The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 368 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11011 of 11039 Old 04-14-2015, 07:08 AM
Member
 
johnnymacIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I am returning my x4000, because of technical issues. I'm thinking of going with a Marrantz 08 series. Does the Marrantz line make an audible sound quality increase? Thanks.
johnnymacIII is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11012 of 11039 Old 04-14-2015, 07:56 AM
Member
 
HTaddiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just purchased the x4000. Am I correct in understanding that 9.1/9.2 is only available by adding FW & FH to a 5.1/5.2 set-up? Is it possible to do 9.1/9.2 using SB with FH? Thanks
HTaddiction is offline  
post #11013 of 11039 Old 04-14-2015, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymacIII View Post
I am returning my x4000, because of technical issues. I'm thinking of going with a Marrantz 08 series. Does the Marrantz line make an audible sound quality increase? Thanks.
You can get a good deal on a 4520ci if you don't mind a little older than the x4000.
bluer101 is offline  
post #11014 of 11039 Old 04-14-2015, 10:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnymacIII View Post
I am returning my x4000, because of technical issues. I'm thinking of going with a Marrantz 08 series. Does the Marrantz line make an audible sound quality increase? Thanks.
The SR7008 and X4000 are sister models ... although the SR7008 is a 9CH model ..... the feature set is mostly the same. Some prefer Marantz over Denon for 2CH music listening, but otherwise, should be very similar in audio quality.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11015 of 11039 Old 04-14-2015, 10:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTaddiction View Post
Just purchased the x4000. Am I correct in understanding that 9.1/9.2 is only available by adding FW & FH to a 5.1/5.2 set-up? Is it possible to do 9.1/9.2 using SB with FH? Thanks
Yes. You can expand to 9CH using a 2CH amp to at least either the F, SB, FW, or FH. This will then allow you to do 5.1 + SB + FH = 5 + 2 + 2 = 9.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 04-14-2015 at 01:18 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11016 of 11039 Old 04-15-2015, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Can someone with an X-2000 that is running the latest firmware, please verify their number for me? I just did the update, and the whole thing took less than 5 minutes, from start to finish. Every other update has always taken 45-60 minutes to complete. I usually look at the current firmware version before I upgrade, and I write it down, but I forgot to do that today.

Everything seems to be working fine, and I rechecked for updates and it says I now have the latest, but I's still like confirmation from another 2000 owner.

My current version number after today's update is 8500 8776 1661

Thanks in advance!

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is online now  
post #11017 of 11039 Old 04-15-2015, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Can someone with an X-2000 that is running the latest firmware, please verify their number for me? I just did the update, and the whole thing took less than 5 minutes, from start to finish. Every other update has always taken 45-60 minutes to complete. I usually look at the current firmware version before I upgrade, and I write it down, but I forgot to do that today.

Everything seems to be working fine, and I rechecked for updates and it says I now have the latest, but I'd still like confirmation from another 2000 owner.

My current version number after today's update is 8500 8776 1661

Thanks in advance!

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is online now  
post #11018 of 11039 Old 04-15-2015, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post
Can someone with an X-2000 that is running the latest firmware, please verify their number for me? I just did the update, and the whole thing took less than 5 minutes, from start to finish. Every other update has always taken 45-60 minutes to complete. I usually look at the current firmware version before I upgrade, and I write it down, but I forgot to do that today.

Everything seems to be working fine, and I rechecked for updates and it says I now have the latest, but I'd still like confirmation from another 2000 owner.

My current version number after today's update is 8500 8776 1661

Thanks in advance!
That's the version I'm on. It's been quite some time since that update.

ferl is offline  
post #11019 of 11039 Old 04-15-2015, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferl View Post
That's the version I'm on. It's been quite some time since that update.
Great, thanks for your time!

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is online now  
post #11020 of 11039 Old 04-15-2015, 08:23 PM
Member
 
matrix64015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Owner of X4000. Love it..when it works. Had a unit that went to repair for the HDMI board issue that made it go into Protect mode. Since I got it back last year, have had on & off again static in random speakers. Sometimes 1 speaker by itself. Sometimes 2. Sometimes all of them at once. It does get louder as volume increases but if Im watching a movie loud, I dont hear it. So I did some troubleshooting & found out that it happens if I wiggle some of the cable wires in the back connected into the receiver by banana plugs. Do I need to take this back to a shop to solder the sound board? Prob no longer under warranty. Or is there videos online on how to do this yourself? Thanks!
matrix64015 is offline  
post #11021 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 12:25 AM
Member
 
user222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dear jdsmoothie or any one can help,

Regarding our conversation we had some days ago I started by writing:

"Does anybody know if it's normal for a receiver (avr-x4000) the standby led, when in standby (no hdmi passthrough, no hdmi cec, no network standby), to react by instantly light in red when a button of a remote control (not even denon) is pressed. According to manual when in standby the led is turned off all the time. I think this was the situation and recently changed (is it from a firmware update?). When in non economy mode and turned off or on the standby led is constantly led red or green and nothing happens when any remote button is pressed. Any ideas?" (posts #10999 - #11003 of this thread).

Unfortunately nor the soft or hard reset helped.

Doing an Internet search I found this forum in Germany:
http://www.hifi-forum.de/index.php?a...69&thread=4771.

Can you please have a look? (the site is in German so a google translation would be helpful).
What do you think about this problem?
user222 is offline  
post #11022 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 01:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
^^
So then if you are also located in Europe, this would appear to be a European model issue as no one else has posted of this issue here.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11023 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 01:41 AM
Member
 
user222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
So then if you are also located in Europe, this would appear to be a European model issue as no one else has posted of this issue here.
Thank you jdsmoothie,
Yes I am located in Europe.
So it seems to be an issue of the latest firmware.
Is it possible (and advisable and wise) to overwrite the latest firmware with the previous version using OSB stick? I don't know if Denon is going to fix this by a newer firmware version.
user222 is offline  
post #11024 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 01:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
^^
We don't have the capability of using a USB stick here in USA so don't know whether loading older version would cause harm. Best to check with your regional Denon rep.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11025 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 01:49 AM
Member
 
user222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
We don't have the capability of using a USB stick here in USA so don't know whether loading older version would cause harm. Best to check with your regional Denon rep.
Ok thank you anyway jdsmoothie.
user222 is offline  
post #11026 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 05:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix64015 View Post
Owner of X4000. Love it..when it works. Had a unit that went to repair for the HDMI board issue that made it go into Protect mode. Since I got it back last year, have had on & off again static in random speakers. Sometimes 1 speaker by itself. Sometimes 2. Sometimes all of them at once. It does get louder as volume increases but if Im watching a movie loud, I dont hear it. So I did some troubleshooting & found out that it happens if I wiggle some of the cable wires in the back connected into the receiver by banana plugs. Do I need to take this back to a shop to solder the sound board? Prob no longer under warranty. Or is there videos online on how to do this yourself? Thanks!
So have you isolated which of these plugs causes the static? Also, have you tried just rewiring those plugs that cause the issue?

If there's no wiring showing (as in a short) then - JDSmoothie jump in here - you could be looking at getting it fixed.

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and a Sony BDPS6200. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #11027 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 06:33 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
So have you isolated which of these plugs causes the static? Also, have you tried just rewiring those plugs that cause the issue?

If there's no wiring showing (as in a short) then - JDSmoothie jump in here - you could be looking at getting it fixed.

Seggers
How do you figure that?

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11028 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 06:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix64015 View Post
Owner of X4000. Love it..when it works. Had a unit that went to repair for the HDMI board issue that made it go into Protect mode. Since I got it back last year, have had on & off again static in random speakers. Sometimes 1 speaker by itself. Sometimes 2. Sometimes all of them at once. It does get louder as volume increases but if Im watching a movie loud, I dont hear it. So I did some troubleshooting & found out that it happens if I wiggle some of the cable wires in the back connected into the receiver by banana plugs. Do I need to take this back to a shop to solder the sound board? Prob no longer under warranty. Or is there videos online on how to do this yourself? Thanks!
If you can't resolve the issue by "jiggling" the cables, then a shop may be able to resolve the issue. If you purchased from an authorized dealer, there is a 3 year warranty and if from an authorized refurb dealer a 1 year warranty. Regardless, if you purchased with a credit card from an authorized dealer, your credit card issuer may add an additional year to the warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11029 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 06:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
How do you figure that?
Err, jiggling the post causes it to create static. If the wires are correctly seated, and there's nothing else causing it, why wouldn't you try and get it fixed?

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and a Sony BDPS6200. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #11030 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 08:13 AM
Member
 
matrix64015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you can't resolve the issue by "jiggling" the cables, then a shop may be able to resolve the issue. If you purchased from an authorized dealer, there is a 3 year warranty and if from an authorized refurb dealer a 1 year warranty. Regardless, if you purchased with a credit card from an authorized dealer, your credit card issuer may add an additional year to the warranty.
It is out of warranty. Got it from Accessories4Less which carried a 1 year warranty. It’s been 1 ½ years now. This receiver has left a bad taste in my mouth & I’ve been a longtime Denon supporter. I see too many of these HDMI/sound board issues from lots of people online. Called Denon support & they said to take it to a local service center. Is this something I could fix myself with little soldering skill required? Hate to keep throwing money at this unit.
matrix64015 is offline  
post #11031 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 08:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
Err, jiggling the post causes it to create static. If the wires are correctly seated, and there's nothing else causing it, why wouldn't you try and get it fixed?

Seggers
Ah .. my bad .. sorry .. thought you meant "I" should be getting it fixed.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Yesterday at 08:53 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11032 of 11039 Old Yesterday, 08:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix64015 View Post
It is out of warranty. Got it from Accessories4Less which carried a 1 year warranty. It’s been 1 ½ years now. This receiver has left a bad taste in my mouth & I’ve been a longtime Denon supporter. I see too many of these HDMI/sound board issues from lots of people online. Called Denon support & they said to take it to a local service center. Is this something I could fix myself with little soldering skill required? Hate to keep throwing money at this unit.
As it's out of Denon warranty, I'd check with your credit card issuer to see if they have the 1 year extension benefit, unless you paid by PayPal, otherwise if no warranty recourse, no harm in opening it up and seeing if you can't resolve it on your own.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11033 of 11039 Unread Today, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I bought a X4000 and when I plugged it in it asked me for network connection,etc - i.e. initial setup. I skipped through it, tested HDMI and for some reason the BluRay in didn't work , but the Cabl/Sat in did so I mounted it on my rack connected the cables and it didn't work - my HTPC detected the AVR but no image. I tried using the cables that I did when I originally tested it - nada. Now the HTPC doesn't even detect the AVR.
I spoke with Denon tech support and after many didn't things to test, we did a factory reset - however the strange thing is that when it turned on it didn't go to the initial asking me for a network connection, etc.
The tech said that's OK but if it's a factory reset - why didn't it go back to that?
Also - any other ideas on how to get the HDMI working?
Also, I don't have my receipt, hoping they will service it as the warranty is 3 yrs, and it's < 3yrs since it came out ...
Any suggestions are appreciated.
cgott42 is online now  
post #11034 of 11039 Unread Today, 03:42 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
You'll need an invoice to prove vendor is an authorized dealer in order for the warranty to be honored.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11035 of 11039 Unread Today, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You'll need an invoice to prove vendor is an authorized dealer in order for the warranty to be honored.
sounds like I'm SOL.
:-(

Is there anyway to get it back to the initial state where it asked me for the network setup etc? As mentioned above, when I do the factory restore (up / down arrows + power button) it flashes a bunch of times and then restarts but not to that point
cgott42 is online now  
post #11036 of 11039 Unread Today, 04:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
^^
Not sure why you feel this is necessary as you can manually get to the Network setup; however, try doing 4-5 resets in a row, ensuring you keep pressing the two UP/DOWN buttons for at least 4-5 seconds before releasing them.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11037 of 11039 Unread Today, 04:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,122
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 2146
^^
Either or both Zones 2/3 are powered on. Power them off and the whole AVR will power off.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #11038 of 11039 Unread Today, 04:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 846 Post(s)
Liked: 907
I have an X4000 I just installed. After a couple of weeks I find I can no longer turn it off. Meaning, the "standby" mode where the red LED is visible on the unit's bottom left corner instead of the green one. The display tells me I've turned the "Main Zone" off, but the receiver itself stays on (as does that notification, only dimmed). I'm a Main Zone only kinda' guy; have no need of other zone control. The power button, both on the remote and the unit itself, will just turn it full on, or into this "zombie" state where it's not really on, but it's not really off.

What the Sam Hill is going on and how can I turn the danged thing off without pulling the plug?

Edit: ^^^Got it JD, I'll try that, thanks! (you got me in a edit/delete/re-post cycle -- I hate the "edit" tag for some weird psychological reason and the new software on AVS doesn't give you enough time before adding the tag)
archiguy is online now  
post #11039 of 11039 Unread Today, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Not sure why you feel this is necessary as you can manually get to the Network setup; however, try doing 4-5 resets in a row, ensuring you keep pressing the two UP/DOWN buttons for at least 4-5 seconds before releasing them.
thanks - reason I asked is b/c it season strange that a "factory reset" wouldn't bring it to the same menu it was at straight out of the factory.
cgott42 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , dolby digital plus , netflix 5.1
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off