The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 360 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10771 of 10790 Old 03-03-2015, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post
The trigger port is rated to deliver 12 volts at 150 milliamps max. I suspect that decent fan would draw more current -- you would have to use a small 12 volt relay to switch it on, maybe get the actual power from a surplus wall wart.
I didn't mean to power it with the trigger, only to turn it on. Like when you trigger an amp or a sub.

Not a bad idea on the wall wart, as long as it supplies enough power. I'm sure I have one that does.
Soulburner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10772 of 10790 Old 03-04-2015, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
edlittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Orange County
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Weird problem: I keep my E300 off unless I want to watch something from the computer with Windows 7 (attached via HDMI). When I go to watch it, I can switch projection mode so it displays on the projector, but the computer doesn't recognize that there's a new output for the sound, so I restart my computer and it defaults to outputting sound to the receiver.

Anyone experienced this?

edlittle is offline  
post #10773 of 10790 Old 03-04-2015, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I believe I posted about this here. I had a firmware update a few weeks ago. Tried to initiate it accidentally from my ipad and my x3000 went into a continuous power cycle loop. I had to pull the plug and everything was fine. I never did check to see if the firmware update applied successfully. I need to do that.

Tonight, I went into the Setup and assigned a static ip address. When I was finished, it did the same thing. Ended up having to pull the plug again. When I powered it back on I did check and my ip address was still there.

Anyone experience similar? Should I be concerned? This a a refurb from AFL. Can't recall if that has a one year warranty or not.
de8212 is online now  
post #10774 of 10790 Old 03-04-2015, 07:26 PM
Member
 
00Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two weeks, of uptime now, and not one problem with the x4000. Glad i picked it up on sale.
00Smurf is offline  
post #10775 of 10790 Old 03-04-2015, 07:35 PM
Member
 
DavidBulluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Smurf View Post
Two weeks, of uptime now, and not one problem with the x4000. Glad i picked it up on sale.
Good to here! There seem to be so many users having strange issues.

My X3000 is now over 12 months old and still running faultlessly. Only minor issue is probably more to do with my network set up, but the DENON android app quite often can not see the X3000, but can always see my AVR2113. Cycling the X3000 usually makes it visible for a day or so, then it disappears. Cycling the router sometimes fixes it for a while as well. I have the X3000 set on a fixed IP so that Logitech Media Server can find it and turn it on and off, adjust volume, etc. for my Logitech Squeeze Box Touch. I just use a different android app to get around it, so must be more to do with the DENON app.

Cheers, David
DavidBulluss is offline  
post #10776 of 10790 Old Yesterday, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Wingsbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Smurf View Post
Two weeks, of uptime now, and not one problem with the x4000. Glad i picked it up on sale.

Same here...really great sound Q
Wingsbr is online now  
post #10777 of 10790 Old Yesterday, 06:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,138
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3131 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
Quote:
Originally Posted by de8212 View Post
I believe I posted about this here. I had a firmware update a few weeks ago. Tried to initiate it accidentally from my ipad and my x3000 went into a continuous power cycle loop. I had to pull the plug and everything was fine. I never did check to see if the firmware update applied successfully. I need to do that.

Tonight, I went into the Setup and assigned a static ip address. When I was finished, it did the same thing. Ended up having to pull the plug again. When I powered it back on I did check and my ip address was still there.

Anyone experience similar? Should I be concerned? This a a refurb from AFL. Can't recall if that has a one year warranty or not.
If necessary you can do a "network reset" as I describe in post #5 of this thread. Also, refurbs from AC4L come with a 1 year warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10778 of 10790 Old Yesterday, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My Denon AVR-E300, used daily, displayed a firmware upgrade prompt the other day and I let it install, but I have no idea what it changed. I've been searching all over the Web for some kind of change log, but haven't been able to. Anybody know what's in the firmware update?
Minimus7 is offline  
post #10779 of 10790 Old Yesterday, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimus7 View Post
My Denon AVR-E300, used daily, displayed a firmware upgrade prompt the other day and I let it install, but I have no idea what it changed. I've been searching all over the Web for some kind of change log, but haven't been able to. Anybody know what's in the firmware update?
Post #6 in this thread.
BGLeduc is online now  
post #10780 of 10790 Old Yesterday, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
Post #6 in this thread.
Thank you. Obviously I'm new here!

(fyi, the "#6" in your post links to nowhere, but I figured it out and will bookmark for future reference.)
Minimus7 is offline  
post #10781 of 10790 Old Yesterday, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimus7 View Post
Thank you. Obviously I'm new here!

(fyi, the "#6" in your post links to nowhere, but I figured it out and will bookmark for future reference.)
Not sure why the forum made "#6" a link.....I did nothing consciously to make it so.
BGLeduc is online now  
post #10782 of 10790 Old Today, 12:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGLeduc View Post
Not sure why the forum made "#6" a link.....I did nothing consciously to make it so.
Because the idiots(Vertical Scope) running the forum now associate the # symbol with the social networking Twitter scene. And have fun trying to get them to fix it, they have over 500 other forums they run in addition to this one. And this one doesn't even rate a mention at their company site.
ambesolman likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #10783 of 10790 Old Today, 01:40 AM
Gov
AVS Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimus7 View Post
My Denon AVR-E300, used daily, displayed a firmware upgrade prompt the other day and I let it install, but I have no idea what it changed. I've been searching all over the Web for some kind of change log, but haven't been able to. Anybody know what's in the firmware update?
I asked that question last week and no one responded. It is not noted in this thread anywhere I can find.

Main HT Room: Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV3, Sony BDP-S5100, Speakers: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers, Sierra Horizon and HTM-200SE, Dual Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofers
Basement HT Room: Panny TC-P58V10 (Black Level Restored!), Denon AVR-E300, Comcast X1 STB, Sony BDP-S590, Speakers: Wave Crest Audio HVL-1 (L/C/R), Pioneer SP-BS 22 (Surr) and Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofer
Gov is offline  
post #10784 of 10790 Old Today, 01:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gov View Post
I asked that question last week and no one responded. It is not noted in this thread anywhere I can find.
As BGLeduc replied to me above, it is in this very thread. Click to the first page and scroll down to post 6. There were also other tips there about advanced AVR resetting techniques that are not in the manual...this forum is truly a great resource.

The reason I came here in the first place is that for some reason Google did not list that post when I searched for AVR-E300 firmware update logs. I only asked in this forum because I thought I would get a good answer here, and I did. (I'm a fan of Scott Wilkinson's podcast Home Theater Geeks.)
Minimus7 is offline  
post #10785 of 10790 Old Today, 01:51 AM
Gov
AVS Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimus7 View Post
As BGLeduc replied to me above, it is in this very thread. Click to the first page and scroll down to post 6. There were also other tips there about advanced AVR resetting techniques that are not in the manual...this forum is truly a great resource.

The reason I came here in the first place is that for some reason Google did not list that post when I searched for AVR-E300 firmware update logs. I only asked in this forum because I thought I would get a good answer here, and I did. (I'm a fan of Scott Wilkinson's podcast Home Theater Geeks.)
I looked on post #6 where the firmware updates are posted, but I see nothing new for the E300. Last one posted showed in 2014.

Main HT Room: Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV3, Sony BDP-S5100, Speakers: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers, Sierra Horizon and HTM-200SE, Dual Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofers
Basement HT Room: Panny TC-P58V10 (Black Level Restored!), Denon AVR-E300, Comcast X1 STB, Sony BDP-S590, Speakers: Wave Crest Audio HVL-1 (L/C/R), Pioneer SP-BS 22 (Surr) and Power Sound Audio XV15 Subwoofer
Gov is offline  
post #10786 of 10790 Old Today, 01:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,138
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3131 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gov View Post
I looked on post #6 where the firmware updates are posted, but I see nothing new for the E300. Last one posted showed in 2014.
That's because I can only post the change log when I get the information from D&M .. which I have not been able to get for this latest update, although most likely it is the fix to resolve the DD+ distortion issue when playing Netflix audio.
Gov likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Today at 02:25 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10787 of 10790 Old Today, 02:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gov View Post
I looked on post #6 where the firmware updates are posted, but I see nothing new for the E300. Last one posted showed in 2014.
I apologize...I realize now that I was mistaken. I saw the firmware update for 02/26/2014 and my brain failed to realize that was from 2014, not 2015. Which means I'm back in the dark too until jdsmoothie can obtain the necessary info for that latest update.
Minimus7 is offline  
post #10788 of 10790 Old Today, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
MACEDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello everyone

I have been trying to find an answer to the following question, without any luck;

My Denon X3000 have been having problems with the audio when i use ARC via HDMI from my TV (Samsung F8000). Both are updated to the latest firmware. They are connected by a medium-quality 'HomeTheater' HDMI cable that is 7.5 metres long.

The main problem is that the audio is falling out when watching movies. I can maybe watch 30 minutes or so, and then it just stops. Sometimes it helps rebooting the receiver, sometimes it doesn't.

I have the HDMI-cable as a main suspect (length vs. quality), but if this isn't the source of the problem, i would like not having to buy a new (expensive) HDMI-cable, without eliminating the problem.

Can anybody help me with the ?

Many thank's in advance!!
MACEDK is online now  
post #10789 of 10790 Old Today, 11:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,138
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3131 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
^^
If it works at all then not a setting issue, rather more likely a cable issue. Ensure the cable connection is secure at both ends.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10790 of 10790 Unread Today, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACEDK View Post
i would like not having to buy a new (expensive) HDMI-cable, without eliminating the problem.
BlueRigger on Amazon.
Soulburner is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off