The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 344 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

batpig's Avatar batpig
08:47 AM Liked: 1717
post #10291 of 10315
01-30-2015 | Posts: 25,299
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azaqui View Post
In AVR-X4000 the front/surround balance is off in the all channel stereo mode (mid-rear and far-rear surround speakers dominate the front). If I adjust their levels in setup, the back surround is almost not present when watching movies. Is it possible to set the speaker levels/balance per sound mode?
It's Dynamic EQ. It boosts the surrounds (in addition to adjusting freq response) to maintain surround immersion during movies. But not appropriate for all ch stereo listening.

Instead of adjusting surround levels which (as you found) also mucks up movie performance, either turn DEQ off for all ch stereo listening or adjust the Ref Level Offset parameter to 10-15db which will tone down how much DEQ is boosting. You could also try some of the other music surround upmix modes like Pro Logic II Music.
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar Dan in St. Louis
10:04 AM Liked: 17
post #10292 of 10315
01-30-2015 | Posts: 481
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
You could also try some of the other music surround upmix modes like Pro Logic II Music.
I concur -- try a couple of choices. I have found that if synthesizing for 5 speakers from a 2-channel source is necessary, I prefer PL II cinema for movies, but NEO:X music for music. The PL II choice for music still leaves the surround channels too loud, just like Azaqui's.
edlittle's Avatar edlittle
05:56 PM Liked: 38
post #10293 of 10315
01-30-2015 | Posts: 216
Joined: Dec 2012
Is there a way to control or at least push music to an E300 from my PC? Ideally I'd like to select music from iTunes or Spotify and it would play on the E300. Is that possible, or should I just use the remote to browse files much slower?
Orion5150's Avatar Orion5150
10:27 PM Liked: 11
post #10294 of 10315
01-30-2015 | Posts: 28
Joined: May 2014
I just bought my first Denon To replace my older Pioneer sc05. I bought the AVR-x7200w. I love it. I'm having a problem though. I set my iPad and iPhone to connect to it via Bluetooth so I could listen to music in Zone 2. The primary use is for home theater. Every time I go down my basement to watch a movie, the AVR is powered on and set to the Bluetooth input all by itself and for God knows how long. I always turn the receiver off and it is usually left on cable or bluray input. Is this because my phone and or iPad are searching for the AVR and are somehow connecting automatically. I can't find a setting on the AVR to turn Bluetooth off. I don't want to turn off Bluetooth on my devices. I use them for Bluetooth on my sound dock upstairs and connect with them in the car. Does this make sense? Am I missing something? I've only had the AVR for 2 weeks. I looked online and see nothing. I did check to see if I click on the Denon from my iPhone Bluetooth device list if it would power on the AVR and it does. And that is a convenient feature if I choose it but not when i find out the AVR powerred up by itself and was on for 3 or 4 days straight without me knowing! Thanks guys!
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
07:20 AM Liked: 1931
post #10295 of 10315
Yesterday | Posts: 48,324
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Oops! Wrong thread. Please post in the thread linked below ....

The "Official" 2014 Denon Atmos+XT32 Model Thread (X4100/X5200/X7200)
jhachey's Avatar jhachey
08:00 AM Liked: 10
post #10296 of 10315
Yesterday | Posts: 425
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by edlittle View Post
Is there a way to control or at least push music to an E300 from my PC? Ideally I'd like to select music from iTunes or Spotify and it would play on the E300. Is that possible, or should I just use the remote to browse files much slower?
Using iTunes Airplay from your PC should work just fine. I use it a lot. Aside from being easier to find songs using iTunes, iTune has gapless playback capability for MP3s (my X4000 will only do gapless for FLAC / ALAC). Gapless playback is really nice when songs segue into one another, like on live albums or Abbey Road, or Dark Side of the Moon.
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
01:44 PM Liked: 118
post #10297 of 10315
Yesterday | Posts: 2,682
Joined: Jul 2005
2-channel playback setup with x4000

I have an x4000 and 5.2 speakers, with the front L and R powered by an external amp. All of the speakers are set to SMALL. I am not using ZONE 2 or 3.

I'd like to have this system set up for 2-channel playback, but with a different crossover frequency than for home theater use, and I definitely don't want "double bass" in either use. Is this possible? If so, what is the right setting for Amp Assign? And in the 2-channel playback settings, I assume that I have SW Mode set to LFE, is that right?

I think that I "get" the manual's instructions on how to do a separate 2-channel setup when you have two sets of front speakers, but I have only one set.
Soulburner's Avatar Soulburner
01:55 PM Liked: 37
post #10298 of 10315
Yesterday | Posts: 408
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by edlittle View Post
Is there a way to control or at least push music to an E300 from my PC? Ideally I'd like to select music from iTunes or Spotify and it would play on the E300. Is that possible, or should I just use the remote to browse files much slower?
You can use Airplay like was suggested already, or if you're like me you'll use the web interface or app that controls your NAS, or get a Google Chromecast and plug it into your AVR.
Hammonje's Avatar Hammonje
04:33 PM Liked: 0
post #10299 of 10315
Yesterday | Posts: 53
Joined: Nov 2014
Have a Denon X4000. Setup 5.1. Gave me an out of phase error on left surround. Checked several times and everything is correct. What could be issue????
DJ60's Avatar DJ60
06:41 PM Liked: 10
post #10300 of 10315
Yesterday | Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2010
I am enjoying my new E400 in a 7.0 speaker arrangement. It is connected to a new Samsung UN55H7150, a blu-ray player and the Comcast X1 cable TV box. All features work perfectly with one exception. At times when the Denon is off it does not correctly "pass-thru" the audio from the X1 cable that is connected to the Denon HDMI 1 port. This problem seems to come and go by itself. I have already performed the factory reset on the Denon. Most of the time the pass through works fine. To troubleshoot this I connected the blu-ray player to the Denon HDMI 1 and it also did not pass the audio through to the TV. The video is always there. Some times the problem goes away just by power cycling the Denon. Other times it does not fix it.

Is this something that falls under the explanation of - "HDMI is just flakey at times"? Or do I have something that I should look to get repaired?
GIEGAR's Avatar GIEGAR
04:45 AM Liked: 358
post #10301 of 10315
Today | Posts: 1,275
Joined: Jan 2013
Gurus

Over in this thread I've recommended the X2000 (clearance) or alternately the X2100. The OP has asked:
Quote:
One feature that I would like is being able to play all my music from my NAS drive via the AVR without any other 'intermediary device' (e.g. I currently use a dreambox to play music and films via my NAS drive). Will I get that feature with those other AVR's [X2000, X2100] you mention?
Of course, I haven't got a clue. If someone knows, would you care to jump in on that thread and advise the OP? Cheers!
wkearney99's Avatar wkearney99
05:55 AM Liked: 74
post #10302 of 10315
Today | Posts: 1,478
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ60 View Post
I am enjoying my new E400 in a 7.0 speaker arrangement. It is connected to a new Samsung UN55H7150, a blu-ray player and the Comcast X1 cable TV box. All features work perfectly with one exception. At times when the Denon is off it does not correctly "pass-thru" the audio from the X1 cable that is connected to the Denon HDMI 1 port. This problem seems to come and go by itself. I have already performed the factory reset on the Denon. Most of the time the pass through works fine. To troubleshoot this I connected the blu-ray player to the Denon HDMI 1 and it also did not pass the audio through to the TV. The video is always there. Some times the problem goes away just by power cycling the Denon. Other times it does not fix it.
I've likewise run into situations where the TV or Denon being turned on or off independently of the other leads to the Denon getting into an odd state where it won't pass the audio. It doesn't happen often, usually if my wife tries turning things off with factory remotes. There's some combination of issues with the HDMI-CEC configuration that I think is involved. But it's not repeatable, at least I haven't been able to force it to act up that way.

I also have the TV (a Panasonic VT60) configured with an auto-off timer at 2am.

The solution does usually involve turning off the Denon first, then the TV and leaving both off for a minute or two. Then power the Denon back up first, which I have configured via Viera link to also turn on the TV.
wkearney99's Avatar wkearney99
06:03 AM Liked: 74
post #10303 of 10315
Today | Posts: 1,478
Joined: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by edlittle View Post
Is there a way to control or at least push music to an E300 from my PC? Ideally I'd like to select music from iTunes or Spotify and it would play on the E300. Is that possible, or should I just use the remote to browse files much slower?
I don't use it but both my E300 and X3000 appear on my PCs as a multimedia network device. I think this is the DLNA stuff on them? As I mentioned, I don't bother using the network streaming features but they do both have that and Airplay functionality. So you could push to them via those protocols, provided whatever software you're using supports sending to those kinds of endpoints. There's also support on the units themselves to pull content from a network drive. So you could use that to play from those sources (if you have media set up that way). The UI on the receivers is a little clunky but it's certainly do-able.

As others mentioned you could also use one of the HDMI inputs for something like a Chromecast or other small streaming device. Or one of the other inputs if you've got some other controllable device like an Airport Express, Myro:Air or whatever. Note, some DVRs are now also supporting being a streaming device target too.
fuelish's Avatar fuelish
06:07 AM Liked: 10
post #10304 of 10315
Today | Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2009
My name is Dave . I have not posted much but, thanks to this forum, Batpig, JD, and others I have built a fantastic sounding system. Currently I have Denon 1610 and 5 energy RC-10's. Also 2 outlaw LFM-1 subs (y split). I have hardwood floors in a 26x28 (approx) great room with 14" vaulted ceiling. I have a 3rd set of Rc-10's ready to go for a 7.2 system. Is the Denon x4000 a good fit for this setup or too much power for my RC-10's? I'm seeing good pricing on the remaining stock and would like to take advantage. Speaker setup as follows: 3 evenly spaced across front at approx ear level... 2 on rear wall 6-7 ft up pointing down and toed in to main listening position..
the new set will be positioned on either side of MLP and I am building telescopic poles with linear actuators that will drop these down to ear level when watching movies, etc. and pull them up high enough to please my wife when not needed. Our great room is combined kitchen and living space divided by granite island. One speaker will be suspended over this island, the reason for lifting it up and out of direct sight. Thanks for any input.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
06:33 AM Liked: 1931
post #10305 of 10315
Today | Posts: 48,324
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Not really that much difference in power, so no, not an issue. Nice idea on the telescoping side surrounds.

You could also repurpose the 1610 in a bedroom and pass the Zone 2 HDMI out from the X4000 to the 1610 and setup some stereo speakers with the 1610 (or even add a center and sub as well).
cfraser's Avatar cfraser
10:52 AM Liked: 51
post #10306 of 10315
Today | Posts: 1,321
Joined: Aug 2002
I am wondering what the logic is behind only allowing reduction of the LFE level with the X4000 audio settings.

I normally don't mess with my sub settings, as I like them the way they are. But I was watching this BD movie and thought I'd up the "excitement factor" a bit by just boosting the LF effects which seemed a little lower in level than I thought they ought to be considering what was going on on-screen (a "home" BD audio mix?). But I didn't want to increase the sub levels, as that would increase the amount of redirected bass too and I already thought the music etc. sounded "right" re bass (I did in fact try increasing the sub levels and it didn't sound "right" to me).

I should say that I have never had an AVR/pre-pro that allowed adjustment of strictly the LFE channel level. So really this isn't a complaint per se, just a question.
soonerfan28's Avatar soonerfan28
02:25 PM Liked: 10
post #10307 of 10315
Today | Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 2008
Need help with audio configuration. I bought a smart tv for Christmas (Samsung 7150). I can't get the audio from the Netflix app to run through my Denon receiver. Both are ARC compatible and set to the correct HDMI (the output from the Denon to the ARC HDMI 2 on the Samsung). I get the picture fine, but no audio. Anybody else have this problem or know how to fix it?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:36 PM Liked: 1931
post #10308 of 10315
Today | Posts: 48,324
Joined: Sep 2007
TV: HDMI(CEC) - Anynet+ set to ON; Audio set to "External speakers"/"Home theater"
AVR: HDMI Control set to ON

Power both TV and AVR off. Power on TV, then AVR. If it's working, AVR should automatically switch to TV Audio. If not (as not all TVs will work correctly), connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR.

For additional information, refer to my post #3 in this thread linked below ....

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
02:40 PM Liked: 118
post #10309 of 10315
Today | Posts: 2,682
Joined: Jul 2005
Bump--Anyone?? 2-channel playback setup with x4000

I have an x4000 and 5.2 speakers, with the front L and R powered by an external amp. All of the speakers are set to SMALL. I am not using ZONE 2 or 3.

I'd like to have this system set up for 2-channel playback, but with a different crossover frequency than for home theater use, and I definitely don't want "double bass" in either use. Is this possible? If so, what is the right setting for Amp Assign? And in the 2-channel playback settings, I assume that I have SW Mode set to LFE, is that right?

I think that I "get" the manual's instructions on how to do a separate 2-channel setup when you have two sets of front speakers, but I have only one set.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:52 PM Liked: 1931
post #10310 of 10315
Today | Posts: 48,324
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
No, only possible on the X4000 when a second set of Front B speakers is used, although is possible with the Front A speakers on the newer X4100W.
soonerfan28's Avatar soonerfan28
02:57 PM Liked: 10
post #10311 of 10315
Today | Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
TV: HDMI(CEC) - Anynet+ set to ON; Audio set to "External speakers"/"Home theater"
AVR: HDMI Control set to ON

Power both TV and AVR off. Power on TV, then AVR. If it's working, AVR should automatically switch to TV Audio. If not (as not all TVs will work correctly), connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR.

For additional information, refer to my post #3 in this thread linked below ....

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Thanks for the quick response. I have everything set up as you suggested. I can control the TV volume through the Denon remote. When I use the Netflix app, I get the picture, but still hear the audio from DirecTV. The only way I can hear the audio is to turn off the Denon and listen through the TV, but I want to run it through the receiver. I have the optical cable out from the TV to CD input on the back of the Denon, but it makes no difference. Any other ideas?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
03:03 PM Liked: 1931
post #10312 of 10315
Today | Posts: 48,324
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
If you are trying to use HDMI(ARC) to pass audio from a smart app on your TV back to the AVR, DirecTV has nothing to do with this, rather it means the AVR is not changing to the TV Audio Source. HDMI(ARC) often does not work with Samsung TVs. Connect the optical cable to the Opt(TV Audio) input.
soonerfan28's Avatar soonerfan28
03:19 PM Liked: 10
post #10313 of 10315
Today | Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 2008
I have the optical cable set up, still no audio from TV, just the DTV. Do I need to set it to a different source or assign the optical? If so, how?
pbarach's Avatar pbarach
03:56 PM Liked: 118
post #10314 of 10315
Today | Posts: 2,682
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
No, only possible on the X4000 when a second set of Front B speakers is used, although is possible with the Front A speakers on the newer X4100W.
Thanks!
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
06:20 PM Liked: 1931
post #10315 of 10315
Today | Posts: 48,324
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by soonerfan28 View Post
I have the optical cable set up, still no audio from TV, just the DTV. Do I need to set it to a different source or assign the optical? If so, how?
The OPT 1 input defaults to TV Audio, so you need only select TV Audio on the remote. If still no joy, ensure the TV is set to "external speakers."
Tags: Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3