put it back to HDMI, it works fine. I hooked the AFTV to my Denon AVR-890, and the audio works perfectly, without changing any settings. Do I have a faulty E200, or is it just that it's not as good of a receiver as my 890?
biglen is offline  
post #10253 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am brand new to this forum. I have a denon x3000 hooked up to an lg65ub9200. When watching the Netflix or YouTube app on the TV, I do not get any audio. I have the HDMI cable hooked into the ARC terminals. Should the TV audio start automatically when the app starts? I turned my direct TV set top box off as well.
RISE UP is offline  
post #10254 of 10256 Old Yesterday, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes.
Thanks. I'm trying to figure out how this will work, so bear with me...

Referring to this page: http://batpigworld.com/wp/?p=160

I use my Playstation 3 currently, and will be using a Chromecast soon to play my music. I did an A/B speaker comparison with my 1910 this way. If I'm reading this right, the X2000 would not work for me. Am I correct that I would have to step up to the X3000 in order to play an HDMI audio source to the second set of speakers?

What I want is to just have the song playing, and simply be able to click between the speakers so I can hear the differences.

I could also go with the X2100 if this functionality was changed there. I'm sure you would know the answer to that.

Thanks!

Samsung, Sony, Denon, Infinity, EMP, Velodyne and SVS
Samsung PN64H5000 Recommended Settings
Soulburner is offline  
post #10255 of 10256 Old Today, 04:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,092
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2654 Post(s)
Liked: 1903
^^
If you refer to p. 130 in the X2000 Owner's manual, you'll note there is an AMP ASSIGN = Front B setting which can play the same HDMI source as is playing to the Front A speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10256 of 10256 Old Today, 04:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,092
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2654 Post(s)
Liked: 1903
Quote:
Originally Posted by RISE UP View Post
I am brand new to this forum. I have a denon x3000 hooked up to an lg65ub9200. When watching the Netflix or YouTube app on the TV, I do not get any audio. I have the HDMI cable hooked into the ARC terminals. Should the TV audio start automatically when the app starts? I turned my direct TV set top box off as well.
Refer to my post below to set up ARC ...

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10257 of 10256 Old Today, 04:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,092
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2654 Post(s)
Liked: 1903
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I just picked up an AVR-E200 to use with an Amazon Fire TV that's running Kodi Helix. I have it hooked up using HDMI, and the AFTV is set to put audio out through HDMI. On the Kodi settings, I have the audio set to Passthrough, and all the different audio formats are enabled. When I play a movie file that's DD 5.1, I get a loud hissing noise, instead of the movie audio. If I disable Passthrough, I don't get the hissing sound, but I only get 2 channel audio. I set the audio on Kodi back to Passthrough, and started playing with the settings on the E200. The input mode was set to auto, so I changed it to HDMI, and the audio started working properly, and it displayed DD on the front of the receiver. When I put it back to auto, the hissing noise came back. I put it back to HDMI, and it works fine, until I turn the receiver off. When I turn the receiver back on, the input mode is still set to HDMI, but I get the hissing noise. If I cycle through the input mode, and put it back to HDMI, it works fine. I hooked the AFTV to my Denon AVR-890, and the audio works perfectly, without changing any settings. Do I have a faulty E200, or is it just that it's not as good of a receiver as my 890?
Generally these HDMI handshake issues are caused by the source, so also could be a faulty Amazon Fire. Also try every HDMI input as one may work better than another.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off