The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 365 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10921 of 10936 Old 03-30-2015, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 35
^^^
Thanks - so if I need video I would just play to Apple TV HDMI out to AVR in instead? That would put the video to the TV and the audio to external speakers?


I don't really want to use the TV speakers at all...
bgoering is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10922 of 10936 Old Yesterday, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
de8212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
If you just connect the Zone 2 HDMI Out to the patio TV (using either HDMI or an HDMI to ethernet extender kit), you can use the TV speakers for audio. Only HDMI sources will pass to the Zone 2 TV. If you don't want to use the TV's speakers but instead use a set of Zone 2 stereo speakers, you can connect the Surround Back speaker posts to the Zone 2 speakers and set them in the patio. Set the HDMI Audio (Zone 2) setting to "PCM" if using external speakers and ensure the AMP ASSIGN = 5.1 + Zone 2.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?seq...FUpp7AodrXIAZA

Thanks. So, the kids could be in the new room watching tv, listening on some bookshelf speakers, etc. and I could be watching tv in my main room like normal. All I'd do is run the hdmi from main room to new room and 2 pair of speaker wires. Connect them to Surround Back and do the settings you mentioned???

I'm just a little confused on exactly how this would work. How do they turn on/off the x3000? Or do you literally have to turn it on in the main room and then go to the new room and turn on the tv and then you have sound?
Sorry for the questions.
de8212 is offline  
post #10923 of 10936 Old Yesterday, 05:57 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,718
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3386 Post(s)
Liked: 2089
^^
On the X3000, Zone 2 would have to be turned ON and a source selected. This can be done either in the main zone room using the stock remote control or on the X3000 front panel or in the Zone 2 room using a smart phone/tablet remote app.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10924 of 10936 Old Yesterday, 08:57 AM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just ponied up for an x4000. I'm coming from a Yamaha rx-v375. I can't wait! Do most of you use this guide for Audyssey? I was only dealing with one position with YPAO on my 375.
http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/audio-processing/68407-audyssey-multeq-faq-setup-guide.html#/forumsite/20818/topics/68407

Last edited by johnnymacIII; Yesterday at 09:02 AM.
johnnymacIII is online now  
post #10925 of 10936 Old Yesterday, 09:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,718
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3386 Post(s)
Liked: 2089
^^
Most folks use the Audyssey FAQ here on the forum ....

"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779)
johnnymacIII likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10926 of 10936 Old Yesterday, 10:33 AM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Most folks use the Audyssey FAQ here on the forum ....

"Official" Audyssey thread (FAQ in post #51779)
Thanks.
johnnymacIII is online now  
post #10927 of 10936 Old Yesterday, 11:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 29,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 631
I have a question about the 12V trigger. On Page 52 of the manual it says,

Quote:
• If the permissible trigger input level for the connected device is larger than 12 V
DC/150 mA, or has shorted, the TRIGGER OUT jack cannot be used. In this case,
turn off the power to the unit, and disconnect it.
Does that mean if I have a device that will accept voltages between 5-20 volts such as the Emotiva XPA-5 as noted below,

Quote:
When a trigger cable is connected to the Trigger Input (on the rear panel), and a trigger signal is
received (between 5-20 V - AC or DC), the XPA-5 will switch from Standby to On; when the trigger
signal ceases, the XPA-5 will return to Off.
The trigger is typically connected to the preamp or pre/pro that provides a signal source for the
XPA-5, and set to turn the XPA-5 on when the preamp or pre/pro is turned on.
that the X4000 will not trigger on the XPA-5, because the voltage range is higher(larger) than 12 V?

I ask for clarification as when I connect a monaural cable between the Trigger 1 Out on the X4000 to the Trigger Input on the XPA-5 it does not activate the XPA-5 when the X4000 is turned On from Standby.

On my previous 3806 this connection worked perfectly, albeit it was with Parasound amplifiers and not the Emotiva. Has something changed in the newer model Denons?

Thanks
Keenan is online now  
post #10928 of 10936 Old Today, 05:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,129
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I have a question about the 12V trigger. On Page 52 of the manual it says,



Does that mean if I have a device that will accept voltages between 5-20 volts such as the Emotiva XPA-5 as noted below,



that the X4000 will not trigger on the XPA-5, because the voltage range is higher(larger) than 12 V?

I ask for clarification as when I connect a monaural cable between the Trigger 1 Out on the X4000 to the Trigger Input on the XPA-5 it does not activate the XPA-5 when the X4000 is turned On from Standby.

On my previous 3806 this connection worked perfectly, albeit it was with Parasound amplifiers and not the Emotiva. Has something changed in the newer model Denons?

Thanks
Keenan,

I use my X4000 to trigger, and turn off, my Emotiva UPA5. It has enough kick to get that going. The UPA gets its power from elsewhere.

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and a Sony BDPS6200. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #10929 of 10936 Old Today, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I have a question about the 12V trigger. On Page 52 of the manual it says,



Does that mean if I have a device that will accept voltages between 5-20 volts such as the Emotiva XPA-5 as noted below,



that the X4000 will not trigger on the XPA-5, because the voltage range is higher(larger) than 12 V?

I ask for clarification as when I connect a monaural cable between the Trigger 1 Out on the X4000 to the Trigger Input on the XPA-5 it does not activate the XPA-5 when the X4000 is turned On from Standby.

On my previous 3806 this connection worked perfectly, albeit it was with Parasound amplifiers and not the Emotiva. Has something changed in the newer model Denons?

Thanks

I am able to trigger my Emotiva XPA-3 on and off with my AVR-X4000 with no problem.

My meager set up
Denon AVR-X4000, Emotiva XPA-3, Panasonic DMB-BDT360
Klipsch RB-81II, RC-52II, Boston Acoustics Micro 120s
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1227096

Last edited by jnnt29; Today at 06:53 AM. Reason: correction
jnnt29 is online now  
post #10930 of 10936 Old Today, 12:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 29,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
Keenan,

I use my X4000 to trigger, and turn off, my Emotiva UPA5. It has enough kick to get that going. The UPA gets its power from elsewhere.

Seggers
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnnt29 View Post
I am able to trigger my Emotiva XPA-3 on and off with my AVR-X4000 with no problem.
Then I must be doing something wrong. I have both Trigger 1 and Trigger 2 set to "On" in the Denon menu for all but a few of the sources(Phono, HD Radio, etc.). I have the mono cable connected from Trigger 1 to the Trigger Input on the XPA-5. The Denon is in StandBy(red light), the XPA-5 is in StandBy(amber light) and when I turn on the Denon(via Harmony remote) the Denon goes through its startup sequence and becomes fully operational and nothing happens with the XPA-5, it just sits there with the amber StandBy light. I also tried Trigger 2 and get the same results.
Keenan is online now  
post #10931 of 10936 Old Today, 01:17 PM
Member
 
GTI WR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi EVeryone,

My X3000 standby red light does not work when switched off. It shows green when on. It flashes red quickly during sudden shut offs. How do I fix this red light not staying on standby mode?

Thanks.
GTI WR6 is offline  
post #10932 of 10936 Old Today, 01:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,718
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3386 Post(s)
Liked: 2089
^^
It's off by design because you don't have either HDMI Control, HDMI Pass Through enabled or IP Control set to "Always ON".

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	45
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	640097  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Today at 01:23 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10933 of 10936 Old Today, 01:27 PM
Member
 
GTI WR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
It's off by design because you don't have either HDMI Control, HDMI Pass Through enabled or IP Control set to "Always ON".

Thanks.

Also, I am usung bana plugs to connect speaker to avr. Is there any chance of banana plugs shorting through a lose wire causing the avr to switch off?
GTI WR6 is offline  
post #10934 of 10936 Old Today, 01:53 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,718
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3386 Post(s)
Liked: 2089
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI WR6 View Post
Thanks.

Also, I am usung bana plugs to connect speaker to avr. Is there any chance of banana plugs shorting through a lose wire causing the avr to switch off?
Sure, if one of the wires is touching another speaker post.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10935 of 10936 Old Today, 05:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Denon/marantz

Here in Canada there is some pretty good deals happening. I currently have a denon x3000 and can purchase brand new Marantz 7008 for $960 tax in or x4000 for slightly less.


Worthwhile? Thoughts?


Comments appreciated.. I'm pretty new to this stuff
itsf8 is online now  
post #10936 of 10936 Old Today, 07:22 PM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsf8 View Post
Here in Canada there is some pretty good deals happening. I currently have a denon x3000 and can purchase brand new Marantz 7008 for $960 tax in or x4000 for slightly less.


Worthwhile? Thoughts?


Comments appreciated.. I'm pretty new to this stuff
The x3000 is already a very good receiver!

The x4000 will give you XT32 and sub EQ ht, which is great if you have 2 subs.

The 7008 will give you 7 channel pre-ins which would really come in handy if you had an Oppo bluray player and wanted to connect to your avr via analog inputs. It also gives you a 9 channel amp to really take advantage of Audessey DSX without needing a separate amp. To me it looks sleek.

Personally, since you already have a great AVR, I would wait a year until the HDMI, UHD, and immersive audio thing gets all sorted out. I would hate for you to throw $1000 on an AVR when in a year you will want to get a different one.

I just got a x4000. However, I had a Yamaha rx-v375.

I hope that helps, man.
johnnymacIII is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off