The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 359 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10741 of 10753 Unread Today, 04:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,031
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3087 Post(s)
Liked: 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I have a question about heat dispersion. I'm in the process of changing all my equipment around and trying to decide where to put what. My rack is a SANUS EFA31 which looks similar to the image below, I'm actually going to setup two separate racks side by side but that's not important,

I've made changes to it such as using 12" vs 8" pillars in a couple of sections.

My question is, will 2" of top room be enough for the X4000 with this style setup, considering that in the very near future, at a minimum, the front 3 channels will be driven by an external basic amplifier?

I suspect that it is but I wanted to see if the community had any comments, thanks!
The AVR will likely put out the same amount of heat regardless of whether using any on board amps or not as most of the heat comes from the video chip, so you'll likely want to add one or two PC fans to exhaust the heat away from the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10742 of 10753 Unread Today, 04:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,031
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3087 Post(s)
Liked: 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
I have an opportunity to score the X4000 at a really good price, but need some clarification first. I am running a 7.1 system in my living room. The system consist of L/C/R, front heights and dipole for my rear surrounds. I will eventually be adding a projector to the living room to watch movies. I would like to run the second zone to my bedroom with just an HDMI cable. my input sources are Xbox one, Apple Tv, and OTA HD antenna. I really don't want to purchase an external amp right now. So, the questions I have are below.

Can I just run an HDMI to my zone 2 tv (bedroom) and use the tv speakers?

Can I watch different sources at the time in both zones?

Or, do I need to consider a 9 channel amp?

Thanks
1. Yes. The X4000 has (3) HDMI monitor outputs, (2) for the main zone(TV + PJ), and (1) for Zone 2.
2. Yes, with the caveat being if you are watching the same HDMI source in both zones, the main zone would be reduced to only 2CH audio as well and if the Zone 2 TV is a lower resolution than the main zone TV (eg. 720p), the main zone would be limited to only 720p as well.
3. Not if using the TV speakers for Zone 2, no. However, if you did want to add Zone 2 speakers, you can use either an old AVR or the following amp connected to the Zone 2 pre-outs:

http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AM.../dp/B00026BQJ6

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10743 of 10753 Unread Today, 04:52 AM
Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. Yes. The X4000 has (3) HDMI monitor outputs, (2) for the main zone(TV + PJ), and (1) for Zone 2.
2. Yes, with the caveat being if you are watching the same HDMI source in both zones, the main zone would be reduced to only 2CH audio as well and if the Zone 2 TV is a lower resolution than the main zone TV (eg. 720p), the main zone would be limited to only 720p as well.
3. Not if using the TV speakers for Zone 2, no. However, if you did want to add Zone 2 speakers, you can use either an old AVR or the following amp connected to the Zone 2 pre-outs:

http://www.amazon.com/AudioSource-AM.../dp/B00026BQJ6
Thanks JD. My Apple TV is only 720p (2nd Gen). Will the 4520 allow me to play 1080p (Xbox One) in the main zone and 720P (Apple Tv) in the bedroom at the same time?
dago52 is online now  
post #10744 of 10753 Unread Today, 05:16 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,031
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3087 Post(s)
Liked: 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Thanks JD. My Apple TV is only 720p (2nd Gen). Will the 4520 allow me to play 1080p (Xbox One) in the main zone and 720P (Apple Tv) in the bedroom at the same time?
Yes. No issue when playing different sources. The 4520CI has the added feature of using Zone 4 for the HDMI output, so you can still use Zones 2 and 3 for audio only if you prefer.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10745 of 10753 Unread Today, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
X2000 shutting down?

Ok I have a denon x2000 that keeps shutting off at high volume. I have installed computer fans in my media cabinet to no avail. I have 7.1 all klipsch f3/s3. Any tips or suggestions to make it quit? Am I asking to much out of it to sustain 68-74 volume for an extended period of time? I like to have parties and friends control it with their phone and it can get pretty wild. How can I make my receiver keep up with us?!?
Webb24 is online now  
post #10746 of 10753 Unread Today, 06:52 AM
Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webb24 View Post
Ok I have a denon x2000 that keeps shutting off at high volume. I have installed computer fans in my media cabinet to no avail. I have 7.1 all klipsch f3/s3. Any tips or suggestions to make it quit? Am I asking to much out of it to sustain 68-74 volume for an extended period of time? I like to have parties and friends control it with their phone and it can get pretty wild. How can I make my receiver keep up with us?!?
You may want to check your speaker wire. I had the same problem with a Sony and I changed my speaker wire to a 14/2 and it eliminated the shutdowns.
dago52 is online now  
post #10747 of 10753 Unread Today, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
You may want to check your speaker wire. I had the same problem with a Sony and I changed my speaker wire to a 14/2 and it eliminated the shutdowns.
I do have pretty thick speaker wire for my front L and front R. Its 12 gauge if im not mistaken. Pretty sure everything else is 14 gauge. Im wiring up more fans now and going to sit them directly on top of the unit. It would be a real pain to change speaker wire as everything is already ran through the wall and such but I am getting pretty desperate to try anything.
Webb24 is online now  
post #10748 of 10753 Unread Today, 07:03 AM
Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webb24 View Post
I do have pretty thick speaker wire for my front L and front R. Its 12 gauge if im not mistaken. Pretty sure everything else is 14 gauge. Im wiring up more fans now and going to sit them directly on top of the unit. It would be a real pain to change speaker wire as everything is already ran through the wall and such but I am getting pretty desperate to try anything.
Sounds like your wire is ok. Is the receiver located in a cabinet or closet? If it's in a closet, you may want to add an exhaust fan. I have one installed on a thermostat and it is set to 75 degrees.
dago52 is online now  
post #10749 of 10753 Unread Today, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dago52 View Post
Sounds like your wire is ok. Is the receiver located in a cabinet or closet? If it's in a closet, you may want to add an exhaust fan. I have one installed on a thermostat and it is set to 75 degrees.
It is in a cabinet and I have installed two small intake and exhaust fans in it. I am about to load it down with four more fans and see if they make a difference. If not I think I am going to send it in for repair.
Webb24 is online now  
post #10750 of 10753 Unread Today, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Doc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webb24 View Post
It is in a cabinet and I have installed two small intake and exhaust fans in it. I am about to load it down with four more fans and see if they make a difference. If not I think I am going to send it in for repair.
I just received the x2000 recently and mine continuously shuts down at loud volume with my Klipsch rf82 II's. Pretty frustrating.
Doc. is online now  
post #10751 of 10753 Unread Today, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc. View Post
I just received the x2000 recently and mine continuously shuts down at loud volume with my Klipsch rf82 II's. Pretty frustrating.
Just curious but is yours in a cabinet or tight closet as well? Or is it for the most part in open air? Oh and I wonder why the hell do these things not have fans built into them? I love the unit as far as airplay and the iPhone app etc. but whats the use in having a 3k system if you can only listen to 50% constant volume reliability?
Webb24 is online now  
post #10752 of 10753 Unread Today, 08:27 AM
Member
 
Doc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webb24 View Post
Just curious but is yours in a cabinet or tight closet as well? Or is it for the most part in open air? Oh and I wonder why the hell do these things not have fans built into them? I love the unit as far as airplay and the iPhone app etc. but whats the use in having a 3k system if you can only listen to 50% constant volume reliability?
I have mine in an open cabinet but have also pulled it out to try and it didn't help.
Doc. is online now  
post #10753 of 10753 Unread Today, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc. View Post
I have mine in an open cabinet but have also pulled it out to try and it didn't help.
Maybe some others can chime and give us and idea what they experience. I would hate to trade this thing off for something else but the main reason I got it was for parties. I never have any problems with movies or anything 50% volume or less. I will be trying the rest of my fans. I got 4 scrap computer fans that move quite a bit of air that I am going to set on top of it. Don't think my roommate would like me testing it while he sleeps so ill have to wait til later.
Webb24 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off